DEM SEH BEWARE OF GAS PAN CHALLENGE

IMG-20150625-WA013
A gas company is distancing itself from the informal ‘Gas Pan Challenge’, and is warning against the growing trend of lifting the cylinders at events.

It has subsequently issued a warning against the practice of lifting LPG cylinders, as well as individuals taking them to events, in what is believed to be a growing trend.

Our news team understands that photos of persons posing with liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) cylinders at events and different locations in Jamaica have been dominating social media under the hashtag #GasPanChallenge.

Concern regarding

Local gas retailers, GAS Pro Limited, in an interview with THE STAR, said they were not aware of a trend, except that a certain photo was brought to their attention. However, they questioned its authenticity.

Commercial director for Gas Pro, Rohan Ambersley, said, however, that their concern regarding the practice surrounds two things.

Ambersley said, “The idea of physically lifting a cylinder and the eventuality of it falling on someone’s toes or some other parts of the body can lead to physical damage.”

He continued, “Also, the cylinder is built with a certain level of protection, ensuring gas doesn’t escape. Parties are an uncontrolled environment, so we don’t promote the practice in the interest of public safety. At Gas Pro, we are big on safety, and carrying a cylinder to a party is not something to do.”

Dangerous

Dancehall artiste Ding Dong has been promoting slangs like ‘gas’ and ‘gas up’ in recent times, but he stressed that he has not been promoting the practice.

“I’m a brand ambassador, so I wouldn’t promote anything negative. I want people to practise safety because I don’t want to see anybody get harm by it,” he said.

And while he acknowledges the concerns of Gas Pro, Ding Dong said a gas cylinder can also be dangerous in the home if it is not handled with care.

“If somebody lean up beside it and tek a picture wid it, it is harmless,” he added.

He explained that the slang ‘gas’ means “going harder, to hype up, not literally fi go throw gas pon sup’m”.

“I don’t mean for people to live dangerous. I don’t even tell anybody fi bring a gas cylinder to a party,” Ding Dong said, adding that he is surprised by the growing trend.

0 thoughts on “DEM SEH BEWARE OF GAS PAN CHALLENGE