St Ann South East MP Lisa Hanna set off a series of comments and criticisms on Wednesday when she turned up in parliament in a sleeveless dress.
“It is attention-seeking,” said St Andrew West Rural MP Juliet Cuthbert Flynn, in an off-mic comment.
Hanna was wearing a black cap sleeve with a wider scoop neckline.
“You know she is wrong,” Cuthbert Flynn said in a cross talk with some Opposition MPs.
The St Andrew West Rural MP engaged her colleague Juliet Holness, the Member of Parliament for St Andrew East Rural and the undercurrent of concerns grew louder.
At one point Hanna was overheard saying: “Raise it on a Point of Order”, suggesting to her critics that they should bring the matter to the attention of Speaker of the House Pearnel Charles.
The cross talk over Hanna’s outfit created an obvious distraction while Member of Parliament for St Andrew Eastern Fayval Williams was making her contribution to the State of the Constituency debate.
This triggered the Speaker’s intervention who called for ORDER!
Meanwhile, Charles has written to Hanna reminding her of the dress code as set out in the Standing Orders or the rules of Parliament.
Charles told The Gleaner Wednesday evening that a member of the House had complained about Hanna’s attire.
The Speaker noted that he was prompted to take action against the Opposition MP.
“I simply wrote to her, bring it to her attention and ask that she abide by the rules.”
What the Standing Order 84A says:
1. The dress of members and other users of the House must at all times reflect sobriety in order to maintain the dignity and decorum of the House.
2. There shall be strict adherence to the rules.
3. Members’ dress for meetings of the House or Committees should consist of a business suit and necktie for men, and a sleeved business dress or skirt suit of modest length, or pant suit for women.
Lisa need a good 8 inch penis. Her body a bawl out for some good sex and Lisa not feeding the body the sex.
Moron. Your whole life is centered around a dick, right? And it must be 8-inch or larger? Given how many children have passed through your birth canal, I doubt anything less than 14 inches (with a lot of girth) will suffice (Yuh hole very large). You don’t appear to be too bright an individual, since all you do is think about a dick 24/7.
Not because you not getting any. No wonder you so miserable. Go get a life johncrow.
Mi nah defend Lisa nomore. She might not have been seeking attention in this instance but she is an attention seeker and mi tired a har.
A time dem cut out this whole heap a clothes in government building, them nuh see is an island we live on suppose is hotflash the woman have. I’m not saying halter back and battyrider for all. What I’m saying is nothing wrong with a sleeveless appropriate dress. I was dying collecting my barrel them other day in a this whole heap of clothes.
Please!! Yuh nuh have nuttn betta inna pol lie trics fi talk bout??? lisa time a done still…. see wee all go have brand new beauty queen an tings now….. one wey nuh mix up wid shit yea!… real black queen…. Hanna montana weee shant look at you miss.
Nothing is wrong with her dress,but rules are rules. Juliette needs to calm herself right down. I hope she’s this vocal about real problems facing Jamaicans.
Ugly women always jealous of pretty females…what’s new? Juliet Cuthbert, you can never walk in Lisa Hanna’s shoe, no day no how. Nick picking much?
In what year was this Standing Order adopted and when last was it updated?
Sounds like jealousy to me. Her time would be better spent cleaning up the corruption and not worrying about someone else’s dress.
If in 2017 these grown ass big gut men cannot focus on government business when someone bare-armed walks in, we have a bigger problem than the sleeveless dress.
Furthermore, how much of these same distracted men are also distracted by underage girls.
Focus on some real issues.
Badmind, jealousy or whatever you want to call it! Juliet a hot woman. Imagine she want to wear clothes like that to parliament but she is bound by the rules. If Lisa wears these clothes and get away, imagine how that would look. EVERYONE should comply to the rules. What goes for the goose…