Former employees of Fly Jamaica Airways are losing hope they will be paid millions of dollars in salaries owed prior to the problem plagued airline ceasing operations in March this year.
They say the prospect of payment is looking dim now that Fly Jamaica has applied for bankruptcy protection.
One of the airline’s former employees, Opal Crosdale, says the recent announcement that Fly Jamaica had been purchased by a team of investors also provided the workers with little comfort.
“That fell to nothing, nothing came of it. And we’ve now seen where the company has filed for bankruptcy protection, so we’re just looking at it to say that everything is lost,” he lamented.
Mr. Crosdale told RJR News that the former Fly Jamaica employees are now looking at their options. However, he did not give details.
Well, if no money nuh deh where unno going to get paid? This is one of the risk we take when we seek employment with startup companies and the airlines industry is notorious for some serious sudden drop budup bup bup leff mi stranded inna strange country kinda tings. At least you can claim unemployment. Look at the fliers who were left stranded and those who didn’t pay with credit cards who lost their money and didn’t even take the flight.
Fight if you find a way to fight, but just setup your mind seh you may nuh see a dime.
Anywhey dem fi find it mek dem find it sue dem bumbo.