AN EXPERIENCE AT PUERTO SECO BEACH

Carl Whyte

This is a true story: #andrewholness #peterphillips #edbartlet #wykehammcneill

We went to Puerto Seco Beach on Friday March 9, to have a family reunion on the beach in celebration of a family member’s birthday. Our first surprise was a fee of $1000.00 per adult to enter. We pointed out that a member of our party had seen an admission fee of $500.00 on a website. After conversations back and forth, the birthday girl was allowed to enter free of charge, 5 persons were allowed to pay $500.00 and all the others paid $1000.00 each. It was a party of about 15 persons. Persons with identification to prove that they are from the surrounding area could have received a slight discount as well, but none of us qualified for that, although our family has its roots in St Ann. Out on the beach, we had to rent chaise lounges for over $1000 each, if I am not mistaken. We were presented with a menu priced in US$ in the event that we would want to place orders for meals.

After we bathed and completed our review of our family history and traditions, in keeping with a longtime Jamaican family tradition at Puerto Seco and other beaches, we sought to enjoy the picnic lunch we had brought with us. Seeing that things were much different from what we were accustomed to in the past, out of courtesy, we advised the staff that we would be retrieving our picnic lunch from a vehicle to enjoy it on the beach. They advised us that this was against their rules as no guests are allowed to bring food onto the property. We objected and they said we could speak with the manager. The manager walked by and said she would be back but she never returned to speak with us.

We took our lunch to the beach and were enjoying it when members of the staff from the office came to advise us that we were breaching their rules and warned us to desist or they would have to take action. We noticed that some security guards were standing a little distance away. A family member indicated that we would be finished with lunch in another 20 minutes and the staff retreated. Some minutes later 2 security guards came to advise that we were breaching their rules and we needed to leave the property as closing time was 4:00 pm. Another family member, who happens to be a lawyer, pointed out that the guard’s statement was in contradiction to a sign which did not have a closing time on it but indicated that a lifeguard would be available until 5:00 pm. After a while the guards retreated. We finished our late lunch, packed up and left, ensuring that we left no trash behind.

Our experience brought home to me the importance of the campaign for free public access to beaches around the island. All Jamaicans, rich or poor should enjoy our beaches without any hassle and they should be free to bring their own picnic lunches as is our tradition. Most Jamaicans cannot afford the price of food available from the restaurants at the restricted beaches.

We question the right of any Jamaican government to turn over our beaches to private operators who charge high entry fees and restrict us from bringing our own refreshment which is a longstanding Jamaican tradition. This is something that families have been doing for many generations. Until fairly recently the beach was the one place that ordinary Jamaicans could go to relax freely and now all around the island, we are being restricted from enjoying this resource which is a gift from nature. There is no excuse for leasing our beaches to private companies who can then charge prohibitive admission fees and prevent us from bringing our own refreshment. The people of Jamaica must reclaim our beaches. We must take a leaf out of the book of the people of Portland who fought to keep Winnifred Beach public. Our beaches are not just for tourists and the wealthy. They are for all Jamaicans to enjoy.

In closing, let me say that we do not have an issue with the staff at Puerto Seco Beach. We realize that they were all just doing their jobs as politely as possible. They have been placed in the awkward position of explaining and enforcing policies which restrict ordinary Jamaicans from enjoying the beach, people of the same background from which they come.

Ka’Bu Ma’at Kheru Running African – The IRIE FM Forum

Written by Mutty Ranks

9 thoughts on “AN EXPERIENCE AT PUERTO SECO BEACH

1. Not just Puerto Seco. Other beaches on the North Coast do the same exact thing. Gotta rent chair and pay to go in. Imagine. Smh. Shame Shame indeed.

2. I support you 100%, Mutty. What an awful experience you and your family had. Jamaica is not awashed in public parks and free recreational spaces that ppl of all income levels can use. The beaches, rivers and local waterfalls are often the only spaces available for recreation. This quest to make every beach and water space a for pay to access just grind my gears, it truly angers me how something humans did not create and that is therapeutic and beneficial to all is commercialized so that someone can boast of their wealth and acquisition. Where are the poor and working poor supposed to take their families? The govt has not invested in public parks or national parks, where are the museums with their free days? Where are the community centers? Where are the free movies in the park? Where are the free concerts/recreational events for families to enjoy? The beach is the only free space that we have ever had for enjoyment and they are slowly taking that away. When stress levels reach pressure point and there is no outlet for release cause no money is available to even go ketch a meds on a beach for a day is sure death. That’s why we have 40yr Olds having devastating strokes on the island more regularly. There has to be free spaces/events that the average person can access to enhance their quality of life and for stress management. FREE THE BEACHES!!!!

3. Had a similar experience in Falmouth Burwood beach last summer i went to Jamaica on vacation with my daughters.I had my Jamaican ID but my two daughters didn’t have any Jamaican Identification.The security told me i had to pay $1000 per child bare in mind my daughters were 7&11 years old.I told him i will not pay that for them to enter because the beach is suppose to be public space and even if they don’t have any Jamaican ID the price is not acceptable .The security started to cursed me,telling me if i cannot afford $2000 i should go back home with my children, the most nasty words were coming from his mouth.I kept my cool and made a call to a police friend of mine and explained what happened.He came and identified himself and asked the security what happened and why he was behaving in such manner.He was like am sorry boss i was just having a bad day sorry it won’t happen again.I took my children and left.The kids were so shocked.I told myself that day i will never return to Burwood Beach.Unfornately he got shot by another Jamaican he disrespected few days later .Something needs to be done it cannot continue were Jamaicans cannot go to the Beach and enjoy a day without hassle.

4. The illiterate hurry come up Security should a get two box down, a true nuh Jamaican thug neva there with you that’s why they could take advantage of you like that.

My 2cents just go Dunn;s River and pay your money , far nicer beach.

5. Was just thinking, someone should organise a mass protest where every Jamaican and him dog descend on the beaches en masse and see what these extortionists would do, I would hope they would be foolish enough to injure a member of the protest for which they would receive pure bottles and stones anD even death because that is what is deserved by anyone who seeks to deny us of our god given beaches.

6. This is wrong,the whole set up n not just that Ill mannered dearly departed security guard.No one pays the environment n environmental ppl any mind in Jamaica Nowadays.NEPA has no teeth whatsoever cuz breaches galore n corruption is the order of the day.

7. We need a full boycott of Peurto Seco beach by all Jamaicans. We should all refrain from paying this large sum to enjoy our island I live in the area and they wanted to take over the whole beach front where is our government what are they doing than spend taxpayer and have a good time in Gordon House while the country is taken by crooks in white collar, upper class and the well to do.

8. Well I am from trelawny where I see a lot of foolishness going on at burwood one time we go in free without paying any cash now if we don’t have no money don’t visit burwood nor Puerto seco beach am telling you guys it better you all go to little Dunn’s river in st Ann where you don’t pay any money only a $1000 to rent the chairs and dats it we need to speak up n stop let white take over our country all the PM do a sit pon him ass not doing anything wait is jus a matter of time