AN elderly British national and his wife were brutally hacked to death in the quiet village of Carnbee in Tobago.
Attorney Richard Wheeler, 73, and his wife, Grace Wheeler, 67, were found murdered at their Riseland Gardens, Carnbee, home yesterday morning.
Wheeler, who was originally from Sheffield, England, was a partner in the Tobago law offices of Lex Caribbean and specialised in conveyancing and property development.
His wife was a real estate agent attached to Island Investments.
They had been living in Tobago for the past 16 years.
The couple was attacked by unknown assailants between Monday night and early yesterday morning.
Attorney Martin George said Crime Stoppers was offering a reward for information that could help solve the murders.
“In my capacity as the (Tobago House of Assembly) representative on the board of Crime Stoppers, I have been able to get the board to agree to offer a special reward of $100,000 for information leading to the arrest and capture of the suspects in this matter,” said George.
Become a subscriber to the Trinidad Express Newspapers for access to all our articles via our e-paper.
Just sad!
Sad indeed!!
Nutten protect you from deze animals no more, not age, gender, disability, nutten. First time when you was an elder you were guaranteed a peaceful life till the end, nowadays no such guarantee.
Again!!!!! Trinidad have one serious serial killer over there. .. no de oddah day dem fine one next white couple chop up pon di beach.. Mett ran the story about it a couple months back. .
Brutal and sadistic crime !!!
Tragic. Trinidad is getting more brutal with the crime .
This needs to be investigated. You are right. I thought the same thing if this is a serial killer in Tobago . Disturbing, similar crime happened and the killers still on the run .
I wonder if it can be business related ?