For most Jamaicans, it is a way of life that would be unthinkable, but, forced by circumstances, it is a life which Karen Thomas has lived for the past 14 years. She lives in a cemetery.
As she stirred a pot with leftover curried chicken back and rice, Thomas listened attentively to an old radio atop a nearby tomb which would serve as her dining table for a lunchtime meal in the May Pen Cemetery in west Kingston.
Her house is an old concrete frame, bereft of windows, doors, and even a sturdy roof; which in yesteryear served as one of the administrative quarters for cemetery staff.
For all his life, the only place that ‘Bobby’ has called home has been the Chinese Cemetery on Waltham Park Road in the Corporate Area.
With nothing to compare it with, Bobby feels quite at home in the cemetery, which he says has been home to three generations of his family and which provides a sanctuary for residents of nearby communities.
“People come over here like every day, come sit down on the tombs and read a book,” said the 31-year-old cemetery caretaker, who declined to give his correct name even as he declared proudly that three generations of his relatives have served as caretakers at the facility.
“I born at (Victoria) Jubilee (hospital) but is over here me come live from that. Is here I sleep, get ready for school a day time and everything,” he said, explaining that his great grandfather was the second caretaker at the cemetery.
His great-grandfather’s uncle or cousin – Bobby is not sure – was the first caretaker.
Bobby took charge of the cemetery in 2013 after his grandfather retired. He lives at a recently built premises on the property with his girlfriend, and has no intention of relocating any time soon.
“Me alright. Me nuh believe inna duppy. From I born and live here neither me nor any of my relative dem ever see a duppy, and none a di people dem never say dem see none yet. So dem cyaan move me.” he said.
“Children come and dem play football and cricket; all pon the tomb dem the likkle girl dem play dolly house,” added Bobby.
Compared to the May Pen Cemetery which is a short distance away, the Chinese Cemetery is well kept with no visible signs of overgrown bushes, when our news team visited recently. Nor was there any visibly broken tombs.
The Chinese Cemetery has a functioning perimeter fence and there were no signs that homeless people have taken refuge inside the facility.
According to Bobby, he mans the main entrance to the
As she stirred a pot with leftover curried chicken back and rice, Thomas listened attentively to an old radio atop a nearby tomb which would serve as her dining table for a lunchtime meal in the May Pen Cemetery in west Kingston.
I am very thankful and will be praying for people in the world who are less fortunate. These are stories that needs to be shared with children as sometime the choices they make can be very devastating.
Never knew this was a reality for others. Nobody should have to live in a place designated for the dead.
Big lunch…
Afterall, GOD always protect his people no matter how terrible the storm seem to be.
Laugh I agree with you. I am tired of telling my son that he has it good in uncle Sam land.