A senior Jamaica Defence Force (JDF) officer has suggested that demonic forces are influencing crime in St James, where a state of public emergency was imposed in January, and the authorities are not equipped to deal with it.
“We wrestle not against flesh and blood. This war is not physical, and therefore it takes a spiritual response to this,” stated Colonel Daniel George Pryce, who is the JDF’s intelligence and operations officer.
Colonel Pryce was delivering the keynote address to a prayer breakfast hosted by the Supernatural Encounter Jamaica (SEJ) team in association with the St James Ministers’ Fraternal at Wexford Hotel on Gloucester Avenue in Montego Bay, Monday.
Colonel Pryce, who said he was giving the address in two parts — as a soldier and as a Christian — noted that “me in a my uniform, the police in their uniform can’t take on the spiritual warfare”.
In the first half of his speech, as a JDF member, he gave crime and gang statistics for the parish, after which he mentioned demonic practices, such as Illuminati and Baphomet, engaged in by gangs in the second half of his address.
Colonel Pryce pointed to Flanker, saying that some ruthless gangs are based there, while most murders take place in Mount Salem and the town centre of Montego Bay.
“Mount Salem also has (gangs), but thank God for ZOSO (zone of special operations),” stated Colonel Pryce.
He said that in Cambridge, a particular gang which has been creating mayhem has a 14-year-old member who was recently taken into custody.
The parish currently has 29 gangs of which 23 are active.
Colonel Pryce said the gun was responsible for 253 of the 335 murders committed in the parish last year, and noted that the murder toll was the highest recorded in the country’s history for a police division. The figure equates to 67 more murders than were reported in 2016.
“At this rate, we are almost at a civil war ,” he said.
Colonel Pryce also disclosed that since the start of the year, the parish recorded 15 murders, seven of which were committed during the current state of public emergency. For the same period last year, the parish had recorded 38 murders.
Montego Bay Mayor Homer Davis, in his address, disclosed that the parish has seen a 65 per cent drop in crime since the start of the year.
Earlier during the prayer breakfast, head of the SEJ steering committee, Rev Mary Wildish, warned the church not to become complacent.
She also called on the church and others to undergo two weeks of fasting between March 19 and April 02.
The call for prayer and fasting was also supported by Colonel Pryce.
“Once you cross the starting line, there is no turning back. So, guess what now, we are in the preparatory phase. This is why the fasting is important. It is the preparatory phase before you launch into battle. What I gave you was the intelligence report, so you now have the knowledge as to what you are dealing with,” he said.
The SEJ is an umbrella group of churches that aims to assist in the transformation of St James and the wider Jamaica through a mega crusade slated for next month.
The crusade is scheduled for Montego Bay Convention Centre between the hours of 1:00 pm and 9:00 pm on Friday, April 20, and 10:00 am to 5:00 pm on Saturday, April 21.
Among the churches involved with the mega crusade are the St James Ministers’ Fraternal, Love and Faith Ministries, Fellowship Tabernacle, Power and Faith Ministries International, Faith Cathedral Deliverance Centre, Emmanuel Apostolic Church, Tarrant Baptist Church, Worship and Faith International, Transformed Life Church, Lighthouse of Faith Ministries, as well as other pastors and leaders from across Jamaica.
So basically you saying Satan winning and more powerful than your God. If unno fail unno can blame Satan once again. Let Satan rest where him at cause him have bigger fish to fry. Sometimes unno fi keep things separated, leave the religion in the churches and the police station to do actual police work. Don’t use the spiritual realm to make excuses for unno incompetence. Satan ain’t got a damn thing to do with violence, it’s the culture and its acceptability of violence at all levels of life. Even the Bible unno use for unno religion is the most violent piece of work ever published. How can anyone be anti violence and accept the virulent violence that the Bible advocates,confused much?
We have to start taking accountability of residents in the community,employed, unemployed, school, college etc…..start creating activities to keep people occupied. to do…..tighten up the country starting with parishes who display higher crime rates.Start government run farming and creating new streams of revenue for the country, more factories and such…..we have to do better.