SUH JAMAICA SELL OUT THE COFFEE TO CHINA, WHY ELSE WOULD THEY BE BEGGING?

Jamaica Seeking US$100 Million From China For Coffee Industry

Minister of Industry, Commerce, Agriculture and Fisheries, Audley Shaw – File photo
A sum of US$100 million in grant funding has been requested from the Chinese Government to advance the development of the coffee industry.

Minister of Industry, Commerce, Agriculture and Fisheries, Audley Shaw, said the money will be used to rebuild the Jamaica Blue Mountain Coffee.

“I have already had discussions with the present owner of a large part of the Jamaica Blue Mountain Coffee system [in furtherance of this]. He has indicated to me that he is willing to look at us finding another partner to work with him to more aggressively build out the coffee industry,” he said.

Shaw was making his contribution to the 2019/20 Sectoral Debate in the House of Representatives on Tuesday.

He pointed out that similar partnerships are to be formed to build out other industries, including cocoa and pimento.

Meanwhile, Shaw indicated that a memorandum of understanding has been signed for the establishment of an agro-economic zone at Holland, St Elizabeth.

He said a similar agro-park in the parish, located at Ridge Pen in Hounslow, will be launched later in the fiscal year with a focus on the production of hot peppers and vegetables.

“The new Spring Gardens agro-park in Portland is 80 per cent established,” Shaw noted.

7 thoughts on “SUH JAMAICA SELL OUT THE COFFEE TO CHINA, WHY ELSE WOULD THEY BE BEGGING?

1. That’s a lot of money compounded with what we currently owe them. So china is granting us all these loans because they want to help our poor little island?

2. If dem waan shit dem send to China fi lend dem di paper fi wipe dem ass. Can’t they achieve anything without looking to China or anyone else for a loan? What if China did not exist or never had money how would they grow their agriculture sector.

3. I hope the minister of agriculture opens this deal to other prospective investors. So as to make the the best deal for the Jamaican people. There are other countries that are more renowned for coffee and would probably pay more while bring prestige. Not to mention coffee is a food product and Jamaica would be uniting itself with China’s food reputation. Let’s just hope this deal is a lease and not a buy.

4. Awwww boi! Mi seh when dem done wid we a it dat. I doe like di leaders we have we new ppl in power dem ones yah too selfish, slight an greedy an only care fi demselves and not the ppl I can’t stand it. Ppl unless we come out in many numbers and speak holding strong dem cyaah beat we trust me..but ppl are so far gone right now they might bash us for trying to take down this corrupted system.

5. Jamaican people wake up. You need to tell the government that you want more accountability on actions that theye are taking that will affect the island. They need to publish whatever deals they are making with othere countries so that the people can say whether they agree to it or not. Especially when they are giving away land to other countries tries.
    most countries especially USA and Theven UK are quite weasy of China and it is not without reasons. Jamaica, please don’t take China lightly, they are not going to help without them getting better value than what they are giving, and the only thing of value to them in jamaica is its Land, it’s close proximity to the USA is 99% for its interest.
    I can only blame the voters who continue to elect these people who does not seems to have Jamaica’s best interest at heart to represent them. If they had love the country and respect it’s citizen they would be making deals which would be for the benefit of the country and the citizen. Jamaican people need to demonstrate and let the government see that you are not in agreement in how theye are managing the country. Don’t wait for election.