WOMAN COLLECTED OVER 100K IN WELFARE BENEFITS WHILE NIGERIAN HUSBAND EARNED OVER 1M

An Arlington woman was arrested this week and charged with four counts of welfare fraud for collecting over $100,000 in benefits – all while her husband was a high-earning attorney in D.C., police say.
Police say a six-month investigation into Helen Agbapuruonwu, 41, found that the mother of four had collected benefits like food stamps and Medicaid assistance for the past six years.
While Helen was collecting benefits, her husband, Fidelis Agbapuruonwu, was earning $1.5 million per year as a lawyer, according to court documents obtained by News4.
In 2001, Fidelis received the prestigious Paul and Daisy Soros Fellowship which helped pay his way through law school.

Fidelis’ LinkedIn page claims he works for the D.C. firm of Mayer Brown, but today the firm said he no longer works there. Court officials believe Fidelis, a Nigerian immigrant, has “fled the country and is somewhere in Africa.”
The director of the pre-school the Agbapuruonwu’s children once attended said she is shocked by the allegations against family.
“I have to believe it’s not true,” she said.
Helen Agbapuruonwu’s defense lawyer declined to comment.
Police say they hope this case is a deterrent to anyone who thinks about trying to cheat the system.
“We hope it sends a message that if you are taking public assistance it’s truly intended for those in need, and we’re committed to ensuring those who need the most help receive it,” said Arlington County Police spokeswoman Ashley Savage.

6 thoughts on “WOMAN COLLECTED OVER 100K IN WELFARE BENEFITS WHILE NIGERIAN HUSBAND EARNED OVER 1M

1. If this lawyer can defend this and get her off ,instantly his reputation will surpass Johnnie Cochran! !Good luck still cuz them brave bad bad fi pull such a stunt for so long!

Hubby left the wife inna hot water. ..poor children smh.

2. Yarditekdrugs……a suh mi kno seh yuh fake enuh coz imagine you come on the wall an profess your love for apple knowing that she falls in this same category as the african (remember jay liecon suppose to be rich).”we hope this sends a message that if you taking public assistant its truly intended for people in need” but i think you Ray charles to what was said…..driving porche buying chanel etc etc etc makes you not qualified ijs

1. The least u could do is be specific about the drugs…put weed* please n tonks.

Well u same one said it
      “Supposed to be rich” thus we can fake rich all we want if you not in fact rich then you really n truly need the help. ..so no Princess Apple not in the same boat as these African millionaires.That breed a money over 6yrs would significantly reduce Jamaica’s imf debt u agree doah!!??

Obviously you’re a regular to know I’m blind to all Princess Apple’s bs so we won’t do the bk n forth goodie.All u need fi know mi a the realest when mi sey come hell or high water, mi a guh love she the Sinner n hate the sin. Isn’t that the Christlike thing to do? Bless up n enjoy the warmth of ur bed or another’s touch.

3. All kinds of ppl who should not be collecting social assistance are. Imagine those of us in the 30k-50k salary range paying taxes to fund a family who makes​ 1.5 mil/yr. Dats why mi nuh watch status, education and all deze tings and focus solely on character. See di man run leff him family fi face di fire deh, if that isn’t telling the spirit within him I don’t know what is.