- by Met
Twenty-eight vendors who ply their trade in the Kingston Craft Market were left in limbo yesterday morning after a fire of unknown origin destroyed 18 shops at a section of the market on Ocean Boulevard.
According to the Kingston and St Andrew Divisional Commander Superintendent Kevin Haughton, the Jamaica Fire Brigade responded to a call at 2:50 am.
Haughton said units from the Half-Way-Tree, Rollington Town and Trench Town fire stations responded but only two units were used to contain the blaze.
No one was injured.
When the Jamaica Observer visited the craft market yesterday, the mood among vendors was sombre as some wept openly after seeing what was left of their items among the debris.
Joan Reid, who has been plying her trade in the market for more than 20 years, told the Observer her shop was burnt out while her niece’s and husband’s shops were affected by water and smoke.
“Mi nearly have a heart attack when me see the type of damage. I don’t know how it start,” Reid said.
Reid, who was quick to point out that the craft vendors were already suffering because business was slow, said the vendors stocked up their shops after it was announced recently that cruise ships were destined for Kingston.
“The promise never reach the craft market. The ship diverted to Portland. All we get is disasters,” a frustrated Reid continued. “Everybody went out of their way to stock their shops. Some people took out loan, some people credited goods.”
Reid, while noting that a fire of a similar nature destroyed a section of the craft market years ago, said her main concern was whether or not the vendors will be compensated.
For Karol Stubbs-Jamieson, who has also been working in the market for more than 20 years and who was preparing to capitalise on the number of tourists expected to visit the island during the summer period, the incident is a major setback.
“I lost everything. I recently stocked the shop,” Stubbs-Jamieson said.
According to Stubbs-Jamieson, despite losing over $1 million worth of items, she was grateful that no one was injured in the blaze.
“I am hoping that the landlord will replace the shops as quickly as possible. If the shops are not up and running we can’t borrow any loan,” she said.
Like Reid and Stubbs-Jamieson, Vinnett Ferguson said she was in preparation mode for the summer tourist season.
“When they announced that ships were coming to Kingston, I stock it out with all types of goods — T-shirts, cups, key rings, carvings, paintings, towels, wraps, and dresses,” Ferguson said, her voice breaking.
The mother of four said despite the challenges, the craft market is her livelihood.
“How are they going to help us?” Ferguson asked.
The craft market, which houses 125 shops, is owned by the Urban Development Corporation (UDC).
Yesterday, UDC General Manager Dr Damian Graham assured vendors that the corporation is working feverishly to ensure that operations at the market are returned to normality.
Dr Graham said as soon as the investigations are completed, the corporation will commence cleaning-up activities.
In the meantime, Graham said the 28 vendors who were affected by the blaze will be relocated to other areas of the market.
oh god what them vendors gonna do now them bread bun up lord jesus
No insurance?
ITS a disaster, they did everything to get goods for the ship that was supposed to come, newly refurbished what could caused a fire and is it not the side to the police station, its just suveneirs when u go inside there everyone is calling u to spend something with them so I tried to split the cash, things hardly a sell down there
is it not the same side the police station deh pon. where are the sleeping poice that time a morning