Deeply wounded by the death of Shauna-Lee Moodie in Mexico on December 19 of last year, family members are still searching for answers to how the easygoing young soldier met her sudden demise.
Moodie’s body was brought back to Jamaica yesterday, nearly a month after she was found lifeless in a Mexican hotel room. Reports out of Mexico indicate that her body was found on the hotel floor with her husband beside her. Police arrested the husband, but it is unclear whether he was charged.
Moodie, 23, hailed from St James, where she studied at the Montego Bay High School. She left Jamaica in 2013 and went to the United States where she enrolled in Monroe College and joined the US Army shortly after. The trip to Mexico was intended to be a celebration of her achievements, but it turned out to be tragic.
“I’m not handling it well right now. I’m in grief. Every day I cry for my daughter. Sometimes, I am just here waiting for them to say they went in the morgue and she got up. I want them to say she was in coma. All now I still don’t believe,” she said.
Like most mother-daughter relationships, Sandra told The STAR that the love that she shared with her daughter was rich.
“We were the greatest. Every day she would call me and say ‘hey, mom, what’s up mom? I love you’. And if she didn’t get me, she would call her sister and ask for me.”
SECOND AUTOPSY
Family members told The STAR that they have made attempts to get a second autopsy done to figure out what exactly happened to their loved one, but were told that her body is fully embalmed, so it cannot happen.
Moodie’s cousin, Naomi, told The STAR that the circumstances under which she died are quite mysterious.
“This is so frustrating, because we have not got an autopsy all now. What we are hearing from the husband’s father is that she choked on her saliva. All now we can’t get to see an autopsy report,” she said.
Daren Johnson, a longtime friend, said that he is very sad about what happened.
“I was so emotional. When I saw the message about her death, as a man, me bawl out. The other workers ask a wah. All me could a seh is ‘me fren, me fren’. Me couldn’t even talk. It was not until Sunday when I saw her in the box that it kicked in, and I came to realisation that she is not here.”
Johnson described her as “a very educated, forward-thinking, strong, motivated person who knew what she wanted. she was a very hard worker and she was very determined.”
Her pic been running in the Mirror’s obit section for weeks now and I always wondered who this person was because she was always in it.
Folks been dying in Mexico of all sorts of things for a while now. It’s one of those places if you visit you need to act with extreme caution. There was something going around recently about ppl dying from fake alcohol in the hotels and outside establishments there, then there was one about organ snatching, then there are some hotel workers who are raping and killing. Mexico is just one of those places you avoid it if you can cause there really is too much going on there and you never really save anywhere.
Best wishes to the family and loved ones in their time of mourning.
Ammmm I guess u don’t know the back story.
Sasha was allegedly killed by her husband in their hotel room.
Thanks for the additional information. If her husband is the chief suspect then the family should petition the government to open up an investigation. Alternatively, they could hire their own personal investigators to check into what the life was.
Can’t recall how many of these funeral honors I’ve done but this one is sad. Usually it’s for old veterans that have lived their lives but when young people with promise pass away, it’s always very touching.
Anony 10:54 WHERE did you get your info from? like seriously? seems so baseless….
All the information is available for anyone to find. I am not making stories up about Mexico for shitz and giggles, it’s real stuff that happens to ppl who travel there. It’s one of those places if you choose to go you need to be on your guard at all times and watch every move. Obviously, ppl do travel there and make it back home safely, this does not mean that what I stated is a lie.
The circumstances surrounding this one seems very fishy. The initial reports out of Mexico saying they had force their way in and the husband was sitting up next t o the body. Along with guests reporting hearing noises and banging coming from the room….Nah say him do it, BUT it nuh look or sound good.
No man dem fi question di husband…
This is a murder a brutal murder. The husband took her to Mexico and killed her. She’s from Cornwall Courts here in Montego Bay. She was a brilliant girl. God not sleeping.
Some news forum says that the husband told the staff that she choked on her saliva and died. Furthermore guests that were staying on the floor says they heard. A lot of noise, screaming and cursing and loud banging earlier on before the incident happened.I think it’s a crime of passion because she came to America to attend school she marry the guy probably for papers. Shortly after she enlisted in the army now that she’s through she gonna be gone to camp cause let’s face it when you sign up for the army u basically know that you are gonna hardly be at home. The husband probably got jealous and think that she was only using him for papers and now she a get ready to go away leave him.
https://www.riviera-maya-news.com/american-man-arrested-homicide-death-wife-cancun-hotel/2017.html