Jamaican reggae icon Buju Banton ran through the full gamut of human emotion during his headline performance at the I Am Legend – The Return concert on Easter Sunday evening at the Queen’s Park Savannah, Port of Spain on Sunday 21, April.
Buju, real name Mark Myrie, held little back during a raw and forthright display in front of thousands of local reggae fans. True to its world tour title, his stage show mirrored his personal life experiences along a Long Walk to Freedom.
During the opening sequence to his 90-minute set, questioned the validity of the search of his hotel room asking the massive 25,000 plus audience: “Who gave the order”. He ironically followed the question with his hit song “Close One Yesterday”.
Police Commissioner Gary Griffith subsequently visited the singer on Saturday evening and publically apologized for the search saying: “Nothing was found”.
Buju invited Griffith to join him on stage during the concert at the Queens Park Savannah saying: “Mr Commissioner, Tell the people of Trinidad and Tobago that all is well and it ended well.”
Griffith obliged, welcoming visitors from across the world that came to T&T for the show before quoting a line from Buju’s 1992 hit collaboration with Jamaican crooner Beres Hammond “Who Say”.
“Buju Banton I will take a line from your song. How can you ever think, Trinidad and Tobago, don’t ever doubt we are your friends,” Griffith said before shaking hands with the tall dreadlocked performer.
Hundreds of Trinidad and Tobago citizens took to social media to voice displeasure, outrage and embarrassment over the police search. Buju, however, asked his fans to let bygones be bygones.
Express Photographer CURTIS CHASE attended the concert and captured these images.
Dutty Trinidad we nuh accept unuh apology . Cause we Nuh deal wid machel, bunji, and fayon dem so
NOOOICE
Trinidad has always loved and embraced Reggae and Respected the culture .
Several Jamaican artists have made Trinidad their second home like Dawit Congo..
People like Jah Cure are also known to visit very often because of the love and warmth received for Jamaican culture and music .
Everyone is upset this happened to Buju. I think even the commissioner is sincere and from his excitement you can tell he is a Buju Banton fan too.
Who call the search shot ?
Investigations still open. It can be anyone from anywhere in the world’, but the Trini cops still screwed up by stressing the man in his hotel
Who the hell is Dawit Congo?
I don’t know what happened to him in prison, but he is ten times more handsome than he has ever been. Hope his blessings continue higher and higher and greater and greater.
Nothing negative happened to Buju in prison. That is facts all across the board. He had time to relax and gain more knowledge about the world and the many ways of mankinds wickedness.
Many men age handsomely and he is one fi true. Llolol
P.S. me wouldn’t put the search passt a fake call from a blood… :maho
Stop bashing di fans in Trinidad dem never authorize nuh search an dem never support such behavior from di cops, dem turnout in thousands in support of our artis , we are all one Caribbean ppl.
Trinidad does NOT like Jamaica, full stop. They consistently treat our artists like trash while we show theirs love. We don’t want their damn apology. Mad because JA is #1 in the Carib. Always mad.
Exactly. Dem nuh like we and we nuh like dem. All who were involved need Fi phuck off with Dem annoying accent. Jealousy is a bit!h.
As a trini we always show love. Are you a c#&t?? The turn out speaks for itself now whoever want to keep talking shit about Trinidad at the end of the day look at facts. Anywhere Buju goes now he is under scrutiny by law enforcement and immigration.you feel if he go Europe or Canada they will treat him nice? I don’t believe he was guilty of any drug offense but the u.s says different and unfortunately that carries weight, like it or not. The police has nothing to do with the fans and if it bother you so much then the 25k supporters who pay their general admission, vip and super vip to see him should be refunded and let no other artist come. Since you ignorant like. This is business bitch, never personal! For!
Another mad Trini⬆️
Well done My “imaginary husband” .
Very mature of you, in that order moving on.