JAMAICA IS BIGGER THAN YOU UPT PEOPLE

you-Optimized

The culture of a nation lies within it’s people, past , present and future. It may be agreed that culture changes over time but it is a collective change amongst a nation’s people as they reject what was once considered the ”norm”.

Without accepting a society as a whole for that it is, some people may see the culture of that society as ignorant, not seeing that it was a collective acceptance that brought that culture into existence . Culture is language, mannerisms, food and day to day living. Regardless of how an outsider may see it, culture must be respected because it represents a nation’s people.
Before I get into descriptives about the situation between Usain Bolt and Jinx, I must say a group of people within a nation’s society doesn’t necessary reflect the culture of its people based on the numbers. Jamaica’s patois is the accepted language of the masses because it is the language that is used by more than fifty percent of Jamaica’s people and that is what the world knows. It is our cultural language , not a ,language that is used to depict location, economic status or class. Patois was used by slaves to communicate between themselves. Today, patois when spoken in it’s true form will go over the head of a Non-Jamaican.
Jamaicans that call themselves Uptowners have removed themselves from the culture and a quick chat with them will reveal how ”American” they try to act. They are abreast of all the American slangs, food and clothes not caring where the class of the language they are using is from. And I find this funny because they have no idea how ridiculous they sound.Sorry to say this but you can’t be Jamaican and American at the same time, then call yourself better than the masses who are within the cultural norms. It is ludicrous, silly, petty and you can’t want to be someone else then call yourself someone. It doesn’t work like that.

Uptowners are running with a dialect and the more American they sound the better they feel they are. You are some silly washed up folks that cannot represent anything that Jamaica and Jamaicans are about. We are leaders and whatever slang that is used by the Jamaican populous is an invention that excludes American influence.

Jinx in her disgust brought to light the feelings of this small group of Non-Jamaicans who revel in the language of sub-class Americans. Usain Bolt may indeed be a noisy neighbor and after Mrs. Jinx reported the athlete to the police who were unmoved by her complaint she saw just how influential that ”poor Trelawny man was. The Trelawny man who shouldn’t have been living in her neighborhood in the first place for one he represents the mass that uptowners separate themselves from, he isn’t half-white looking and he does not speak the American dialect they revere. Jinx oddly forgot that it was what the masses gravitated to that allowed her now husband to capitalize on. DuttyCup is not an uptown word, nor an uptown name, as a matter of a fact I am quite sure his uptown friends did not call him by this name. It was the ”masses” that he connected to , the culture he connected to that allowed him his stardom . The joke about that is that when Sean Paul rose on the international scene, Americans had doubt of his Jamaican heritage because he does not appear to be what a ”normal Jamaican” is perceived to be and the reason for that is, segregation.

UPT people as they call themselves have segregated themselves from Jamaicans who are in a lower economic class, they breed eat, sleep and breed within with confines of uptown. Yes, breed, they keep marriage and pregnancy within their ”class” so their children will grow up knowing more about America than Jamaica. Usain hasn’t fit maybe because he hasn’t Americanized himself as much as they have and may still enjoy the culture of Jamaica a little too much for Jinx’s liking. For that, he will never be a part of them.

The joke is that; The richer, more cultured Jamaicans who do not reside uptown, don’t care for them and their pretense. Many prostitute themselves to keep within the uptown means and they may live in Jamaica but they are NOT Jamaicans .

0 thoughts on “JAMAICA IS BIGGER THAN YOU UPT PEOPLE

1. MET, this is what happened in South Africa. During the apartheid.

Jamaican’s have to be very careful and vigilant that they do not bewitch you into thinking that you are the minority and that they are the majority. Take charge of your Island.

I am not trying to promote an uprising here, because, i do believe in multiculturalism.

But, this mentality of ‘US’ and ‘THEM’ is very dangerous.

When you get to the top, you are supposed to help the people below you. Not look down on them. That is selfish behaviour.

1. Preach Preach…we need fi bun dem out
      Multicultralism is a culture within a culture not the culture of another country’s culture within a culture that the people are really not a part of. America has diverse cultures because the people are from different countries..The UPT people,some of their fore parents are chinese, surinamese and some hispanic as well…but they do not celebrate that

1. Lol MET. That is very true. Often when people do not have a sense of belonging, they tend to adopt other people’s culture’s. That is why they try to act American, but, they will never be American. The Jinx’s have gone too far and they need to come back down to earth.

1. If u know how bad it really is u wonder if is really jamaica dem living in..They have a school in Jamaica now they call the american school………they are taught the american curriculum and all the uptowners a bruck the bank to send their children to that school. Just because they think the American school system is really the way…………

1. AISK has been around for many years met and its mostly diplomas and ppl with real hard money send dem pickney there like 5000 USD per term. believe me

2. Just hope that those school’s do not begin to multiply in large number’s. That is how segregation starts.

On another note MET your WTF Africa story section make’s me laugh. Now you Jamaican’s know where the madness comes from lol.

3. Lol and I say it over and over here…That section is just to open our views on cultures and respect it….Africa is where our roots are I couldn’t leave it out after learning so much

2. It is too late AfricanWoman, They already have People in Jamaica who thinks these uptownish Jamaicans are better than them, hence they try to mimic the uptowners lifestyle. You would be shocked to know that some people in Jamaica have the conception that when you speak our dialect it is said WE CHAT BAD or WE DON’T SPEAK PROPERLY. Imagine? uptown-ers already separate themselves from Our Jamaican Culture, Christmas time back home, was for white washing the trees and people sit outside and drink and eat, I was shocked that now People stay in their homes with Christmas trees up and dont even venture outside. It amaze me how they are trying to implement all these American holidays as well, from I was BORN, We now Have Jamaicans celebrating HALLOWEEN and THANKSGIVING.

1. I get what you are saying. But it is never too late.

It is called ‘brainwashing’. You can always ‘de-brainwash’. It takes time, but it can be done.

To me as an African the Jamaican dialect does not mean Jamaican’s chat bad. There is obviously a reason why that language was created in the first place. That is what makes Jamaican’s unique, otherwise we will all sound like each other. I do not want that.

Remember, language is about getting the message across to the person that you are talking to. Not whether the language is popular or not.

2. Halloween , black friday they now celebrate in Jamaica because it is from america…making themselves look so stupid..that is what UPT is

3. What is the point of the post and I’m not being funny here? Patois is local dialect and as pointed out, was used to communicate between the slaves. It, however, is not our official language. Should I commend my child for being fluent in patois? Should I feel less Jamaican that I was raised uptown and hold both Jamaican and US citizenship and consider myself both? Should I be considered diluted that even when I speak patois I don’t speak it with a drawl typical of other places? No.

What the hell does the author mean “Sean Paul did not appear to be a normal Jamaican”? Is he any fairer than Shaggy, Bob Marley, Colin Powell and so many other notable Jamaicans that the world knows?

It’s one thing to lambast this person ‘Jinx’ for her elitist attitude but classism exists everywhere in every culture, not just Jamaica. I pay good money to live in a good neighborhood here so my child will not have to associate with the children from the ghetto because I don’t want her corrupted. That is my choice and I’m perfectly entitled to feel this way.

I don’t want my child speaking broken English. I don’t want her behaving in certain manner and I don’t want her associating with some people and that is perfectly normal.

Now Jinx has an ego problem and she should be dealt with. Usain is atypical and though he may not be cultured and may not have been raised in a certain place, in the eyes of the tax man, society and the globe, she is a nobody compared to Usain. So she passed her place when she attempted to diss him.

Bill Cosby, Obama and certain other prominent black people practice classism and elitism towards their own kind on a daily basis. It’s a part of the world we reside in.

Saying that many “prostitute themselves” to live within uptown is freaking retarded. What about those that prostitute themselves and still reside in the dancehall and downtown?

“Many live in Jamaica and are not Jamaicans”, one does not need to behave in a manner that the other thinks typical Jamaicans behave in to be Jamaican to the core.

Even here, I cannot stand some black Americans because they are loud, boisterous and downright ghetto..but that’s because they know no better and are just that, ghetto.

When a person is educated and culture, their behavior and mannerisms are different and they will not only gravitate towards like kind but frown upon the ones who make them look bad to be labeled ‘Jamaican’ or even ‘African Americans’.

Most people don’t believe I’m Jamaican and I wear that badge proudly to show my white and non-black friends that Jamaicans do not meet the stereotypes they might have been fed.

I think the article is foolish.

1. Patois is not broken english it is a part of the culture. The reference to Sean Paul was to show how they keep themselves from the darker skinned Jamiacans and even though they think they are big they are small in the world because no one knows them..I dont know how u didn’t pick that up.Prostitution is selling yourself directly for money u get that? A woman of the ghetto may have a relationship with a man because he has money..that is a different form of prostitution. UPT women will go to places and SELL demself come back like they brand new..that is not the culture of the ghetto…if a woman is a tekka she is a tekka no dressing up about it and if she a prostitute its something everyone knows but they are not dress up prostitutes and mi nuh come from uptown…dont want to come from uptown wouldn’t tell no one that I am from that class of Jamaicans because their stupidity is not intelligent or becoming..Most of them are not educated…fyi

1. Foxy read the article but I dont think Foxy have the understanding of what the author was trying to say. SMH.

2. Wow, I always respect your post Foxy, however it seems you did not take the time out to read this article with understanding? This Article is spot on, it is opening the eyes of the masses of how these uptown people trying to change our culture.

1. @Anonymous, I understand that you can’t always respect everything I say. Met disagrees and I love her and we typically agree on most things. That’s cool but this is how I feel.
        I love Bolt and I only didn’t give that cunt a piece of my mind because I dont’ recall my twitter password…but I remember when Ginger Bay cafe was just opened and my friend owned it, we would all go and hang out and have a wonderful time but then another set of people started coming there and we stopped going.

When I do go out, I’m mostly on the beach and I’ll probably see one other black couple but and I feel more comfortable in that surrounding cos mi nuh wear sneakers and mi nuh want fi haffi kick off mi heels and run cos mi cyaan run at all.
        And I love my people, I’m the biggest advocate for my people but by the same token, where I choose to hang out or live, isn’t where they frequent and that’s quite okay.

3. One more thing about patois…it is a language not a dialect and if your child is cultured it would be in their best interest if they could speak and understand the language that their ancestors communicated. Patois is frowned upon by them and it is seen as a language of the lower class and since it was a language of slavery……..and their forefathers were slaves how the hell could it be the language of the poor or lesser class?

1. Met, I grew up in Plantation Heights when there were only like 4 houses up there. We all spoke patois, however, it wasn’t deep and dragged and that’s typically of any country. If you live in New York, you have a New York accent and if you’re from Mississipi, you can even be considered ignorant and uneducated if you have the local accent. No different from Jamaica.

From the article, she’s saying Sean Paul wasn’t considered typical Jamaican because he’s light skin with a softer grade of hair. She’s stupid.

My child understands patois because no matter that I’ve lived here over 20 years, when I’m mad that’s what she’s gonna rass hear. However, she can’t say a word in it which I find strange but I’m not bothered either way. If she says one word in ebonics, (which she has never), I would flip a gasket because I don’t want her to. She needs to be well spoken with an extensive vocabulary, like I taught her and her school teaches her.

Prostitution is any woman sleeping with man for money and women in every class, creed and culture engage in this. There is no justify this ridiculousness and limiting it to uptown women. Nuff dancehall women do the same. Sleep wid drug dealers and scammers for money and still in the dancehall. Nuff dancehall men do the same, sleep with women and men for brand name and still in the ghetto and dancehall. Btw ghetto is mostly a mentality as one can no longer reside in the garrison and still be ghetto.

Classism is practiced in every society and if you drive through my neighborhood with your loud music, I will know you don’t live here and I will call the cops. Someone who lives here has enough class not to blast their music as to create noise pollution and drag down the value of the neighborhood and be a nuisance to the residence.

If you drive through the hood, you’re gonna see carpets drying on the patio, hear loud music playing, people hanging out outside, people braiding hair on the step…those behaviors are typical of a certain mentality who knows no better. Are they less human? No. But at the same token, if they move in your neighborhood and engage in the same behavior, you’re going to move out. That’s just how it works.

Madonna once tried to purchase a property on Park Ave and they wouldn’t allow her. The old money people felt she wasn’t good enough. One can’t argue for classism.

Bolt being who he is and the face of the entire country, is an entire different scenario. That’s like them telling Obama he can’t reside on Park Ave. At that point, you lack the authority to make such a statement and his name alone way outweigh your social rank.

4. You may not want your children to speak patois and that is your right as a parent. I, on the other hand, will ensure than my generations are fully instructed in every aspect of their culture, including speaking patois fluently. Not only patois, they will also learn English and another language of their choice, Spanish or French most likely. If I am speaking patois they must understand what the hell I am saying and be able to reply to me in kind, cause sometimes only patois can get the message across in the right manner. Speaking patois has nothing to do with education level, anymore than speaking standard English mean you are an educated person.

1. @Anonymous, please read with understanding. I made a distinction between patois and broken English. I said I do not want my child speaking broken English otherwise called Ebonics.
        I would love for the child to speak patois, but she can’t get it right for the life of me, either way, I’m fine. She just doesn’t get to speak like Shanaynay or boys in the hood.

4. This is base don some very wrong assumptions.

Lets start with uptowners segregating themselves…utter rubbish.

I was born in 1980, started first form at a prominent Jamaican high Shcool in 1991 that had a unique mix of “uptowners” and “ghetto yutes”. during the 90’s uptowners were ostracized and made to feel shameful that they were from slightly more privileged homes. When us uptowners wanted to immerse ourselves in Jamaican culture, we were given a harder time than even foreigners trying to assimilate Jamaican culture.

When we wanted to get involve with Jamaican music “uptown” sound systems had a harder time at gaining acceptance by the masses. “uptown” DJ’s were mocked and laughed at. Case in point Sean paul who had to gain success internationally before Jamaica started to take him seriously.

If anybody has been segregating themselves it has be those people not from uptown who have constantly reminded us that we do not reside in the same Jamaica as them.

1. I never see uptown people get bashed in no highs school or social circle…never so mi know that is a lie..also if sean paul music was not being played in any form…wedda him waa seh jamaica did accept him or not if he was not being played enough he would have never gone international so that again is another lie he put out there..jamaican people doe rate him because he dont mingle …simple

1. That makes no sense. Growing up, our sound was Rennaisance with Delano who played at all the uptown parties. In school, most of the kids from Havendale and upwards were friends and the other kids were in their own group. Even Don Yute is from Havendale and looks very much like Sean and had a career in Jamaica. Sean was recognized in Jamaica long before US heard of him.

To this day, I’ve never been south of Half Way Tree Jamaica. Met I told you, my neighbor here is from Rema and she’s the first friend i’ve had in my entire life from those parts and she’s my girl. I have to tell her to talk softly and mi sure nuh carry her out but she’s cool people. I’m just saying, when you are in a circle, it’s not your fault that’s all you know.(Even though I do know a lot of rich dudes who came from the ghetto and made it big…and I tell you, with all their money, it’s what I introduce them to, that they’ve always loved about me).

But I’m not saying anyone is better than anyone. Not at all. I have some family from Waterford…I’m just saying, you guys are looking at it all wrong.

5. And since I’m in a chatty mood today, let me just say:
    When I’m on Facebook and I see a black thread, I will not comment on the thread so it can show up in my newsfeed because I’m usually so embarrassed how ignorant the black people are. It can’t be just me who have noticed this. If I see a Jamaican thread, it’s pure ignorance, even if it’s a substantive matter. The same goes for African Americans.(Of course, there’s the exception)…but I will see a white thread on any number of topics and the content and level of conversation is so much more elevated than blacks and it’s embarrassing.

We live in the information age where people can be educated online. Primary school is free in Jamaica as is elementary school here. Why is it that so many black people cannot spell and engage in substantive dialogue?

If this makes me elitist, then fine but who the hell wants to associate with a bunch of dunces?

1. The funny thing is educated , cultured people do not try to separate themselves from others. They may stand out because they can’t help being who they are but you will never hear one of them say I dont associate with such and such because there is something to learn from everyone. Even the mute

1. Met it look like Foxy a play Charlie Charlie and a next somebody teck ovah har body…ah Foxy this Met or summady else a mess wid har name? Check deh caz this yah ah wah 180.

1. :peluk :ngakak..is oh, mi nah look eidah. Foxy hurry up and kum back, or chnge u “glosses” u yere. dwl

2. 100% true MET. When you are secure in yourself you will embrace others. No matter what walk of life they come from. In fact life is boring without variety.

6. May I suggest thbat cause you have not seen it that does not mean it didnt exist. Even to this day there is a stigma attached to being an “uptown yute”. You will over hear conversations where people say I don’t like that guy or girl because she is too uptown. The status quo in Jamaica has been set by the lower class since the 80’s and that is fact. Most of these uptown people you seem to resent so much wished in there heart of hearts to have the respect and ratings of people from the ghetto. Its mostly uptown people that were tying to fit in with ghetto people when I was in high school. Uptown yutes all wanted to wear desert clarks and dress and act in ways that would gain they felt would gain the approval of the ghetto.

1. Your experience and the experience of a handful isn’t the experience of the masses. No one is more welcoming than the poorer class of Jamaicans…if dem fi even fren u fi beg u they will not shun u…If u act a certain way that offends or belittles them then there will be a problem..and I take back what I said and agree with you…maybe it does exist but like I said before………Upt people are misfits and followers in their own right because they have strayed from the culture so yes they will try to fit in anywhere because they do not have a culture..People need culture

1. I used to have a school friend from UPT , that girl loved chicken back dearly and I dont know who gave her a taste but she would do anything to eat it and the parents would not cook it…that was too local for them…Even though their child who was under 10 loved it..The difference with that and a rich white american is that wedda it cost 0 or one dollar from it nuh hazardous to the health the child will get it from dem like it but dem nah shun it because a poor people food

7. I will only say this over here n cut “the higher the monkey climbs the more him ass shows” ahhhhh say Jesus teck di wheel pls :travel

1. Agreed. Some a we a read the article but the point nah come cross. Since I am proud of my little island I have no shame with anyone in the US knowing say a Jamaica me born and grow and it is the same ghetto weh dem nuh waan associate wid that shaped me into the successful woman that I am today.

8. Proper English is according to how you were raised! It has nothing to do with uptown! I was raised by hard working parents, who sent me to get a good education, I have friends from down town! That had good values growing up that speak proper English!and doesn’t matter where you come from a whore is a whore, if one doesn’t want to live in the ghetto that’s their personal choice, abroad I chose to live in a nice area, because it’s what I’m use 2, doesn’t mean I’m better,

9. Wow . Foxy said she doesnot want her child to mingle with ghetto children so not to corrupt the child. Wow.. I am not from the ghetto but got so offended. All ghetto people do not behave the same nor some raise their children to be boisterous and loud. Damn, that is like saying I don’t want Mt white child playing with this black child because ray and tay. Jesus what a statement.

Per foxy. “I pay good money to live in a good neighborhood here so my child will not have to associate with the children from the ghetto because I don’t want her corrupted. That is my choice and I’m perfectly entitled to feel this way. -“

1. I have friends that grew up in the very heart of the ghetto who came to school many a mornings saying she had just got off the bed when the bullet struck the spot she was lying in and her English and way she carried her self not to mention her sister and family who was very intelligent well articulated with good morals n did I mention that girl was oh so smart so to say where someone resides determines how they are is beyond me.

1. @Tawcheut, I have no reason to disbelieve you. I just read an article with a street vendor whose children are all honor students and graduating with distinctions and honors in Jamaica. No one said good people didn’t come from the ghetto. But should I go look in the ghetto, conduct a survey to see who is smart, well spoken and well raised to associate with my child when I put so much work and effort into raising her? No. I’m sorry. Some children in Parkland which is considered high society are demons. Their parents and filthy rich, they drive ferrari and Bentley to high school and they freaking need rehab. The girls and whores and they are all pill poppers.

So, yes, you have one thing to worry about with the ghetto kids and you have a whole other set of problems to worry about with the rich kids and I’m worried about both.

2. @Wicked, if you ever knew how paranoid I am with my child you would appreciate that. My daughter’s friends will come to her house and even spend the weekend, my child has never gone to her friends house. My child don’t know who is Beyonce or Rhianna, ask Met, if she and I dont’ have this conversation many times. I don’t play the radio. My child doesn’t know that any music television stations exist. She’s never seen a music video unless it’s on Disney or Nicklelodeon and you are damn right, I don’t know any parent in the ghetto that raises their child like I do, so i don’t want her associating with anyone that isn’t like her.

My child never seen anyone twerking unless them do it a school and she hasn’t reported it to me. Everything I tell you here is the truth and I make no apologies for it. My job is to keep her off somebody’s stripper pole, to raise her well and society won’t do it for me and if I drop dead, she has the morals I instilled in her.

When it comes on to my child, I don’t give a rat’s ass which parent or who wants to criticize what I do or say. As far as I’m concerned, she’s the best thing I’ve ever done and I will keep it same way. If (God forbid) she turns out not the way I intended, it’s not me. I did all I could. So far, she’s a gifted child, straight A’s, and I love it.

1. Foxy chile mi a mommy too, I am paranoid about my kids, but chile u tek di cake..careful u stifle har too much, I found myself going down this route sometimes. Wid all wah a galang innah di wurl today who wouldn’t be paranoid..but ah pinch miself when ah realize it. Mi is not ah counselor or nuttn like dah, but from one paranoid mommy to di next, mi feel seh there must be balance, if you show the chile only the good things, how is he or she going to know the difference between good and bad? mi maddah always seh book smart and streetsmart do it, we all need to balance di ting…dah glass house ting nahn guh wuk…mi understand weh u a come from, but be careful how tight u draw dah “rope”. Mi glad seh ah only “glosses” problem u hab and u not playing Charlie, caz bwoy mi did a wondah a wah a gwan dis morning yere..DWL

1. @Tinan, I can fully appreciate what you have to say. Everyone tells me. I may not have it right, she’s my first and only so I still learn as I go. Last week I allowed her to watch PG13. She has no street smarts. I have to drill in her that my friends will hurt her and people are not all nice. I have to show her where to hide and what to do if someone breaks in or tell her to scream and fight if someone grabs her. These things she doesn’t know. I took her to Jamaica and my sister kids, who live up on the hill top and goes to Hillel ask me if she come from Mars…they couldn’t understand how someone could be so innocent. She heard Vybes Kartel and she said “wow, that’s awesome. It’s awesome that he could sing like that” First shi hear patois in a song (reggae). So I introduce her to Bob Marley and Dennis Brown after that.

So yes, I’m over the top with my child but I make no apologies.

2. Foxy I work for children services and I see all that is out there to see. I see things that people wouldn’t even be able to believe can actually happen to a child. As a result I kept my child very sheltered. But trust me when I say I now regret it because my child who is now 21 years old and had been sheltered her whole life has absolutely no street smarts and that worries me quite a bit. You are doing your child a disservice by keeping her in total darkness

1. @Pattypage, is your child a gifted child? Because mine is. You might have sheltered your child. My child is sheltered from things that are not age appropriate and will gradually be exposed to things as she becomes of age and when the timing is right. However, her exposure to other things, art and culture is vast and varied. Her conversational skills make most adults I know look like retards. Her knowledge is vast and varied outside of the standard educational system. Her critical thinking skills are above par.
          Yes, she lacks street smart but you know what, she is an innocent kid and should be. It’s sad that so many people’s children didnt’ get the opportunity to be innocent and unexposed.

DO NOT DARE TELL ME I’M DOING A DISSERVICE TO MY CHILD. THAT IS NOT YOUR PLACE.

1. Foxy. Excuse me for trying to empathize with you and passing my place. Trust it won’t happen again but a word of advice, if you don’t want people having remarks regarding your statements, don’t put them out there.

2. @Pattypage…I have always been very vocal whether my position is popular or not. I make no excuses or apologies for them. However, I know how well raised my child is. Since you don’t have the privilege of knowing her, yes, even though you might I been well-intentioned…I am in no way doing a disservice to my precious child.
            Everything else is fair game, no offense taken…my child is not.

10. It’s how ur raised, well for me anyways! Just because I’m not ghetto, doesn’t mean I’m better, I can’t pretend to be something I’m not, some people pretend yes there’s a difference , this is been going on all over the world! Jamaica is out of many one people, most act like they frightened for high colour, when I’m there all I get from people is you skin clean or browning, which is annoying cause abroad no matter how light you are, to the white Man U still black we have to look into our selfs and unite and stop tearing down each other, classing women’s body parts , with such vulgar language and hostility! She was wrong to say go back, usain didn’t react so move on.

11. My children born in America can speak patios if they choose to. I have educated them of the vibrant and rich culture of their hertage. They know ghetto as I still have some family dung a Maxfield Ave inna di lane, and they know about living in the Hills, Kirkland Hieghts and Chauncery Hall, Beverly Hills ,This systematic classism started during slavery, continued through British colonialism and is continuing. I remember my half Scottish great grandmother with her mulatto complexion and long flowing hair expounding how anything black no good I think in reference to my tall very dark and handsome grandfather, who until her death I know she never accepted. Jinx with her elitist attitude is to be pitied for both her ignorance and brainwashing. It’s 2015 time to stop the bullshit. Geographical separation does not make you a superior human being.

1. In a perfect world, that is so @Sweet. Jamaica is no different from any other place on the planet. In many places, skin color, race and riches still don’t even qualify you for entry. Do you know how many places in the US many white people with money still are not welcomed because their money is newly gotten? With that old money folks think their money is superior.

I have friends that own Sara Lee, money been in their family for over 200 years and all the kids are firestone, Coca Cola and other high name recognition families. Me mussi them token black friend.

12. Met why u a respond cuz I dont know no uptowner who want respect from people in the ghetto .. dem more would want people in the ghetto respect dem cuz is uptown dem come from .. ah suh me know it guh …

I have uptown friends and downtown friends and pretend uptown friends too lmaooo… When i chill with my uptown friends I have to be prepared to eat burger king and wendys all day lmao and they DONT like kfc lmao … funny .. when im with my ghetto friends a pare cook shop and REAL REAL jamaican food me ah eat weh really sweet mi! uptowners wa go ribbiz and terra nova every weekend and fiction which is so Americanized might i add . but i prefer to go to dance like a boat ride or something like that .. i love raw jamaican culture .. people consider my family uptown but i dont speaky spokey every chance mi get .. lol some people are guilty of all these things listed in the article thats why they will get defensive. EVERYTHING dem see people a merica do dem run go do it and is the whole jamaican tan suh as a matter of fact dem annoying bad! Dem sound and look fool .. everybody a kiill up demself fi waist trainer jordans and peruvian not even a education ..damn idiot dem .. and most a d gal dem a sell dem body fi live uptown and wear things weh dem feel uptown girl wear hmmm

13. Foxy sad to say you may very well be THE token black friend of your trust fund baby friends. But Jinx has shown the world just how shallow and pitiful of a human being she truly is.

1. @Sweet, Jinx is pretentious. Jinx don’t have jack shit and lives in a rental property. Jinx has no class and her behavior is despicable and to be honest, quite ghetto. How many pics have you seen Jinx post with both she and her friends ‘skinny out’.

Jinx a hide behind skin color meanwhile she lacks money, class and education. You can fool some of the people some time. She ain’t fooling me.

Like I said, she’s been outranked by Usain. A pure jealousy at the heart of Jinx gripe. If she coulda left Sean Paul for Usain, she would have picked up the offer long time. A chu Usain nuh want her.

14. Mi know my limits wid ghetto people … they are hysterical dem mek me laugh but am i going to start acting ghetto and be like them NO but im still not going to judge them and look down on them.

15. I wonder if Jinx knows that she lives in a third world country. If she wants to be seen as one of those so called society people, maybe she needs to move to a first world country in North America or Western Europe because Jamaica is certainly not for her. BTW Met another person they need to look at is Novia McDonald-Whyte

16. Foxy, your so right. Jinx 15 min of fame should end today, with her ignorant ass. Next topic Metti.

17. I cannot wait to read all the comments and re-read the article. DING DING DING…thank you for speaking on the patois that certain bloggers luv fi come pon ya and put down…When I peeped jinx IG mi say everybody she considers as friends look JUST like her…SEGREGATION speaks volumes from her pics….

18. Awe sah! Let me not voice my opinion on this one, I will bite my tongue and sit this one out, I see some outrageous comments being made against black people on this thread it nuh funny. I am not saying a word, as I am black, illiterate and dark, there fore, I refuse to comment, as black people can’t hold a sensible conversation, as we are labeled as dunce. :malu :malu :hoax2

1. :shakehand2 Yep! Sit your black load illiterate ass down somewhere bamy!!! You are not in my tax bracket…

:hoax2

19. Look here everyone talking about upt and ghetto people and both social background look down on people living in the country area of jamaica. It is like jamaica is divided in there area;country,upt and ghetto.

1. @Anonymous, that is a brilliant comparison. No matter how a person comes from Rema or Jungle, they will always feel superior to a person from Mucco.
      So I don’t why everyone is acting so dismayed when I voice my opinion.

Who more pretentious and show off than ghetto people? Look at Flippa and all the others. Once they acquire a little bit of money, no matter how ill-gotten, where do they move? Uptown right? And who do they automatically think they are better than? The people who grew up in the same place they did.

So what is the big problem? I couldn’t even find these places on a map of Jamaica. My only affiliation with them is through the news and every time it’s something terrible. So if I don’t want my child affiliated with people from the ghetto in Jamaica or the ghetto in America, why is it a big problem?

I don’t get it.

20. I remember watching a documentary when Micheal Manley said how 14 families in Jamaica own the wealth of the whole country.

21. Jinx has a point some of you people need to stay where you belong. You get a little money and move into peoples decent neighbourhood and lower their property value. I agree, go back to where you are coming from

1. @UptownNProud, I have nothing with anyone being proud of where they are from, however, when one claims uptown as a social status, I would expect your grammar and sentence construction to be upper-class and not sub-par, at best.

1. IFFFFF? Hurry up Jesus cause there will be no division once you reclaim your world….ahhh sah…self hatred is a bitch….smdh…

22. At a certain catholic school in Jamaica … Uptown girls were very surprised that the influx of girls who boarded were possibly more well off than them … The girls who were bicoastal would have personal drivers pick them up And if they lived in Montego Bay or surrounding areas they would take the plane home … Factual the so called country girls were more exposed and brighter than the girls from uptown …many of the girls would say there parents thought they would have more exposure moving to Kingston but they preferred living on their sprawling properties some had horses etc

23. Mouth wide open in shock at some of the comments. I cant believe what I just read! My gosh, my gosh! Can someone be so hateful of where they are from, their culture n who their ancestors are.

Oh mi blood a run cold. Hope y’all know that at the end of the day when we dead..all a we a go rotten..maybe mi fool fool n nuh know say so call high class people or pretend high class hehe..dont actually rotten or quite possibly dont die either, lol cho…..Mek a tek weh miself yah..before yuh hear say mi nuh have no sense!

24. I just delete my intent comment because………. :bingung this seems to be about the ghetto and uptown folks. So let me “teck weh” my country a$$ because if the ghetto folks are being depicted in such a bad light, what would they say about my country a$$. Btw, there are many decent boys and girls in the ghetto who came out to be something wonderful. They’re not all corrupt.

1. @ honeybee nobody don’t remember that we from the country exist all I am seeing is UPT this and Ghetto this. However, if a poll should be done most of the people living uptown,great great grand parents migrated from country after their business started flourishing thus their children,grand children and great grant children where born there. Also in the ghetto I think more than half of the women and men there are from the country, that left and went to Kingston to look jobs Inorder to take care of their family but not having the money to afford UPT they settle for the ghetto

1. :shakehand2 Hence the reason why they all say,”I am going to country to visit my grandma/grandpa, or cousins”. I have cousins UPT, by way of country by their mom side, only one of them acknowledge us, (the country folks). Love him and rate him till this day!!

25. In Jamaica it’s all about classism nothing else no really matter.. I’m from Washington garden and our dad tell us don’t talk to ghetto people and we grew up with that mentally still.. I move from brooklyn to ct in a nice quite area..

26. Misses Bouquet (Bucket) star of Keeping Up Appearances and Mrs Chancellor up top sad bad…smdh…ppl airing out them mental illnesses today I see…

27. A lot of subliminal messages seem to be floating around tonight and out of respect for Foxy who is usually balanced in her opinions metters are “dancing” around the issue. Well I am appalled at some of her comments which epitomizes some of what you metters have been saying about classism and segregation. One of the most unintelligent comment one can ever make is a blanket statement that most black bloggers are unintelligent or less intelligent than white bloggers. Firstly, you are black (are you saying that you represent the exception, and how do you know? Has this been tested using some empirical method by the white community that you are in fact an exception to unintelligent black bloggers? and because you have chosen to separate yourself from other blacks then truth be told you do not know this with any certainty as you would not have spent the time to read enough of their comments to make these conclusions. I mean you have an eye for detail in realizing black bloggers so you would have just switched automatically to the “intelligent blogs with the cultured white folks”. further JMG must be the black exception to your rule because you generally provide well balanced comments here and if I may take the liberty and say yes then I would be willing to make an intelligent guess that JMG bloggers cannot be the only collective set of black bloggers who are intelligent. So you see Foxy there are holes in your statements that are also covertly and condescendingly offensive. Secondly, speaking Standard English (which by the way most Americans do not speak) does not indicate one’s level of intelligence. Additionally, as my professor from Africa has always told me, to whom much is given much is expected and therefore if you have been fortunate to be blessed with a good education, the gift of gab and good English speaking skills then you should help others, not separate yourself so much so you have a vantage point looking down. As long as you look down on others you will always feel more important but that does not mean you are. Some people choose not to use standard English, others simply do not know how to but you are not superior to them because you can and do speak standard English. Help them if you can or shove your condescending comments because really it is not edifying. You may segregate yourself from the rest of us black, ghetto country folks, but did you ever consider you are still a “black Jamaican zutupet” in the eyes of those white folks you so adore. Oprah Winfrey was barred from buying a bag in a Swiss store ( I stand to be corrected here) because she is black. It didn’t matter she is educated, famous etc. as before they knew who she was she was just another “black siista” and the stereotypes that come with. Then “wannabees”, yes those of us blacks who want to be seen as “cultured” not by embracing our culture and uplifting those around us who are not as educated or intelligent etc. but rather by vying for a spot above them but below the whites help to prolong the hate and the ethnocentric mentality. But true intelligence and being cultured is not the language one speak, or the diction one uses etc. ( yes these are fundamentally important ) but even more important is cultural relativism and not ethnocentrism, to understand and respect one’s culture (sub-culture) from their and not your own perspective and when we are able to respect others then and only then are we on the path to being truly intelligent.

Foxy also kept making the point that classism exist from the beginning of time and will always exist. The better view is that change begins with the first step and as an intelligent person who has been blessed with a good education then you are quite aware that history is replete with stories of persons who have fought for fundamental rights and freedom s and this does not mean the world is rid of discrimination, it means that there has been effective changes – be it baby steps or full fledged legislative or constitutional changes ( even if mindset and clearly mental bankruptcy has not changed as quickly as it ought to). Slavery existed before nanny of the Maroons, imagine if she didn’t fight ( and take that shot inna har batty…lol) and the many others who have fought for change. Change begins with a discussion and the world is way more advanced now, with the possibility of change literally in our fingertips ( be it standard English or patois in its many variations). By the way I used to feel bad about patois until I started traveling and people around the world asked me to “speak using my Jamaican accent” because they like it. A group in Indonesia including Africans and Australians asked me to teach it to them. My close friend ( Jamaican) working at an Embassy in Europe is asked to teach it all the time. The point to make is that you do not make yourself better by putting someone else down. If you speak English very well then patois will not negatively Influence your command of the English language so why knock it even if you yourself choose not to use it. Why does it have to be either or? Why can’t it be both. Both have a place in our world.

All in all, we are all black be it uptown, down town , around town or country come a town so let us deal with the issue at hand about classism in Jamaica which is real and which needs to be addressed. The same way blacks in America want racism to be addressed, us “downtowners” and “country -towners” would like classism in Jamaica to be addressed. It is very real and a pertinent matter for debate and discussions.

ps. I am sure there are grammatical and construction issues….but I am equally sure my point is made!!!!

1. Mi never hear a truly educated man all like my father ever say him feel like him more than anyone or put down anyone…Never and he never haffi tell people how educated he is or cultured..My friend the same. Mi nah try sound ignorant but a lot of those UPT people were the pretty dunces in school , dem never feel the need yet fi perform…some were brilliant yes but majority didn’t too care to be educated.

1. Yessss!!!! Yessss!!! Yes!!!…I been waiting patiently for this coz I knew someone was gonna come. Yes, I could have done it too but why, when I knew JMG bloggers never disappoint lol.

WELL SAID…WELL DAMN SAID!

28. Mi nah look eno cause when mi a go school a dem name “pretty dunce” dunce no RASS majority a dem anyway.

29. Flex welcome on board. I will remain outside the fray cause flex lick over every pot cova…

Met! hope you recovering well in spirit from the other day.

1. Day by day better but it is a funny feeling when u take up the phone to call to talk and realize you can’t anymore..

1. Me know the feeling. You know it’s ok to have a moment of conversation? I do it like once a year for a dear, dear friend who left me.

30. @Flex, NOT anada word need to be said…@Met, pass simply machine and buss di 21 shot deh cause flex epistle deserves a salute of such fashion :recsel !!!! :recsel :recsel

31. I am shocked…no appalled at some of the responses.. I never realized people were so ashamed of the beautiful Jamaican Patois that I so love to hear. The only Island with that undeniable style of creative speech. The patois that is most imitated but can never be duplicated. My American born children are well versed in their parents native tongue. Infact we love listen to them a chat patois. Both are straight A students, well spoken and casn switch it up. My son was just Valedictoian and gave a standing ovation speech quoting Marcus Garvey and even throwing in a little Patois here and there. Both in private schools both love patty cocobread as much as a burger. I say all this to say Why cant the children enjoy the best of both countrie .. I very rarely hear o a Mexicasnec denying the Spanish language to thei kids.. Get it together people and e proud of who you are and where you are from My beautiful JAMAICA nah left yuh out. The land of my birth and my pikney dem and their kids and so on must respect her and love her forever

32. I can’t read some of these comments. Some people just put dem big foot in a dem mouth. Yes mi a write in patios an mi proud. Mi can switch it up and speak perfect English. Self hate is a hell of a thing, just saying. I have friends who think that if they live among Caucasian,Spanish and people of other races that makes them less black. News flash you’re just another black person, deal with it. You can live in a nice neighborhood without trying to separate yourself from your own race.

I wonder if certain people know that being on this very blog means that even though we don’t know each other she’s associating with the very same people she frowns upon. This blog represents everything Jamaican, where proud Jamaicans come to keep abreast of our culture. Some ppls comments are just ignorant . Written by a PROUD Jamaican country girl.

33. Flex

on June 2, 2015 at 9:56 pm – Reply

A lot of subliminal messages seem to be floating around tonight and out of respect for Foxy who is usually balanced in her opinions metters are “dancing” around the issue. Well I am appalled at some of her comments which epitomizes some of what you metters have been saying about classism and segregation. One of the most unintelligent comment one can ever make is a blanket statement that most black bloggers are unintelligent or less intelligent than white bloggers. Firstly, you are black (are you saying that you represent the exception, and how do you know? Has this been tested using some empirical method by the white community that you are in fact an exception to unintelligent black bloggers? and because you have chosen to separate yourself from other blacks then truth be told you do not know this with any certainty as you would not have spent the time to read enough of their comments to make these conclusions. I mean you have an eye for detail in realizing black bloggers so you would have just switched automatically to the “intelligent blogs with the cultured white folks”. further JMG must be the black exception to your rule because you generally provide well balanced comments here and if I may take the liberty and say yes then I would be willing to make an intelligent guess that JMG bloggers cannot be the only collective set of black bloggers who are intelligent. So you see Foxy there are holes in your statements that are also covertly and condescendingly offensive. Secondly, speaking Standard English (which by the way most Americans do not speak) does not indicate one’s level of intelligence. Additionally, as my professor from Africa has always told me, to whom much is given much is expected and therefore if you have been fortunate to be blessed with a good education, the gift of gab and good English speaking skills then you should help others, not separate yourself so much so you have a vantage point looking down. As long as you look down on others you will always feel more important but that does not mean you are. Some people choose not to use standard English, others simply do not know how to but you are not superior to them because you can and do speak standard English. Help them if you can or shove your condescending comments because really it is not edifying. You may segregate yourself from the rest of us black, ghetto country folks, but did you ever consider you are still a “black Jamaican zutupet” in the eyes of those white folks you so adore. Oprah Winfrey was barred from buying a bag in a Swiss store ( I stand to be corrected here) because she is black. It didn’t matter she is educated, famous etc. as before they knew who she was she was just another “black siista” and the stereotypes that come with. Then “wannabees”, yes those of us blacks who want to be seen as “cultured” not by embracing our culture and uplifting those around us who are not as educated or intelligent etc. but rather by vying for a spot above them but below the whites help to prolong the hate and the ethnocentric mentality. But true intelligence and being cultured is not the language one speak, or the diction one uses etc. ( yes these are fundamentally important ) but even more important is cultural relativism and not ethnocentrism, to understand and respect one’s culture (sub-culture) from their and not your own perspective and when we are able to respect others then and only then are we on the path to being truly intelligent.

Foxy also kept making the point that classism exist from the beginning of time and will always exist. The better view is that change begins with the first step and as an intelligent person who has been blessed with a good education then you are quite aware that history is replete with stories of persons who have fought for fundamental rights and freedom s and this does not mean the world is rid of discrimination, it means that there has been effective changes – be it baby steps or full fledged legislative or constitutional changes ( even if mindset and clearly mental bankruptcy has not changed as quickly as it ought to). Slavery existed before nanny of the Maroons, imagine if she didn’t fight ( and take that shot inna har batty…lol) and the many others who have fought for change. Change begins with a discussion and the world is way more advanced now, with the possibility of change literally in our fingertips ( be it standard English or patois in its many variations). By the way I used to feel bad about patois until I started traveling and people around the world asked me to “speak using my Jamaican accent” because they like it. A group in Indonesia including Africans and Australians asked me to teach it to them. My close friend ( Jamaican) working at an Embassy in Europe is asked to teach it all the time. The point to make is that you do not make yourself better by putting someone else down. If you speak English very well then patois will not negatively Influence your command of the English language so why knock it even if you yourself choose not to use it. Why does it have to be either or? Why can’t it be both. Both have a place in our world.

All in all, we are all black be it uptown, down town , around town or country come a town so let us deal with the issue at hand about classism in Jamaica which is real and which needs to be addressed. The same way blacks in America want racism to be addressed, us “downtowners” and “country -towners” would like classism in Jamaica to be addressed. It is very real and a pertinent matter for debate and discussions.

ps. I am sure there are grammatical and construction issues….but I am equally sure my point is made!!!!

– See more at: http://www.jamaicanmateyangroupie.com/other-articles/jamaica-is-bigger-than-you-upt-people/#comments

34. POOR BLACK PEOPLE FOUGHT FOR THIS COUNTRY!!! TAKE A GOOD LOOK ON MOST OF THE PEOPLE WHO PUT JAMAICA ON TOP! MISS LOU TURN IN HER GRAVE!!! UNUH BETTER GET IT TOGETHER RIGHT NOW!!!!!!