The founder of Golden Krust Caribbean Bakery & Grill killed himself inside his Bronx factory Saturday, police sources said.
Lowell Hawthorne, 57, shot himself inside the Park Ave. building near E. 173rd St. in Claremont about 5:30 p.m., sources said.
“He was a good boss, humble and a good businessman,” said Pete Tee, 27, a former employee said outside the factory.
“He never seemed sad. This is just terrible news right now.”
Hawthorne opened the first Golden Krust store on E. Gun Hill Rd. in 1989.
The Jamaica beef patty empire now has more than 120 restaurants across the U.S.
It also produces more than 50 million patties a year for retail stores and supplies them to about 20,000 outlets across the U.S., according to the New York Times.
‘’We believe in the power of the patty,” Hawthorne told The Times in May.
Send a Letter to the Editor
The question now is why.
Well i remembered telling people Over & Over that money don’t bring happiness they thought I was joking…..now I can’t Even say RIP because taking ur own life is forbidden before God..
Bwoy mi nuh know
A hope a nuh woman him tek him life fa
*something smells like rotten fish*
*successful businesman who had everything going for him*
*unless he was secretly suffering mental issues or people, family and/or females were being a constant pest*
* heavily indebted maybe?*
*everything will come to light*
It doesn’t have to be any of the above. People are suffering in silence, we have to talk to our loved ones.
I’m thinking the same thing too….. Very sad indeed.
For a man at the pinnacle of success, the reason for such as drastic action is concerning. In South Florida, there seem to be a Golden Krust Restaurant at every corner and growing. I can think of at least 4 reasons why he took his life, but I won’t speculate. I’m sure we will hear a barrage of reasons in the coming weeks, but only he and/or his immediate family would know the true reason. RIP Mr. Hawthorne.
A wonda if is taxes he owe or ppl was thiefing from his stores smh. This man made me feel so proud 2 b Jamaican R.I.P Mr. Hawthorne
Doubt finance, woman or pending investigation!! Sad
Rest In Peace Sir. I didn’t know him personally and I’m not the biggest fan of Golden Krust but I must say he made a great contribution to the diaspora and even helped introduce Americans to our wonderful cuisine. Hope you find peace on the other side.
I am so so saddened and horrified to hear this news!
I feel so so terrible like it was my own flesh and blood!
I was happy for this man’s success . I thought things were going well for him! You never know a peron’s Emotional state and wealth does not buy happiness is proven a thousand times over.
Sadly many people with wealth suffer secretly because people are constantly using them and seeking them out. The stress of running such a successful empire was probably overwhelming him.
Even worsse, based on our vulture culture many use against each other in the Caribbean, someone could have been trying to blackmail him. Perhaps he felt overwhelmed .
We will never know the full story . I am sorry for his family’s loss.
I am hoping it was not a terrible secret that lead to this death.
Emotions are serious and not to be played with !
So SAD TO HEAR….RIP SIR..
WOW! R.I.P bredda…..not a fan of golden krust but mi always happy fi him success especially caa him a yawdie
Hmm, successful business man in USA….
Murder ! Murder ! Murder ! Murder ! Murder ! Murder ! Murder ! Murder ! Murder ! Murder ! Murder ! Murder ! Murder ! Murder !
Nobody knows anything that is happening inside anybody else. Even husband and wife can sleep next to each other and be complete strangers. Hopefully he finds the peace in the afterlife that he could not find in this one. May his family and loved ones come to their own peace with his choice that he made of his own free will.
Rest in power Mr . Hawthorne n sincerest condolences to his loved ones.Get help,talk to someone, it’s never too late.
I’m curious as to why he chose to commit suicide at the workplace instead at home or somewhere outside of work.
Because it was his achievements and a bet his dream as well. So, since he was going to leave…He wanted to be there for the final time.
Secret life
Cyan be nothing else
Undercover you know what
Somebody musta threaten to out him
how someone finds peace on the other side when they commit suicide come on its sad and we don’t know the the reason why he did it but anything is better than death
I went to school with his sons.
They are a very religious family.
So when i read suicide that was the first red flag
Then the 2 shots to the head doesn’t make sense
He was murdered.
Rip Mr Hawthorne
Condolences to your family.
COULD YOU PROVIDE THE LINK TO THE STORY WHERE IT WAS SAID THERE WERE TWO SHOTS TO THE HEAD? Can’t seem to find any such official statement of him being shot twice in the head on the WWW. Are you saying the police is lying and their is a cover up?
It’s has been 8 weeks since my husband of 15 years opened up to me about his depression. I was shocked as I didn’t saw it coming, he said he had been going through it for about 7 months and he has gotten to the point where he has be getting all sort if crazy ideas. I must admit hearing that has scared me as I wonder if hurting me and the children as ever came across his thoughts. I try to be supportive and encourages him to seek help in, but it can be so difficult as we all know that most Jamaican men don’t open fully up about their problems.
The devil knows how to get into good peoples brain and life. Him and his family are good people. They look out for everybody and he is a good boss. His family and my family are very close. I went to the same church the family use to go to. Everybody very religious and involved in church. I’m hurt to hear dis. Bob Marley funeral naw go big like dem man yah. Highly respectable. Can’t even think what could of led to this. Mental illness??? Dem man yah try life legit. No selling drugs. Inspire nuff youths. May the blood of Jesus is cover u mr. Hawthorn and your family. Deh one yah hard. KMFT!!! Much love
How does someone shoot them self in the head TWICE??!!!!!
Whatever the case you have paved a better way for your family by taking what was once considered poor people food and building a successful franchise. Go in peace.
He will be missed. No one knows so please don’t speculate just keep the family up in prayer! Give them privacy n peace
Bronx people, suppliers, current and former GK employees come talk up the tingz. On behalf of myself and other loyal Golden Krust customers condolences goes out the his family and friends. This must be a very hard pill to swallow. With that said we wa know wha gwaan. Why did such a successful man commit suicide? I ran into him a few times at the East Gunhill Road location on customer appreciation events. He struck me as a warm and giving person. Unnu come talk up the tingz dem.
The 2 gunshots to the head makes it hard to believe this was a suicide…im guessing they have security footage???…This is so strange.
I just watched undercover boss. Tears came to my eyes during the end. He had plans pending for 2020. Only he knows why. Sad
@15, 15, 15, 15, 15, 15, 15, 15, 15. AMEN,, IS THE WUSS PIECE A NEWS AS DEC COME IN,,, MARIE, MARIE 2 SHOTS?? THE FIRST ONE SUPPOSE TO …… TEARS TEARS TEARS FOR THIS SUCCESSFUL JAMAICAN, FOR WE A PURE CRIMINALS MURDERAS, A FOO FAH BIZ HIM DAMAGE, I FEEL SICK TO MY STOMACH, A DIS PPL A WUK HARD FOR KMT
EVERY F**KIN WHERE WE LIVE AS JAMAICANS WE WELCOME A GOLDEN KRUST, IF U NO WANT THE PATTY U CAN GET GOAT HEAD SOUP, I WAS AT THE STORE ON UNIVERSITY AV IN MIRAMAR JOKING WITH THE STAFF MEMBERS, ITS HARD FOR US TO DIGEST THIS HE WAS WELL KNOWN FOR GOOD REASONS, SOMEBODY SON FROM THE COUNTRY SO SUCCESSFUL, SORRY FI A CUSS PON YA MET
Too successful…killed by Government. Probably wanted to buy a Giant out like MD or them other,.
Guilty
Per the ny post. He killed himself over tax debt.
Very fishy! I am a Nurse Practitioner providing care for people with mental health problems. Just to say, it is very dif fickle to mask “depression” always warning signs!!! He was murdered!!!!
Camera in his office have him shooting himself.
There may be warning signs but the unskilled person may not detect.
I can tell you that my family and friends think everything going alright with me but I don’t share my thoughts of suicide with them. People love to say why they didn’t talk and ask for help but often times people ignore cries for help.
Pray diligently for God to remove the spirit of suicide from you. Satan bright eh man??? How dare he try to lay claim over your life. Rebuke his attempts. Its company that wicked lying cowardly serpent looking. May God bless and comfort you and keep you safe.
Sheila, I truly wonder if you are a NP, that is a reckless statement. Especially, when you don’t have all the facts and boldy claim murder.
Very suspicious “suicide”. I believe he was probably mixed up with the wrong set of people (Mafia perhaps??). Not really trying to speculate too much, but I have real doubts that he indeed committed suicide.
I don’t think he was alone .. it may have been an order !
They said his car was parked terrible like someone in a rush
11:04 & 11:40 STOP! News free online if you can’t afford a newspaper!
The man killed himself in his office and ON CAMERA. The man self made and no damn “order” no involve.
STOP trivializing the man death, for your entertainment of a good gossip!
*nasty Gleaner also added to the nonsense by reporting 2 shots…good god unu dark! Can a man kill himself twice?!
Anonymous 11:40 I believe it was an order as well
MUST YOU AND THOSE OTHER IDIOTS UP TOP SEND THE ORDER. WHEN THE MAN WAS BREATHING NOT A SOUL UTTER HIM NAME, NOW HIM DEAD BY HIS OWN HANDS YOU HERE SPECULATING NONSENSE. IT’S HIS OWN FAMILY WHO SAID HE HIMSELF SAID HE MAY HAVE AN ISSUE HE CAN’T FIND HIS WAY OUT OF. I GUESS IS A GHOST FIRE THE SHOT SINCE THE FACT THAT HIS SUICIDE WAS CAPTURED ON VIDEO AND TIMED BY THE 911 CALL NOT GOOD ENOUGH.
A PERSON FREE TO COMMIT SUICIDE. IT’S THERE LIFE TO DO WHAT THEY LIKE WITH IT.
Him gay
Crossed my mind….or contracted da sumn dey.
You are grasping at straws. First it was “an order”, now the man is gay. Stop with the wild speculations. No matter what the reasons for committing suicide, he is no longer with us…..end of story!
So sad to see a successful man had everything to live for gone so early my prayers go out to his family. May God stengthen and comfort you all.
Saw him recently o Undercover Boss USA seemed to be a very nice man. RiP