KPH BACK TO NORMAL

Normality has returned to the Kingston Public Hospital (KPH).

The Ministry of Health last week implemented measures to assist the hospital in dealing with a heavy trauma case load following the upsurge in violence and motor vehicle crashes.

The measures included transferring patients to other hospitals and the cancelling of elective surgeries.

However, in an update on RJR’s Hotline programme on Thursday morning, Errol Greene, Chief Executive Officer of the KPH, said the situation has improved.

“Last week we were averaging about 540 patients a week. We kinda settled down from the beginning of this week. Today we have 486 patients in all in the hospital. We are back now to doing our regular surgeries and to deal(ing) with the incidents as they come in. Our clinics are now back to normal,” he asserted.

Meanwhile, Mr. Greene said the hospital is finding ways to create space as it relates to the availability of beds.

The hospital had run out of bed space due to the increase in gunshot, stabbing and motor vehicle crash victims seeking treatment.

“Our bed capacity is about 503 in total, but there is one ward that is not operational now (and) we’re converting that into a high dependency unit, so we have to take that out. So when we take that out, we have a capacity of 475,” the hospital chief outlined.

He said there are extra now extra beds at the facility, however, more are needed because many of those available are in poor condition.

3 thoughts on “KPH BACK TO NORMAL

1. This is what grieve mi enuh, the public hospital is in need, yet still Audley Shaw the Minister of Finance has an 8 million dollar phone bill. Yuh know how much could be done to assist the hospital? God know mi cry every time mi see how people haffi suffer.

1. @ Bad I was just gonna comment and say the same thing! These politicians are corrupt to the core!!!