FAKE SCAMMERS SCAM JAMAICAN WOMAN OUTA HAR LIFE SAVINGS

A 65-year-old retired nanny lost her life savings after a fake pastor conned the woman.

Dorothy Edge doesn’t think she’s ever going to be able to get her money back.

“I’m angry at myself most of all – at myself,” Edge said. “Not even at them, because I was the one who handed over my money.”

Edge was on the corner Church Avenue and Nostrand Avenue when a woman approached her with a complicated story. She said her visa was expiring and she needed to return home to her native South Africa.

The woman also told Edge she wanted to donate $100,000 from a large inheritance. She said she couldn’t bring the money back to South Africa, so she asked Edge to donate the money on her behalf.

The woman said she wanted to be sure Edge had money of her own so she could be sure Edge wasn’t just going to rip her off.

This is where the fake pastor came in.

“That’s what it did it for me, because he had a bible in his hand,” Edge said.

He volunteered to join Edge in donating. He showed off his own money to “reassure” the South African woman that he wouldn’t steal the money either.

Edge retrieved her life savings – $28,000. She kept it at home out of habit. Edge had come to the U.S. without a green card and wasn’t able to put money in a bank.

The woman and pastor said they wanted to bless Edge’s cash – so she handed it over. They handed back what Edge thought was her money, but it was a bag full of shredded newspaper instead.

“I’m willing to work to pay my bills, but who is going to give me a job?”

Police have asked for help identifying the culprits. Both the fake pastor and the woman are about 50-years-old.

10 thoughts on “FAKE SCAMMERS SCAM JAMAICAN WOMAN OUTA HAR LIFE SAVINGS

1. Sad eeehhh, them a go feel it even ten times more using God to con the woman out of her hard earned money.

2. Edge me nah lie me woulda gi you a proper trashing den hug you up after cause you a big ooman wid “good” intentions. It might sound frig-up but nuff a dem “scam victims” we hear bout a actually scammers demself, how you want collect something you never work for or earn. You a teef to man just a subtler type.

3. About 50 years old and scamming? They should be ashamed of themselves and this poor lady has to forget about it and accept the fact that she was scammed alone and not stabbed, shot or raped on the process. It is heartbreaking.

4. This is what happens when ur belief in God is not sturdy n strong sorry Mama u thing did shaky so after God bless u with health n strength so u could work n save this money u felt the need to have flesh n blood man like u self fi bless it SMH sorry but not sorry when u trust God u no need no ritual no aid no special prayer from a soul just YOU N GOD mommy hush
    Dem 2 jancrow ago get it real hot

5. Need some good ole obeah fi dem… mi memba one a mi fren Auntie eno when we a picney still… an har fren dem come wake har outta har bed fi go dance. She go not knowing dem intention….anyways dem teef wah ooman purse wid everything an get few thousand well…neva knowing di ooman a Haitian an dem run but my fren Auntie tek long fi run cause she neva know wah gwan….well di ooman trail she an go a di yawd an seh bring back mi belongings but a neva she have it an di ooman leff…. it tek less dan two weeks fi shit stawt happen dem bloodclaat sick out an nuhbody nuh know wah happen to dem no doctor cyah tell all kina pastor an different prayer warrior get call… when dem see seh it naah help dem go a obeah man di obeah man tell dem seh di lady wah hunnu teef di purse from go bury hunnu ova Haiti an a ova deh hunnu woulda affi go get help… Dem bloodclaat dead all 3a dem true true story… all yuh see was a wrap head ooman inna white ova har head a wait fi dat croak an carry har whey…all she see di lady tuh an just give har life tuh God pan har death bed an right afta dat she dead an di ooman leff di peace a breeze whey fly pass when she tek di last breath neva nawmal…di ress sick out an dead days afta…. so dem fi know wah dem a do.

6. It’s not made up eno. It’s a scam going on for years. Some come with check fi change etc. They just need people foolish and greedy enough to fall for it… She no easy, leave the place, go get her life savings and give it away… That’s greed and stupidity right there…Bout donate… All now I don’t see the reason u go for ur money when a dem want to donate theirs. If they don’t trust you, send them on their merry way…Kmt…

7. Poor woman,no green card,no money. Don’t feel bad dem scam lawyers,all a congress man mi hear get scammed. Mi wuda donate to a go fund me to help har.