FIGHTING FOR A TITLE BUT NOT FOR THE MUSIC

The other day someone sent me an email asking me to speak on the condition of dancehall’s music today.I will speak on it at a later date but I want to ask to know why everyone is searching for a title without a catalog?
I was browsing the other day and see Alkaline that still dorky on stage calling himself ”Young Lawd” and I was taken a back because his music is on the road but he has made no marks in dancehall yet but he is cooning after a title.
Spice calls herself the ”New Dancehall Queen” when no one was dethroned for that title to have been given to her, she herself lacks a catalog ….but she has worked and worked hard…

Mavado who I must admit that Im so disappointed in calls himself ”Gully Gad”, whose title went beyond the music because we now find out that he was to become ”don” of the gully/Cassava piece.

Popcaan hastags himself as the ”demigod” also without a worthy catalog. He has had more than one album but still nothing that is worthy of playing 3-4-5 years from now.

Shenseea wants to be called Dancehall princess and has not done 5 years on dancehall’s stage nor does she have a catalog.
Those who have not been mentioned we see you and we have heard. The whole string of Jamaica’s entertainers are after a title but have no music to back up what they are seeking after. Its a title that is headed to nowhere and the music is still in the keyboards battling for life.

When is Dancehall’s resurrection ? Its funeal has been long , drawn out, dead yard has been kept and no duppy came to respond to its murder..What about the music?? None of you are doing that can keep Jamaica on the map but you are after a title because a few mindless people on social media look up to you? COME ON :travel

One thought on “FIGHTING FOR A TITLE BUT NOT FOR THE MUSIC