THE sibling team of Paul and Marcus Gavin, known as the Platinum Kids, won US Rumble competition at Amazura nightclub in Queens, New York, recently.They topped six other sound systems, including defending champions Innocent Sound from Florida, to qualify for Irish and World Clash competition, scheduled for later this year.
King Shine from New Jersey, One a Day (Philadelphia), Riddim Force (Florida), Kosmik (Florida), and Atlanta’s Black Magic also competed.
The Gavins, who are from The Bronx, went in as underdogs but got the better of Black Magic in the decisive ‘tune fi tune’ final round.
With the score at 4-4, Platinum Kids surged to a 6-4 win with a dubplate of Carl Dawkins’ Satisfaction and The Mighty Diamonds’ I Need A Roof.
“We may not have the deepest dub box, but over the years we have learned that it’s all about the crowd.
Mek sure you entertain them to the best of your ability and win them over,” said
Good Morning Met, mi want dat Natty pon mi front line. Him stay propa in a di Friday Mawnin yah. :kiss :kiss
Performance/entertainment hands downs i give them that.However i honestly believe unfear show its ugly face,89% of the people in amazura came to see PLATINUM KIDS so he couldn’t lost anyway.Congrats on the win hope to see the fans at world clash
Go deh platinum kids madd madd clash up wid di winnings new age big up hunnu selves.
Nuff Respect to the new heroes . Bigger and hyper is not always better. Glad they were able to pull in the crowd with their sound and achieve victory .
Looking real real good Mr. Promoter in this picture yah.
Smile of d day .
Original Soundclash and dancehall culture to the world !!!!
That’s awesome!! Big Ups
coco Brown his name is Gary
I love them boys. From Club Deep to Q Club to Black Theatre… Humble yutes who play for the crowd. Well deserving! Big it up.
Raeeeee dem a mi school mates fron Harry Truman high. They befriended my bros and I wen wi did fresh from yard.nice yutes.
Gary nice and sweet fi true 🙂
BIG UP d promoter in d middle of d pic , love d tan and d glow
Yuh look handsome fi real .
Wonder if him married ? Probably have a dancehall queen beauty woman wit d body and flex to match, so I can’t compete
Wooooiiiiiiiiiiii
Congrats platinum kids.
Congrats platinum kids! You guys are so humble and down to earth from harry s. Truman days till now! #WellDeserved