DON RUN OUT WOMAN WID 10 KIDS OUT THE COMMUNITY NOW SHE LOOKING FOR FOR THE POOR HOUSE

A mother of 10 who had to flee her home in Lawrence Tavern, St Andrew, after hoodlums issued death and rape threats to her and her 13-year-old daughter needs help.

The woman, in a 2017 Jamaica Observer North & East report said that the so-called area don had threatened to rape her daughter and when she refused, his cronies threatened to kill her and her family. She subsequently fled to a rural community where she has been living an uncomfortable life since.

Following the Observer North & East report, a team from the Ministry of Economic Growth and Job Creation met with the woman to discuss her current living conditions.

“The information obtained and evidence seen on a subsequent site visit, confirms that [the woman] and her family are living in conditions unsuitable for human habitation. Based on the findings of the investigation, the family will be provided with a double wooden Food For the Poor (FFP) unit through the Housing, Opportunity, Production and Employment (HOPE) Programme…” the ministry said at the time in an e-mail response to Observer North & East.

However, last Wednesday when Observer North & East visited the woman, she was still living in poor conditions with her children.

She told Observer North & East that the ministry said that the place she fled to, which is owned by a family member, is not suitable for a house.

“Dem come and check it out but then dem seh it’s too hilly, so they can’t build on it and that I need to find a better piece of land. Everywhere I go people say dem not selling their land or leasing it so that’s why you see us still living here,” the woman said.

Her children, whose ages range from three to 21, are frequently absent from school, sometimes go without food and are bundled in a one bedroom botched up just below the main road in the community she fled to just over a year ago.

“Nothing has changed,” she said. “I am asking anybody please if you have land leasing or selling to let me know,” she pleaded.

In the meantime, Minister without Portfolio in the Ministry of Economic Growth and Job Creation with responsibility for the Land, Environment, Climate Change and Investment portfolios, Daryl Vaz, when contacted, said that he will look into the matter for future assistance.

To assist, please send an e-mail to: [email protected] or call 876-960-6593

— Kimone Francis

8 thoughts on “DON RUN OUT WOMAN WID 10 KIDS OUT THE COMMUNITY NOW SHE LOOKING FOR FOR THE POOR HOUSE

1. 10 kids, 10 fu$&@ng kids in this day and age? Sorry for my language but these type of stories hurt my soul, you are telling me that she lives in the ghetto, she knows how tough life is and she still went ahead and breed 10 times? Where are the fathers for these children? At no point did she think to herself that she’s having too many kids that she cannot afford, didn’t she think at some point to go on birth control which is free at clinics and hospitals across the island? Sometimes it’s so hard to feel sorry for some people, the youngest is three and if she didn’t have to leave her community I’m sure she would have been pregnant with number 11. You women keep having all these kids in the ghetto, so the Dons always have fresh supply and the cycle continues. STOP HAVING KIDS THAT YOU CANNOT AFFORD!!!!

2. There are tons of ppl selling land, strange that you are having it so hard. I’m sure this will be resolved after this article.

3. Throughout this entire story I kept looking for where the police guh fi the DON and buss him skull! Damn police and politicians not worth their weight in shit!

4. How the hell she have 10 pickney? Then expect govt to finance her with tax payer $. Come on man! I’m sorry for the kids cause it’s not their fault but whoever bring them into this world should bare the responsibility.
    Contraceptives are cheap!

5. You know is the same thing run cross mi mind bout di area don? Nowhere did it state that they the authorities were collecting information on the guilty man dem that was pressuring di woman and har pickney dem.

6. BWOY to rass look like a don hav something to do with this mek him run her. maybe run her cause him cant have his way, not strange if him use to sex her an want the pickney dem,, nooo a so it a run

7. KEEP THE FREAKING LEGS CLOSE! DEM WITH SO MANY DIFFERENT BABY FATHERS. THATS 10 MISTAKES TOO MUCH. NOT EVEN A WEDDING RING AND HOUSE. I DONT FEEL SORRY FOR WOMAN LIKE THAT EITHER. AH DEM SET THEMSELVES UP FOR THAT. NO MATTER WHAT A WOMAN IS ALWAYS GOING TO BEAR THE WRATH AT THE END. WHEN POPPING OUT THESE KIDS, THINK LONG TERM.

8. ANOS 8.55 THERE ARE WOMEN WITH ONE PICKNEY LIVING LIKE HER, ATLEAST SHE CAN PAST A DEAD HOUSE WITH HAR HEAD UP HIGH. YES THE STRUGGLE REAL. BUT HAR LIFE IS LIKE THIS BECAUSE SHE NU CHOSE TO SELL OUT HAR 13 YEAR OLD LIKE WAT SOME MOTHER WOULD DO. HOW CAN U COME FOR THIS LADY LIKE THAT WHEN U DONT KNOW HER HISTORY. IS U FATHER ONE F**K U MOTHER? HOW MUCH RING SHE GET IN HER LIFE TIME? HOW MUCH OF UNO SHE BRING AND HOW MUCH DASH WEY? IF U CANT HELP SHUT THE F**K UP. BOUT KEEP LEGS CLOSED. THATS WAT YOUR MOTHER SHOULD HAVE DONE SO THE WORLD DONT HAVE TO DEAL WIT URE DUMB ASS.