Health Minister Dr Fenton Ferguson on Tuesday raised a few eyebrows when he said in an address to Parliament that the public should be aware that the babies who have died as a result of the klebsiella bacteria are “not babies in the real sense”.
He said they are in fact premature, which results in their immune systems being severely compromised.
Members of the Opposition, riled at Ferguson’s comment, rejected the minister’s explanation with the Opposition Leader Andrew Holness calling for him to resign.
Karl Samuda lashed out at Ferguson, telling him to man up and apologise to the mothers whose babies died of the bacteria in both the Cornwall Regional Hospital and the University Hospital of the West Indies.
During the flurry, Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller broke her silence on the issue, saying she’s “deeply saddened” by what has happened.
Nineteen babies have died since the outbreak, the latest reportedly being today.
David Wright
What kind of babies were they sir, cause I had a pre-mature baby who is 28 years old.
So, now it’s a toss up as to whether Portia or Fenton is Jamaica’s dumbest Member of Parliament. Since Fenton is a trained dentist, I have a feeling that his statement is not so much lack of intellect but dementia setting in. Portia is not as bright as the premature babies, but in her defense, she would not have said something so insensitive and retarded.
I hope every single one of those ‘not so real babies’ haunt di SH!T outta him bout not babies in the real sense!
Mi have ah 16 year old premature baby inna my house ah nyam down di place & him is QUITE REAL!!! Him born 2lbs. 15oz & now him bigger than some ah him classmate whe gooda was born full term!
You see how him mouth favor dem infected, done out pumpum……
Go home Fenton, you’re drunk!
Fenton not drunk he is displaying what many jamaicans do on a daily basis…have no regard for human life..
Shakes Hand!
That’s exactly weh me seh! Honestly… It’s something my grandmother would say in passing… We are a desensitized nation.
Exactly MET
him sick mi frigging stomach in every way possible ..i have living proof in my family where the baby born at 23 weeks and he is very much living and doing as shouldd such mi know weh dis germs mean by
Let’s not forget that Dr. Ferguson is not a medical doctor “in the real sense.” He’s a dental surgeon by profession. How that makes him qualified to run the ministry of health? I don’t know. One thing’s for sure: the prime minister is very loyal to her confederates whether they be incompitent or downright dark and inconsiderate.
I don’t think we need a medical doctor as Health Minister. One of the largest, best run health systems in the World, the US Department of Health & Human Services has had only a few medical doctors as Secretaries. From a discussion, I understand only about 2 or 3 of the 22 Secretaries had medical training.
And in our local Ministry, I know that most of the Health Ministers have not been medical doctors. I remember both Peter Phillips and John Junor were Ministers of Health at some point in the Patterson Administration.
This man that calls himself the Five Star General is just incompetent and we have a Prime Minister that doesn’t demand accountability. PSM need to send him home. Although, I’m willing to bet that even if she fires him, he’ll end up as some Ambassador or High Commissioner very shortly.
Friggin abhorrent.. but that merely shows the way he perceives the people to whom he has given nothing but dishonourable dis-service
Fenton muss be higher than a kite, a few days ago he was sorry for the parents because he has child/children of him own, so all of a sudden them are not ‘babies” then wat are they, prey tell Sar…a tell you bout the people wah call demself representatives of the people..dis man muss be drinking some mad puss piss, wat a sad stay mi country innah…Dear God, please help our people and keep dem safe from these evil doers…
Wow he should indeed resign. How him fi seh dat?! I love my premature grand nephew so much, he is very real and so are the 18 babies that died. Shame on you Fenton Ferguson!
Those remarks are downright inhumane & insensitive. Fenton Ferguson is an unfeeling, unthinking baffoon. A dem ppl yah Portia have a lead a ministry weh cant even measure up to them obligation. Sir plz let us have your resignation letter. Thanks in advance