- by Met
Ile Tuntun Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State has adjourned till July 6, the divorce suit brought before it by Okanlawon Akinbile and his wife, Rukayat Akinbile.
Okanlawon stated in his suit that his wife was deceitful, troublesome and didn’t give him rest of mind.
He told the court he was no longer interested in their marriage and thus prayed the court to dissolve their union.
Rukayat acceded to divorce. According to her, Okanlawon is diabolic and had attempted to use her for ritual purpose.
The court president, Chief Olasunkanmi Agbaje, after listening to both parties stated that more evidence would be needed. He thus adjourned the case and ordered both parties to come to court with their children and parents.
Okanlawon told the court that:”My lord, my wife has stopped listening to me at home. She flouts my orders and takes counsel from her friends.
“She once left home early in the day without informing me of where she was going and didn’t return until late in the night. I was worried when she didn’t return in time and made calls to her family members who also didn’t know where she went.
“She returned late in the night and when I demanded to know where she went she fought me. I, therefore, ordered her to go back to where she was coming from. I sent her out when she refused to leave.
“I called her family members and mine and reported her. Both families came together and mediated in our differences. She then moved back home.
“We started experiencing some challenges after this, which took its toll on our finances. My wife told me she went to a pastor who advised that we should vacate our house for some time because it is bewitched.
“She moved to her mother’s place while I moved to my family house. She requested that I bring the generating set, television, fan and DVD to her mum’s house and I did. I later discovered she had played a trick on me. She took possession of my property in a cunning way. I also realised all she said about the pastor were lies. Her intention was actually to divorce me.
“She later went about telling whoever cared to listen that I wanted to use her for ritual.
“My lord, a woman who is that deceptive can kill. Please, separate us before she does a worse thing, “the plaintiff stated.
“My lord, I have no regret moving out of his house because I no more trust him. He actually tried using me for ritual but his plan failed.
“He was in the habit of bathing with black soap before having sex with me. I complained about this but he refused to change.
“He gave me a ring on my birthday which I didn’t feel comfortable putting on.
“He asked me the following day why I didn’t put the ring on and I gave him an excuse.
“My lord, at another time he prostrated and pleaded with me to wear the ring which confirmed my fear that it was not an ordinary one and that indeed he wanted to use me for ritual, “she stated.
How yuh mean tek dat yes.. dem marriage crazy doe.