A first-time visitor to the island was reportedly raped and robbed by an unknown assailant, who forced his way into the house in which she was staying near the old Forum Hotel in Portmore, St Catherine.
The young woman, who is her 30s, was on vacation. The rapist is believed to have jumped the perimeter fencing of the yard in which she was staying, before gaining access to the house.
Residents said the incident is the latest in a string of criminal activities to which they have been exposed.
Assistant Superintendent of Police Dahlia Garrick, head of the Corporate Communi-cations Unit of the Jamaica Constabulary Force, said investigations are ongoing.
LACK OF SECURITY
“She is a visitor to the island. Our information is that she was s*xually assaulted during the robbery. The man broke into the house and she was in the room. He entered the room with a knife gave her certain instructions and then proceeded to rape her. He also took three cell phones,” the cop said.
THE WEEKEND STAR gathered that US$600 (J$76,200) was also stolen from the house.
A resident of the area told THE WEEKEND STAR that the community is in fear as the lack of security makes them vulnerable to attacks.
“They broke into three homes recently. It is something that has been going on for sometime now. The first time the woman a come a Jamaica and get rape. That nuh look good. It could happen to anyone. This needs to fix,” the resident said.
Why first time visiting and she staying alone in a house in Portmore!! Look like whoever found her the place to stay was behind this incident, if it is your first time stay with Family or a Hotel..poor women, must have been terrifying.
So it’s her fault? Suppose she don’t have any family and can’t afford hotel? I would never travel to a country where I have to stay on a hotel or with family to ensure my safety. Joke ting dat
This is past disgraceful. This poor woman is traumatized beyond our comprehension. Jamaica is now a black stain in her soul. Something has to be done. Jlp & Pnp have to put aside politics and solve the scourge of the nation, CRIME. Both laourite and Pnp a dead. Senseless killings, rapes, robbery, unchecked can lead to anarchy. Tourism will eventually be affected, the bread & butter for many Jamaicans. Jah know mi heart a bleed fi Island.
labourite and pnp followers a dead. labourite and pnp politicians nah dead and thru dem nah get affected directly they don’t give a f**k
Poor thing. How she end up there in the first place? More questions than answers. I wish her a speedy and full recovery from that traumatic experience.
Who comes to vacation in Jamaica and stay in Portmore???? Where she got that idea from
F**KA DEM…. no say so ppl a farrin buy place a ja its locked up nutten naw gwan an dem ketch a fool who neva kno nobody fi ask bout ova deh so, anything can happen anyweh but fuss time visiting the person who rent her there with mountain around deh so coming like dead end,, its even worse to a dead stranger to the island
also it can be capture dem capture ppl place an a rent it.. the rass thief see the woman and time crank her… dem tek the woman mek guinea pig.. isn’t there the haciendas are near the old forum hotel, dem tek long fi fix up deh so,, FI PUT FARRINA DEH SO IS PUTTIN BUTTER IN PUSS MOUTH.. NO WEH NO SAFE. WATCH YOU SURROUNDINGS A 28 YEARS MI LEF DEH AN MI VISIT ALMOST EVERY YEAR, 3 TIMES LAST YEAR A IT MEK MI NO FRIGHTEN, EVERYDAY MI AN TAXI MAN GO AT IT, MI NO LEF MI TOWN A RASS
Thank God fi dem for life yow. Di country set a way.
LOTS A CAPTURING gwan deh so the poor woman don’t kno where she going,, not even taxi a come fi u to rass, I kno people retired buy house in legit gated communities,,, mi naw tan ova deh when mi visit if u go out sinners weep an mourn pon road without light, an if u retire u eye sight no so used to so much darkness,, certain part a cross roads lights are dim put it dis way u used to farrin lights 100% the lights out deh naw mek it a so u brighten u car lights,,, more problem,
F**KA DEM, NO DO the people dem so lol people still got families over there its krazy kris bring life ova deh with reasons..obvious u are Kingston rat like myself mi no go ova deh, if mi do mi no want night ketch mi,, tek ya is someone caoture an fix up the place and sen the woman there, not even the road to hellshire mi no like a day much less night