MURDERED 17YO HAD BRIGHT FUTURE

Murdered Meadowbrook High student was prospect for head girl

Seventeen-year-old Meadowbrook High School student Mickolle Moulton was shot dead in her Arnett Gardens, St Andrew, home on Sunday.

THE Meadowbrook High School community was plunged into mourning on the weekend, following the brutal murder of a 17-year-old student at her home in Arnett Gardens, St Andrew.

The Jamaica Observer learnt yesterday that about 4:25 am on Sunday, Mickolle Moulton of Tenth Street, Zimbabwe, in the community also known as ‘Jungle’, was shot through her bedroom window along with her 12-year-old sister. They were taken to hospital where Mickolle was pronounced dead and her sister is reportedly in stable condition.

It is alleged that Mickolle was killed because she refused the s*xual advances of men in the area.

Principal of the institution, Michael Peart, whose voice was laced with grief when the Observer spoke with him yesterday, said he was still in shock as Mickolle was a member of the latest graduating class and would have been a prospect for head girl in the academic year 2018/2019.

He condemned the killing and labelled it as “senseless”, adding that society has lost the value once placed on lives.

Peart went on to argue that the breakdown of social institutions, like the school, are part of the reason why the country is plagued with such indiscipline and violence.

“The output from schools creates society. Students have so many rights these days that you wonder what is wrong. People in the 40, 50, 60 age groups came up in the old school system and have a better sense of what’s right and wrong. Now that that is removed, everyone is doing their thing because they have rights; and then you have these demands being placed on youngsters and the outcomes are unfortunate, as is this case,” he said.

One of the institution’s vice-principals, Lucien Reid, shared similar sentiments. He said although he only taught Mickolle once, by virtue of observation, she could easily have been an ambassador for the school.

“She was lovely, focused, very bright, and an above-average student. There were no behavioural issues and she was a model student. You wouldn’t even know this student was from the inner-city because of her mannerism. In fact, most teachers, including myself, didn’t know until we read the report. Everyone is in a state of shock. There are those students that if something happened it wouldn’t shock you, but no one saw this coming,” Reid said.

He added: “We have one student living in the same community and she would tell us of the happenings and that she had to move, and we assisted in many ways, but we didn’t know Moulton was in the same situation. Trust me, we are shocked. No teacher would say the writing was on the wall. [And] if it is true that she refused s*xual advances, that’s the student we knew. She was quite lady-like and wasn’t afraid to remain a child. You looked at her and knew she was a child. It is even harder because, as a school, we are not getting the chance to mourn together. It will now be based on how each individual staff and student’s family reacts to it.”

Reid, who is also a pastor at Meadowbrook United Church, pointed out that he received the news in-between sermons, which rendered him speechless and resulted in his message being changed.

“I was supposed to speak on Esther. The very nature changed, as we had girls from a home visiting. It was as if someone knocked the drive out of me because of what happened to Mickolle. It became a call out to God against situations like these,” Reid told the Observer.

The vice-principal said though the students don’t often let teachers in on “their world”, based on a few screenshots he has seen, they are not dealing with Mickolle’s death well.

In the meantime, president of the school’s past students’ association Donovan Thomas expressed condolences on behalf of the association and indicated that the body is standing in solidarity with the family and will offer help in any way it can.

As news spread of the 17-year-old’s death, past and present students of the institution took to various social media platforms to express their sorrow and outrage, with some even calling for the stiffest penalties to be imposed on the perpetrators.

“This is just so crazy. My heart is bleeding. Whoever did it, if they don’t turn their life over to God, they need to be tortured and killed, penis chop off, everything,” one person wrote.

“This just seems to get worse by the day. I mean, in her home. Just a wicked set of dogs that would turn guns on innocent kids. Dem man deh no have no heart,” another person wrote.

“Jamaica is going to cry more. I’m sure the psyche of the people are warped. They hate law and order and anything which represents that. They, on the other hand, love rebels and those who damage the system with violence, robbery, and murder,” was the comment from another individual.

The police say investigations into the matter are are ongoing.

27 thoughts on “MURDERED 17YO HAD BRIGHT FUTURE

1. I’M BEYOND SADDENED! WHY THOSE NASTY, WASTE TO SOCIETY DOGS DON’T LEAVE THE GIRLS ALONE!! MURDERED HER BECAUSE SHE CHOSE NOT TO ENGAGE IN SEXUAL ACTIVITIES WITH YOU CRIMINALS!! WHERE ARE THE PEOPLE IN THE AREA PROTESTING AND COMING UPFRONT? BUT IF POLICE LACED A NASTY MURDERER WITH SOME BULLETS, THEY ALL CRAWL OUT THEIR HOLE AND CRY FOUL! OH GOSH FATHER, MAY HIS DAYS BE NUMBERED.

2. Grieve mi heart. Some dutty nah no job cruff probably cannot even spell him own name good see the little girl and waan corrupt her. Why him never go kill him worthless non progressive self? People in the community please talk is who this is senseless and the person who did this needs to suffer in jail.

3. smh I hope di person whe kill r meeta worst fate than she did soon too.. smh unu too phucking wicked man! lowe d likkle pickney dem! frigin cowards unu only have strength fi woman
    Condolences to her family & speedy recovery to bby girl in the hospital

4. The circumstances around why uhnu kill her is enough fi mek man pree fi kill off uhnu whole family, the way how yaad run it will make ppl who would like to live good lives pree the worst when it frwd to things like this…
    And even thou mi know situations like this gwan some parts of spain nuff this f**k up mi medz, deven know why mi a type this kmt…

Condolences to the family & may her soul find peace
    RIP baby girl

5. Tragic! These are the minds and spirit all societies desire, because these are the ppl who will make a positive contribution to their country. Now, she never got a chance to have her dreams unfold. To think is another woman give birth to her killer(s). May her family find the strength to go on, her poor mother I don’t even know what state she must be in. But I am proud of that girl, she was strong and stood to her convictions even to the end. She had pride and self-worth and all they could do is end her life, her spirit still alive wholesome and pure.

We need something now in place for children living in volatile communities to protect them. Whether it’s relocating them, putting them in boarding schools or what, but we need to ensure something like this never happens again.

1. Same thing I just discussed with a co-worker of mine. I can imagine how much she wanted to leave that area but had no where to go! I can’t tell you how distressed I am over this!

1. Is same thing I thought to myself. Likely why she was so focused about her studies to ensure she could be somebody and take her family out of there. Oh gosh. She lost her life because she wanted to preserve her dignity, her own body where it is her choice to choose who she wishes to share it with and when. If our young girls can’t even preserve their bodies and be women of virtue what power do they have?

I willing to contribute and sponsor a child who needs to relocate to a safe place from these hell hole communities so they can go as far as their brain will take them and achieve their goals. Minister of Education and youth minister should now be discussing some plan of action to save the children.

6. To respond to the one up so^ dem nah leave the gal dem alone because dem don’t want dem secret buss that dem a batty man! Nuff a dem boy weh yu hear a hype bout dem a gallest is just a front to the world….the same bredrin dem a try impress bout dem a look gal fi f*ck ah d same one dem weh dem a f*ck out a night time!

Ladies this is real. There is a lot of hatred for women clearly these type of dog sh*t see women as objects…..something to put his cock in and dispose of…..her life and the life of any other woman MEANS NOTHING! When I hear of these things I just automatically think of undercover battyism there’s no way one can love woman and do this. I can not fathom what it must feel like to be living in Jamaica as a woman right now………

7. rest in peace angel x please let me know if there is a way I can contribute to her funeral and her sister treatment.

8. I do not know the mindset of men in these community, but I find it hard to believe that they would kill a teenager “because she refused the sexual advances of men in the area”. This does not make sense to me. In the years gone by, men use to be proud/supportive of students from their community who were going places.

Deep down, my gut tells me there is more to this killing than what is being reported (doubting thomas here).

1. Yes, those were the old school man dem. They made sure the kids succeeded, all help the mothers who had a hard time financially with no expectation of anything in return. This is 2017, we not dealing with rational human beings, we dealing with vampires. No, don’t be shocked, memba a 14 yr old killed an 11 yr old a month ago. So this teen who focused about her studies and preserving her virtue is not seen as nothing special to the demons roaming in the flesh. Memba, nuff young boy and man stop woman progress by making sure they become a teenage mother, many young girls and even women do not know this, they think is just an accident, no, no accident, many boys deliberately impregnate a girl who appears to be going places in life. The fact that she rejected their advances was a clear signal that she would be something, they couldn’t get her fi use and breed and stunt her growth, so the only sure way dem could stop her is to kill her. On top of it, she was a very pretty girl, so no shocked that she was desired, especially if no man in the community name nuh call on her, it would make her even more desired by the lustful hearts of the demons roaming out there.

I just hope those left behind can come to a place of peace on day. I cried when I read this story. How did we get to this place as a ppl?

2. Things have changed drastically in our society, its not the men who grow them killing them, its the young and trigger happy boys ages 17-24 a dem heartless and kill with no conscience

9. Women and kids’ lives in Ja not worth anything? It is time for a real change in the law to try to fix that. We need to make an example of these murderers or else the mentality will not change. This has been going on for too long now.

10. This bun mi, it bun mi, it bun mi. Mi nuh know wah fi say more than mi waah kill dem. Them yute ya out of control. Imagine you inna a community like that and you see the girls a try uplift demself and break the cycle and true you determine say u ego a d holy grail u go kill are fi ar body weh nuh ready, or even deserving of scum like unnu. Unnu fi dead and dead bad. When some ppl see some young girl move some way a dem things ya dem go thru. As dem reach puberty man a force dem swlf pon dem and all a battery the likkle gyal dem and then turn round style dem n beat dem. How unnu expect them fi av any self worth or esteem?

We the Jamaican men better wake up and start protecting the women of our country because it nuh look good. The women have been carrying us for quite sometime and they are still suffering from crime and violence, over work and under pay. We need to defend them because women’s issues are men issues because we love front and front naah go nice if it stressed.

1. HeavyD is like yuh read mi thoughts. I’m ready to contribute towards a reward fi ketch dis pussyhole(s). Dem fi dead wickedly

11. As I have always preached here on the wall, all “area don/leader” fi dead! Now dis fool fool Minister a chat bout people fi come forward with information and fi form Neighborhood Watch. Suh when 20 heavily armed men invade the area and ketch di unarmed watchies and start peppa dem wid korn weh yu aguh do fi dem Mr Minister? When the people guh station guh gi police info, dem same police guh tell di Don and help kill off di people. FOH!!

12. Wen u say ghetto people badmind people cuss n carry on. Anyways, i know dat ghetyo people a jamaica work the most obeyah, ghetto people 98% a dem wicked, badmind n dem watch people kids n if ur child a prosper dem either kill ur child or mek man rape n breed ur daughters. Who want cuss can cuss but all the tenament yard ones, a dem dey terible n awful. When nuff ghetto people come work, dem come wid badness n dem badmind self, not saying others nuh badmind, but ghetto people have do much free time das dem manufacture corruption, badmind, envy, hatered, red eye. Why would a man kill this promissing little girl n shoot her sister, nuh muss badmind. Sometimes mi wish if the good heart people dem walk out one day and a bomb just drop dung in a them ghetto n clean out the rest a dem whey evil, lazy, idle n wukless. Look at crime n violence it always a affect the ghetto ones, WHY???? Dem bad mind, stupid n fool, dem always a kill off dem one another, i never see a group a people so damm stupid n fool from the day i born. Uptown people do stuff too, however some a the uptown ones are the ones who originated from thd ghetto too, again, all wen ghetto move uptown u know, thier nasty, loud and abnoxious behavior. Why dem kill this little girl, damm badmind set of dutty people whey lub a jungle. Dem fi clean out jungle like flatt it out.

1. I co-sign this 100%, I said it all the time, ghetto people is a blight on society, they should drop a bomb down there and get rid of all the dog shit dem. It hurt mi tuh mi soul, that girl was going to be her family’s ticket out of the ghetto. Because of them people are now scared to come to Jamaica because they think the entire island is violent, hate them like poison and I care zero who waah vex.

13. This saddened my heart! How di rassclaat people weh kill other people innocently sleep at nights!!? I don’t get it r.i.p baby girl.

14. The reason to WHY these *****HOLE choose kill this
    promising young lady is more grieving the more I
    think about it. Someone who I am sure if she had lived would have made her family proud and been a success story & inspiration to the generation after her.

This is far too common in Jamaica where they prey on the young, Jah Know Mi Grieve nuh bumbocalt over this.
    Jail house too good fi unnu duppy bat weh kill her & gun shot go kill unnu too soon, unnu deserve fi suffer fi this.

Mummy I pray for you cause mi feel this to mi heart, I can’t even imagine what you are going through…
    Jamaica has lose a gem & shining hope of the future
    Things NEED fi change!!!!

Condolences to the Family, Friend & all who are sadden & mourning this great lost.
    May You truly find peace Mickolle.

15. RIP Beautiful, this is a tragic loss, she had so much to offer the world. I pray that the Lord will comfort and strengthen your family and love ones, you were loved by so many people. Heavy D and others may God bless u for taking a stand for Women. Dem bwoy yah fi dead wick, dem fi wan dead and can’t dead, FATHER GOD DEAL WID DEM according to their deeds.

16. Mi say………da killing ya colder dan Canada’s winters dem to rassclaat!!!!! A feel it so till, and mi never did even even know de pretty young lady. Tears for her untimely and unnecessary death. A wah reaaally a gwaan a Jamaica doe eeh?

17. The rasheda girl came on tv say she alone live and she look good n no man kill the girl becausr she deny sexual favors and the next boy him pon tvj say no rappist not in jungle. The people dem pon tvj a protest that them community has no rapist rather than hurting over the little girl death. Wat a set a dutty johncrow people living in jungle. The news say the community glad the little girl parent left the community, u know say dem fi send a bomb dung a dutty jjngle tonight go kill out everyone dung dey. How dem people dey a protect community image and a promising young girl died. The one rasheda , young girl gone pon tv how she live alone, she look good and why no man never kick off her door yet n nothing nuh go so bout man kill the 17 year old because of sexual favors, u see low life people like u rasheda dutty gal liks u in a ghetto protect gun men. Ur door may kick ofg tonight rasheeda since u asking for it, smh

1. probably a high ranking gunman kill her then. Or a don. because it sounds as if they are protecting the person.

2. You see how some ooman head set? A woman with a womb who is probably a mother or will be one day a chat dem level a foolishnes. What if providence should meck dis Rasheeda character experience the same as this young lady’s mother is going through right now. Do some ppl need to experience something to understand how wicked and devastating it is? The thing that I find frightening about the Jamaica of today is a gross lack of empathy. Too many ppl are without compassion, which also tells me these ppl are empty vessels with no God in dem. Rasheeda, your comments were uttered out of spite and envy, bout you look good. How the hell a community member get murdered, woman just like yourself, and the ongle shyt you can utter from your gutter trap is dat you look good, you knew di girl and was jealous of her, jealous of her smarts, character, and looks, you rejoicing and reveling in her murder dats why you ketch pon TV a defend murderers. Not everybody’s sole ambition is to be a community mattress like you, dats why your door nuh kick off cause you a easy access and everybody sample your wares already. Go suck pon a dick and choke pon it and go meet your master in hell!

Poster, you well right, if a dem deh cold hearted fckrs a suck up precious oxygen dem need a serious reality check and if is a bomb fi blow dem out so be it. Damn set a vampires wid dem wicked hearts and unquenchable lust for the blood of innocents. Bout dem a protect community image. Unno know if this girl did reach where she was going what it would do for the community image? Unno know how many other young ones may be inspired to know of her humble beginnings and dream big just the same. Killing unno gems fi live wid trash. Unno minds and hearts are fckd and there is no coming back fi some a unno.

18. I was watching the news last night and a lady who spoke to the news team left me wondering… her stance was that is not the men in the community who carried out the act, just for the fact that she lives alone and is attractive… the mother/family has left the community also, why? i feel this asking for sex thing is a fiction of the reality of what really took place, clearly this has to be act of grudge, two promising young girls who had a bright future ahead, both attending good schools, both seemed to be focused and had morals, values and aspirations to rise above their circumstances! SIP and may the 12 year recover well! condolences to the family, especially their mother!

people we cant rid our communities of crime and violence if we continue to foster this see and blind, hear and deaf attitude! only we have the power to protect our nation from these hoodlums!