F***ING DISGRACE…IM SO MAD…WOMAN WAS STRANDED IN JAMAICA FOR 9 YEARS..(WINDRUSH)

A Jamaican woman has finally been allowed to return to the United Kingdom after what was supposed to be a short visit to the island nearly a decade ago.

Gretel Gocan, who is part of the Windrush generation, said she left the UK to attend a funeral in Jamaica in 2009 and was not allowed back.

Like others from the so-called Windrush generation — named after the ship that brought over the first group of West Indian immigrants — Gretel went the UK with a Jamaican passport containing a stamp giving her indefinite leave to remain.

According to UK reports, her document was stolen in a 2006 burglary and she was told she would not be given a UK passport and would need a visa on her new Jamaican passport.

When she tried to board a flight back to the UK in 2009, she was told she did not have the correct documentation, sparking years of heartbreak for her and her family.

She was eventually granted a passport after the scandal broke recently and the emotional pensioner said it was “good to be back” as family members greeted her at Gatwick Airport last Thursday.

“Seeing her come through arrivals, it was incredibly emotional. It’s been an emotional rollercoaster these past few weeks. We’ve been trying for nine years to sort this out. I’m incredibly happy there’s been a result.

“For such a long amount of time it felt like it was block, block, block when it came to getting her back,” said Gocan’s daughter-in-law.

Cases like Gocan’s came to the fore a few weeks and was dubbed the Windrush scandal”, where many were threatened and targeted by immigration laws intended to create a “hostile environment” for illegal immigrants, which included deportation and lost access to healthcare and benefits.

The hard-line policy was pioneered after the centre-right Conservative Party retook power in 2010 by then interior minister Theresa May.

May, apologised for “for any anxiety that has been caused” and her government eventually agreed to formalise following the controversy that erupted over the so-called undocumented UK immigrants.

4 thoughts on “F***ING DISGRACE…IM SO MAD…WOMAN WAS STRANDED IN JAMAICA FOR 9 YEARS..(WINDRUSH)

1. I’ve read where they committed to financial compensation so dem need to hurry up and sort out the lady to ease the pain and suffering endured.Hopefully it’s six figures and no less!!

2. May should be kissing these ppl’s feet fi build up old dutty England so she could be prime minster today. I know nuff ppl who went over there and the tales they told about the state of England, the dutty smokey coal plants, the thick fog, the filthiness of the ppl many who only took baths once a week, homes without proper heating. These ppl worked their asses off to take England out of it’s shithouse status and meck it somewhere, and look how dem treating the ppl. Dis tuff face ooman and her ruling party going after soft targets which these ppl are, these seniors and di likkle pension and healthcare dem fi get after they built the country they want to deny them of it. I tell you that country never intrigued me for a reason.

3. Everyday I’m thankful that I never landed in the UK or the United States. This is beyond disgraceful. That wretch Theresa May… :marah

4. Shoulda can sue dem, even fi some pain an suffering. Look how long dem mek di lady affi separate from har family. Dem abuse di tings an mess up ppl lives over a freaking piece of plastic.