MASSAGE PARLOUR UNDECOVER BROTHEL SHAKE DOWN

The police last weekend raided a massage parlour and entertainment lounge and interrogated over 30 people in its renewed drive to clamp down on human trafficking across the island.

The owner of the establishment, 31-year-old Gormechyo Green, along with Alisea Rainford, 31, and Sheena Willis, 20, were arrested and charged.

Green is charged with living off the earnings of prostitution, Rainford is charged with aiding and abetting and living off the earnings of prostitution, while Willis is charged with soliciting for immoral purposes.

The police also held onto Shamyel Morgan, 31, who is charged with murder and had absconded his bail in June.

Reports are that between 11:00 pm and 6:00 am an operation was carried out at Oasis Lounge located at 2B Downer Avenue, Kingston 5.

Assistant Superintendent of Police Victor Barrett, who led the operation, told the Jamaica Observer that undercover police personnel who went to the premises discovered that several women were offering s*x for sale.

Barrett said that Green, who was the receptionist collected $2,000 from one of the undercover policemen. He was then instructed to choose a woman and Rainford was selected, the senior police officer said.

“There is a receptionist who collects money, then the patrons are told to choose a girl and they venture off into a private room and I leave the rest to your imagination,” Barrett told the Observer. “The money is then written down in a book and handed over to management.”

The raid came a week after Head of the Counter-Terrorism and Organised Crime Investigation Branch (C-TOC) Assistant Commissioner of Police Fitz Bailey disclosed that focus will be placed on human trafficking and breaches of intellectual property (IP) rights as the Yuletide season approaches.

According to Barrett, over 200 patrons representing both s*xes were at the premises. Thirty-one of them were taken to CTOC for further interviews and 28 were released.

The operation came on the heels of an investigation involving the owner.

Barrett said that the premises is licensed as a massage parlour and entertainment lounge.

According to Barrett, the victims are lured by advertisements in the print media for work which, he said, is not a new phenomenon.

The ASP said that when the victims respond to the advertisement and turn up for interviews they are abused and held against their will.

“The push factors for human trafficking are poverty and an abusive or neglectful home environment,” Barrett reasoned, adding that the high demand for forced labour or s*xual exploitation are pull factors.

According to the 2017 Trafficking In Persons Report by the US Department of State, Jamaica is and has been a source and destination country for adults and children subjected to s*x trafficking and forced labour.

14 thoughts on “MASSAGE PARLOUR UNDECOVER BROTHEL SHAKE DOWN

1. this has nothing to do with human traffic, some people in high places pissed off with the owner and decided to shut him down.

1. Did u not read where it said, “According to Barrett, the victims are lured by advertisements in the print media for work which, he said, is not a new phenomenon.”
          “The ASP said that when the victims respond to the advertisement and turn up for interviews they are abused and held against their will.” U dumb f**k, thats kidnapping.

1. I’m glad they are clamping down on these kind of places. There are a lot of young women being forced to do things against their will. Good move by the police. Shut them down one by one.

2. They need to go and smoke out some of the murderer them to,oops forget they work with. Dem need fi go fight real crime..

3. I hate when things are getting done in the country and u have some damn idiot a talk bout dem need to fight real crime . They need to fight EVERYTHING!! Killing somebody is not the only crime that exists. One of the persons held here was actually charged for murder, God alone know who him kill.

4. CRATCHES CANT STOP SELL, A JUS THAT BABBAT A RUN GAINST IT, ITS THE OLDEST PROFESSION, POLICE TRUST AN NO PAY JUS LIKE DEM DO WHITE RUMM

5. Mi close to this and trust mi it nuh av nutten and mi mean nutten fi do wid no bbc human trafficing. The Ja police a bigger extortionist than bad man. Dem go a look money and get shun so dem come back wicked. If mi neva know fi mi self wudda say yea dem a work but bcuz dem nuh get the money a that time dem start work? GTFOH with this JCF unnu know the ppl dem well n a look money. Unnu go tell thr yute say unnu get complaint and unnu can sort it out.

6. I believe you Heavy D. There’s another place off Molynes Rd. I saw 2 cop cars with lights turned off drove onto that complex one night. I watched or observed from my business place and they were there for some time then drove out. I assume they went to collect or for services.