DEM WAA KNOW HOW LONG BEFORE JAMAICA RECOGNIZES SAME COUPLE MARRIAGE

RINGS

ESCAPE HELL! EVERYTING FARRIN KETCH JAMAICA WAA RUN WID IT.. DEM WANT IT LOOK LIKE IF YUH NUH GAY OR ACKNOWLEDGE IT YUH NUH UP TO DI TIME..WELL I WILL STAY BEHIND DI TIME THANK YOU

On June 26, 2015, the United States Supreme Court held in a 5-4 decision that the 14th Amendment of the US Constitution requires all states to grant same-sex marriages and recognise same-sex marriages granted in other states.

In doing so, the Supreme Court overturned its prior decision in 1972 in a case called Baker v Nelson, one of the first attempts by a homosexual couple, Jack Baker and Michael McConnell, to secure a licence for a same-sex marriage. It failed at the time primarily on grounds that marriage was to be between a man and a woman.

“Their (same-sex couples) hope is not to be condemned to live in loneliness, excluded from one of civilisation’s oldest institutions. They ask for equal dignity in the eyes of the law. The Constitution grants them that right,” wrote Justice Anthony Kennedy in his 2015 opinion on the law.

The US decision called Obergefell has, predictably, launched an intense debate not only in the US but across the world, particularly among Christians, with some describing it as “tragic” and a “grave error”; while gays and pro-gay groups have ecstatically embraced it.

Jamaicans appear to be taking their time to digest the US Supreme Court’s ruling, but the debate here can be expected to be no less intense. It is an extension of the vigourously contested views on the legalisation of homosexuality, as proposed in the call to strike down laws against buggery.

We suspect that the US decision will impact Jamaica and the Caribbean sooner than later, given that hundreds of Americans come here to get married in the idyllic conditions offered by year-round warm sea, sand and sun with which we are blessed. The economic bonanza alone will make it hard to say no.

The real question will be how long before Jamaica follows America in legalising same-sex marriages.

For its part, the United States has come a long way since May 18, 1970 when Jack Baker and Michael McConnell climbed the steps of the Minneapolis courthouse, paid the required fee of US$10, and applied, unsuccessfully, for a marriage licence. Reports said the county clerk Gerald Nelson told them bluntly that marriage was for people of the opposite sex.

The Supreme Court’s decision is a dramatic indication of how views have changed in America in the 45 years since. Jamaicans, despite unfortunate labels of being homophobic, have also grown in their tolerance of the gay lifestyle. It is worthy of notice that the days of violence against homosexuals seem to be well behind us and there is now a greater acceptance of the value of dialogue on this issue.

Indeed, that was the experience of Messrs Randy Berry and Todd Larson, the US Government LGBTI advocates who visited Jamaica in May this year.

0 thoughts on “DEM WAA KNOW HOW LONG BEFORE JAMAICA RECOGNIZES SAME COUPLE MARRIAGE

1. This will happen sooner than you think because Jamaica only have 3 main sources of income and that’s remittance , tourism and IMF money. The IMF can put pressure on Jamaica to change the law and cite human rights violations. Also Jamaica is not in a position to stop it from happening when there is so much foreign ownership of the land and resources. This is much bigger than these politicians because they don’t have power when they sold out the country. It’s the foreign influence that will cause gay marriage to happen in Jamaica.

1. A good example of how much of Jamaica is already sold out is back in 2012 it was in the Gleaner that a lesbian couple from Brooklyn flew down to Jamaica and had their marriage ceremony done. That was after they completed their legal paperwork in New York first. The name of the venue in Jamaica is the Silver Sands in Trelawny and that resort is foreign owned.

2. Sooner than you think. Big, big Sandals International now allows reservations for homosexual couples. I know of people who want to leave because having to clean up after two men or two women is sickening.Unfortunately, they have kids to support so they have to bite their tongues.

I wouldn’t be surprised if they have had gay marriage packages (not legally binding) at some of the Sandals hotels.

3. now i’m mad leave us alone we love all people gay or straight but we don’t have to change our believes god set it why you want us to wrack it?

4. Dem can change it but people in jam nah accept dat.dem n dem batty man ting.bun fire pan dat .a pure war would be in jam .the hotel in tourist resort accepts gays that deosnt mean the workers do .dem batty man talk yah sick my stomach