DICE IN THE GHETTO

Good day Shani,
I’m fast approaching 40yo so I expect things n times to change in Jamaica. I never dream muchless expect I would see the American gangs’ game of shooting dice taking root a yard.Can u imagine my heartstopping shock to see a group of 14 teens some as young as 11yo gambling.Met dem block off di entire road di way dem nuff n me see some $500 a bet.Even a couple of university students deh dere!
It is times like these u wonder about the direction our Jamaica is going in cuz I had enuff clout to mash up di gambling n run dem off the street. However when u see the Don’s rt hand man a bet him $200 too,something tells u to mind ur own bizness. Pernel Charles was on Cvm@Sunrise a week ago n said he passed a group of about 20 or so of young men n women on a bridge in his constituency. Pernel said the boys were rubbing out their hand middle(weed no doubt) and the girls were frol‎icking about in short,tight clothing on a weekday.He inquired of them n several of them had subjects but they all complained of a lack of opportunity to further their education or get work. One guy rubbing out his weed had 14 Subjects!!
The violent gambling of shooting dice has found its way to the already violent Ghetto yutes!I weep for my country!
DICE

9 thoughts on “DICE IN THE GHETTO

1. I hope something is done about opening more jobs for the men and women to find work to take care of home, their children and themselves… I know someone looking for work and hasn’t been able to find anything he can do and since I don’t know JA I tried to give him some areas that I had frequent when I was there to go and see if they are hiring you never know… I also asked is their help wanted in the newspaper, has anything caught your eye… I know it is hard out there like it is hard out here in the states because it is not easy as well, it’s not no bed a roses… I pray that God removes Donald Trump and he is not appointed because this man will turn everything around to the plantation days and no one of color has a chance along with the illegals…

2. stop blame jobs most of those ppl just dont waan work YES the pay might be small but dem mek up dem mind seh dem na work fi dat dem want big and fast cash me can tell yu bout nuff a dem cuz mi know sum a dem

3. Playing dice is not a gang thing, all sorts of people play Ceelo in the states. It’s the same as playing dominoes, Ludee or any card game for money in Jamaica. Gambling is a big part of most societies and Jamaica is no different.

4. When I tell ppl what I was making when I just started working as a PA at my company they laughed and called me an idiot. I stuck it through and now I’m in management earning five times as much.some of them don’t have the endurance or the humility to start from small

5. Some of these able – bodied young people don’t want to work. Begging is the new way of survival now. When yu nuh give it to some a dem, dem ready fe disrespect yu, and mek it look like yu never help dem yet.

6. I remember my first little job in Ja.N mi av one friend who wasnt working she use to beg mi a 50 r fi buy are abox food. Which i gladly obliged.And one day I told her that they hiring where I work. at the time I was making 2G. The girl say she not getting up out her bed for that. Mi love u know say not even the free bun n milk she couldn’t get from me again. So I do believe that some can get work. They want to start as Managers just coming out of high school. And it doesn’t work like that. They not humble n they in this rush to get rich quick.