Night of Horror
Sunday, August 25, was a night of horror that has left 64-year-old Morene Forrest traumatized and heartbroken, as gunmen snuffed out the life of her 68-year-old husband, Calvin Forrest, shattering the couple’s dream of living out the December of their years in the tranquil climes of Bastard Cedar Valley, Petersfield, Westmoreland.
“He was everything to me. We just returned here from England in June of 2018. So, it is just over a year since we have been back. We were living a simple life. He usually takes me out when he was not taking care of his animals. But we usually stay in otherwise. I am very sad, very sad, yes, but God has given me peace,” said a distraught Morene Forrest.
Reports indicate that about 8:15p.m on Sunday, Mr. Forrest went to the back of the yard to feed his pigs, and when he was returning, he was pounced upon by two men armed with guns, who held him at gunpoint and demanded money.
Forrest refused and the men put him to sit on the step and knocked on the back door.
Mrs. Forrest, who was inside, came and opened the door and was immediately confronted by the two men, one of whom pointed a gun at her and demanded money, which she refused. She managed to shut the door and called out for help. Not long after, explosions were heard outside.
The police were summoned and they came to the house where they saw Mr. Forrest lying on his back in a pool of blood with a gunshot wound to the forehead.
Mrs. Forrest recounted that when she opened the door the man who stuck the gun at her tried to force the door open to gain entry to the house. “I don’t know where I got the strength but I pushed it and closed it. I ran to the front and closed the grill and shouted ‘Help, thief!’, but nobody came. It was then I heard the explosion,” she recalled. “He had just gone out to feed the animals and then would come to bed,” she lamented.
The couple got married in 1992, and Mrs. Forrest said her husband of 27 years saved her life by staying outside with the men.
“He really saved my life. They kept on asking him to open the door but he said ‘No’. He knew I was inside. So right now, I don’t know what I am going to do. I know though that I need to give him a good send off.”
She said it was just two weeks ago that the house was broken into and her husband was slapped hard in the face.
this is so sad. we are going to loose to these thugs. can’t even come back and enjoy beautiful Jamaica in our old days! they are taking over. they are so badmind and grudgeful down there in Jamaica. The ppl who are returning are not rich. they just work really hard so they can live their dream. and the dream is to enjoy Jamaica in their old days. wait until foreign wicked ppl come over and tek over Jamaica and rid themselves of these thugs and gangsters. the Jamaican government will be in their pockets. watch and see. I hope they find the person who has done this. this was so evil. kmt
:bingung dis story nuh sound right…but condolences anyways
I agree with you. Seriously, how can someone have a gun pointed at you and you refuse to give them money or valuables? This don’t make sense to me. My life is priceless, so I would gladly give up any money I have in the house to save my life.
Maybe the husband didn’t want them to go inside and kill his wife and he had no money on him?
look at it from another perspective, some people would rather fight/die than to give in to demands like that
Those bastards are going to pay.
My god to thee them no wah wok,easy living them wah.What ah cruel act pon 2 old people, work hard all them life.
Jesus ah come fi him world ah dat mi know. Them no have parents, may the lady find peace.
I just don’t understand why the husband or the wife refuse the demand for money? Money will not bring back your husband.
“I know though that I need to give him a good send off.”
Really? Very strange thing to say when your husband was killed over money.
Cannot understand why people are retiring to that hell hole where as a returning resident, you have a bull-eyes on your back.
returning residents are targets. FLA don’t want to give gun permit to law abiding Jamaicans. Shawn Dalley safe with his gun.
Jah know star…
You know people get murdered for their license firearm too
I am so disgusted by these dirt bags. I am not perfect but God knows I couldnt kill an old man!!!! And yes Jesus is comming back I dnt know when but I pray we all be ready… until then things will get worst. We all need to get agressive with our prayer life.
I just can’t see why they both refused. :bingung can money be used after death or something that I CLEARLY don’t know ???
Imagine you born somewhere, go abroad, work and suffer with the hopes of coming home to relax in peace and this happens? I pray that men who did this pay with every inch of their spirit, if they haven’t already. This broke my heart.
Some people prefer money over them life, some people are delusional over money….
The world belings to God, not jesus.
I desired to retire in Jamaica. But no longer.