The US Embassy in Kingston says Jamaicans should not fear the proposal from the United States administration to start collecting additional information including the social media history of almost everyone seeking a visa to enter the country.
The information, which will include all social media identities used in the last five years, will be requested on immigrant and non-immigrant forms.
US citizens will have 60 days from March 30 to comment on the proposal.
Jeremiah Knight, Counsellor for Public Affairs at the US Embassy, said the aim is to have the visa forms align with technological advances.
“Social media wasn’t so prevalent back when these documents were created…so now the government wants to update and include additional information to be with the times,” he declared.
He said following the 60 days in which US residents will have the opportunity to comment on the proposal, the comments or recommendations will be submitted to the Office of Budget and Management for any issues to be addressed, then another 30 days will be allocated to deal with those issues.
More security checks
Mr. Knight said the US administration is also increasing its security checks.
“Some people on social media fill it with particular organisations that might be of some concern, or their commentings raise awareness to government entities, so they want to just do some balances before people (apply) for immigrant and non-immigrant visas,” he indicated.
Mr. Knight, who was speaking Thursday morning on TVJ’s Smile Jamaica, said the processing time of visa applications will not be affected due to the increased information required.
He simply urged applicants to “be honest and complete” with the document.
Jamaicans need to stop applying for visas and stay home (if you can)and build the country. The US embassy is collecting millions of dollars from Jamaicans to turn them down
Dem fi fk off and gweh cuz dem not getting MI pornhub and Youporn username and password! !
Invasion of Privacy so keep unno visa and me keep my freedom of expression. SYM totalitarian Babylon imperialists!! Suck unno mummas Zionists! !
This the new world order come of a social media to pretend rich cause that them a use to ban you and watch you !! This is crazy ! They are going to use your political views lifestyle to judge you ! It’s not a war on terrorist anymore it’s a war on humanity and to control the mass and put in place people who align with them idiology !! Wake up people build up Jamaica pay your taxes build income streams and go a home cause America don’t want us anymore !
They want us to have no privacy. Dem waah watch and know we every move… Sounds like control to me..
Da pussy watchman lose election