A 74-year-old Kenyan who has been in the US for 42 years arrived back home with just the clothes on his back and a brown envelope with phone numbers. He was among seven Kenyans who have been deported as the US government continues to tighten its noose on immigrants. A chartered plane filled with 71 deportees who were mostly Somali nationals, accompanied with US security officials, landed at Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA) in Nairobi Friday morning. JKIA police station OCPD Zipporah Waweru said the 71 were deported following their involvement in various criminal activities such as drunk driving, assault and robbery. “These were not ordinary people who were hounded out of the streets and then deported. They were involved in criminal acts and some had been in detention in the US correctional facilities,” she said. The seven Kenyans are Kihanya Charles, Bota Patrick, Githua Paul, Mose Eliud, Nyachae Bosibori Jackline, Ongori Vincent and Seet Sila.
The 74-year-old, who speaks with a deep nasal drawl — a twang — moved to the US in 1975. He asked us not to publish his name as he is planning to return. He had been arrested for drunk driving. “The judge fined me $1,240 which I paid but immediately I got out of the courtroom, I was re-arrested and sent to a detention camp,” he said. He added that he was in the camp for two weeks before being put on a plane back home. There are at least 500,000 Kenyans living in the US and they send home at least $82 million a year, which is currently Kenya’s third largest source of forex exchange. The seven, who recorded statements at the DCI office before being released will however not be charged in Kenya. “They (the deportees) didn’t commit any offence here, and we cannot start any criminal proceedings against them,” Waweru said. ALSO READ: Libya fishermen find 28 dead migrants in boat offshore While they were allowed to walk free after recording statements, their Somali counterparts remained in handcuffs. This is the second batch of immigrants to be deported from the US in five months
Oh gosh man dem coulda mek him stay…but yow it easy fi man get married him come all inna di time when nothing nuh even needed… jah know star aa nuff ppl life dat yellow cheese bady skin man f**k up.
Return to Kenya with probably less than when he left in 1975. These stories are food for thought. You leave your land and go help build up someone else country for 40+ years and get tossed out just the same. Better him did stay and try help build up him own nation all those Hope him even have a likkle condo set aside somewhere.
as an alien in a foreign country the one thing you should not do is commit a crime, they will have no sympathy on you.
furthermore this crime could not assist him in living, DUI does not pay bills or put food on your table.
stupid, senseless and avoidable
This is the second batch of immigrants to be deported from the US in five months….. Trump have been prezzie for 3 months, this has been set up from Obama’s administration. …
Just to show we all that once wi navel string nuh cut yah anything is possible
Guess he never laid a foundation back in Kenya after being in US for 40+ years bout finding a way 2 go back. Wife or kids there?
Why didn’t he apply for citizenship in America, If he had no intention to return to his birth place. I can’t feel sorry for someone who doesn’t feel sorry for themself. Where are his assets, the fruits from his labor?