A 47-year-old state correction officer shot herself to death outside a Queens prison early Tuesday after firing at her ex-boyfriend and riddling his car with bullets, officials said.
Gunfire erupted outside the Queensboro Correctional Facility on Van Dam St. near 47th Ave. in Long Island City at about 6:30 a.m., officials said.
Dramatic video obtained by the Daily News captured the officer – in uniform – jogging down the street with a gun in her hand. Her name was not immediately released.
“She wasn’t saying anything. She had a determined look on her face like she wanted this guy dead,” said witness Darison Abreu, 27.
She opened fire on her ex, a correction officer who dressed in a white shirt, gray hoodie and Yankees cap, sending him scurrying for cover, sources said. He was not injured.
“They weren’t too far apart, maybe 30 feet,” Abreu said. “He was running straight.”
One of the bullets struck Abreu’s car.
“I had my arm on the door when the bullet hit it,” Abreu said. “I felt the vibration in my arm. He was so close, I could’ve opened the door and hit him.”
The shooter left briefly, came back, reloaded and pumped bullets into his car — then shot herself in the chest, sources said.
“She fired a lot of shots. She emptied out that clip,” Abreu said. “She dropped something, but I couldn’t see what it was. She made it about 150 feet down the block and I heard two or three more shots. A guy started yelling, ‘The lady shot herself! Call an ambulance!’”
Abreu called 911. “The lady on the phone was saying, ‘Where did she shoot herself? Is she bleeding?’ I went up to her on the ground.”
The correction officer was on her back, face up, her eyes half open.
“She wasn’t saying nothing,” Abreu said. “She was breathing, though. I was trying to see where exactly she was shot, but the other correction officers were pushing me back.”
Paramedics rushed her to Elmhurst Hospital Center, but she could not be saved, officials said.
“This morning there was a tragic incident outside of the Queensboro Correctional Facility involving two correction officers,” said Thomas Mailey, a spokesman for the state Department of Correctional Services and Community Supervision.
“At no time was security to the facility breached. As a precaution, the facility is operating on a modified schedule. The Department is assisting the New York City Police Department in its investigation.”
The state Correctional Officers and Police Benevolent Association did not have immediate comment.
Wassem Moarsi, 32, who owns Sensible Edibles Wholesale Bakery near the scene of the shooting, said the gunfire shocked him.
“We have correction officers here, uniformed guys with guns around all the time,” he said. “You feel safe. But shots fired? That’s crazy. We never thought a gun would go off.”
Damn what could have happened for her to go through that extreme though
So she dead and di intended target didn’t even get hit? Smh
Men are dog shit. Good morning Met and Metters
Bwoy girl I can only imagine the shit whey that dutty dog put you through miss since you did plan fi kill you self why the hell you miss…..rip miss…..Mr Neva know you but that ole piece shit must have made your life a living hell fi you tek it so far