FI REAL HOW NO ONE NUH KNOW WHO KILL YETANYA?

So, no one knows who killed Yetanya? Bull manure!

I have family members living in three African countries. In each country, I am told, there are several tribal dialects. There is, however, one proverb which can be found in all of these dialects. The advice is that a child does not belong to one parent or home. Or the upbringing of a child is the responsibility of the community.

Whatever the translation, the message is “It takes a village to raise a child”. This is a well-known African proverb that Hillary Rodham Clinton borrowed to title her 1996 bestseller, It Takes A Village: And Other Lessons Children Teach Us.

The ‘Village’ is what we would call a community. And communities in Jamaica are suffering. The main reason is that one of the cornerstones of community life is a stable family. Many of our families are now dysfunctional. The children are a very important part of community life. But they are bused out of most communities at daybreak to attend schools in other areas and return at sunset, learning things their parents know nothing about along the way. Friendships are formed, not in the neighbourhood, but in bus parks and shopping malls and some other very scary places. So ties to the communities in which they live are tenuous at best.

Where am I going with all this? Some days ago, 14-year-old Yetanya Francis was raped, murdered and her body partially burnt in a section of Arnett Gardens known as ‘Zimbabwe’. As accustomed as we are to cruelty and violence, this one seared the national consciousness. Somehow it seemed just a little more cruel and heartless.

Some residents claim that they ‘heard someone crying for rape’, others heard screaming. Others still smelt burning flesh. But no one raised an alarm or investigated. No one bothered to call the police. Why? As the chatting continued, they spoke of the darkness in the area as persons ‘shot out the street lights’ and ‘someone’ was raping women in the area.

Whenever I attempt to speak positively of the Tivoli Gardens I knew a little about before the security forces “cleaned up” the community, I am shouted down. But what I call the “Tivoli experiment” was an excellent example of inner-city community life. Very young children walked the streets very late at night, unafraid. People had their doors wide open very late at night, unafraid. The likelihood of anyone shooting out street lights was unthinkable. And rape? But as I said, somebody decided that Tivoli had to be “cleaned up’. Now it is so ‘clean’, anything is possible.

Sponsored Links
Plastic Surgeon Reveals The Surprising Cause Of Sagging Skin
Beverly Hills MD
Luxury Assisted Living Near Chicago Has Seniors Packing Up Suitcases
Assisted Living | Sponsored
Over the years, others have come and tried to replicate the Tivoli experiment. Perhaps they did not have the benefit of a sociologist. But what they produced was little more than votes in sardine cans. That notwithstanding, are ‘Zimbabwe’ residents going to stand there with a straight face and suggest that strangers came into their area and shot out street lights, leaving the area dark and vulnerable? Are ‘Zimbabwe’ residents telling us that a stranger entered their community, dragged this girl scratching and screaming, raped her, made a fire and burnt her body in the same community, then hopped on a bus and headed home? Permit me to climb to the top of the highest building in ‘Zimbabwe’ and shout to these residents, at the top of my voice, BULL MANURE!!! YOU TEK BIG PEOPLE FI FOOL?

This is exactly why people come together to live in communities. Some of these garrisons may have been constructed with no other aim but to create safe parliamentary seats. But one unintended advantage is that they are extremely difficult for outsiders to penetrate. Come on, 10th Street.

Zimbabwe, the police station is now open. Jamaica is waiting outa patience.

— Glenn Tucker is an educator and a sociologist. He can be reached [email protected]
=

13 thoughts on “FI REAL HOW NO ONE NUH KNOW WHO KILL YETANYA?

1. Mi feel seh who see or hear not talking cuz Fe dem life get threatened. But dis is the world we live in and it sad bad. One’s life have no value…so kill anything, anywhere and anytime.

2. I have been saying it from day one and I will continue to say it on day 25, it is a member / members of the community that killed the child. No one, again NO ONE from outside the community did. Now let them walk oround with guilt shame and taint on their characters.

3. Very good article, cruelty is involved on all levels. How can people hear her crying out for rape and do nothing (that would bother me for the rest of my life). Y give so much power to these demons, I understand why they are afraid but a stance must be made so that a change can come. We had to make a stance for equal rights and justice during slavery, it took a few people to stand up and the rest followed. I TRULY BELIEVE THAT JAMAICA NEEDS AN INTERVENTION TOO MANY DEATHS. Jamaica land we LOVE but it’s time for a change. RIP baby girl, Lord please comfort and strengthen this family.

4. You mean to tell me not even one person from the community have internet access and read Pinkwall???? Not even one of you can drop an anonymous comment? Use a burner phone and call in the information and let the law enforcement personnel get a head start???? Just wow!!! The poor child was violated and then set ablaze!!!! Not one person with a conscience can’t realize that those demons will continue to brutalize and kill???? Your family members might be next!!!! Can someone not send the information anonymously? Wow!

5. So even if there was no street lights.No one COULDN’T call the police.As much as everyone always on they darn phones.BS Excuses!!

6. Dont be fooled zim people dem know is who. Zimbabwe is run by stinger men. The likes of ramsey road, gem road. To say that they know will only confirm that they also knew about the Meadowbrook girl. Since year 2 brothers where killed on the same stretch in a house and is same way dem seh dem noh know who do it. Zim consist of mostly family they are connected in some way or the other. Trust and believe they know who the culprit are. These people dont have any heart whatsoever and full of envy.. Omar Davis you see your error.should have gotten rid of them when you had the chance. Now the sore bruck out.

7. It is sad that these brutal crimes have been going on in Jamaica for decades now, 95% of them just didnt make the news. You would think times have modernize and people can drop info without fear of reprisal and they still wont. Lived in the Gaza for 37 years, there is an institutionalized fear that goes with talking up or against the “Dons”, but WHEN will this End?. Jamaicans can do so much better but yet they won’t. We have to get to the root of this behavior and it starts with gettting rid of the Garrisons, nuh Don nuh deh but Jesus

8. The ppl Dem that did this wicked act lives there but are long gone after their cruel act. One thing with the ghetto u always have a peeping tom so nobody cant tell me Dem dont see. I know thats for from the truth. R.I.P beautiful soul. Whats in the dark must come to light..