Four guns are now in the hands of criminals after they were stolen from the house of a businessman in New Green, Manchester.
The house was discovered broken into Tuesday morning.
The firearms, three shotguns and a Smith and Wesson pistol, were stolen from a safe. Twenty rounds of ammunition were also taken.
The occupants of the house were away at the time of the robbery.
The incident has been confirmed by the head of the Manchester Police.
So what will happen to his license?
Look like the guns were secured in a safe and he comply with all regulations pertaining to the safe-keeping of these firearms, so he will get to keep his license.
See dem a tell lie bout gun inna safe?
Hope dem revoke it
Agreed!
definitely should be held liable for his carelessness, 4 more guns in the hands of criminals when there were many precautions and measure available to secure and safeguard those firearms, thats one of the major problems with the country, the lackadaisical approach to everything from govt to police to society all the way down to the public.
if you are traveling off the island you must turn your weapons in to JFLA until you return. it should not be left in a safe. so he will be charged for negligence
Where did you read they were “off” the island. Jamaica isn’t as small as you think and many residents go “AWAY” yet they’re still ON the island.
My dad left his a few years ago at the Mandeville Police station (he was in the US for 3 months for medical reasons) and to this day he hasn’t gotten it back. Police say dem cant find it, when he went for it. Although he had the receipt they issued. Told him to come back every time he went until he just give up on ever getting it back/
Which law states that you have to turn in your license firearm “if you are traveling off the island”? Please provide a link to support your bold statement.
The man had the guns secure in a safe, as required, so I cannot understand how he was violating any gun laws in Jamaica for his license to be revoke. He is not the first or the last individual to have their firearm stolen. They could have held him up on his way to”bird shooting” and stole those guns.
So him have guns at home but no cuts cameras? So is ongle di guns dem teck in this supposed break in? More questions than answers.
Anon 1:53pm you are indeed 4billion% correct. .anon 8:56 ..sometimes we can seek clarification without the air of arrogance like we insinuating that we know shyt when in fact we don’t know shyt!! Sure I will point u to the section of the law that says it..no problemo! Google n JamaicaObserver took 4secs.
Firearm owners urged to store weapons with JCF or FLA
Thursday, August 18, 2016
KINGSTON, Jamaica (JIS) – Firearm owners are being urged to store weapons with the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) or the Firearm Licensing Authority (FLA) for safekeeping, when they leave the island.
Under Section 45, subsection 2 of the amended Firearms Act, licensed firearm holders who are travelling and do not wish to carry a weapon, are required to store guns and ammunition at a police station or the FLA for safekeeping.
Superintendent of Police and Head of the JCF Communications Unit, Stephanie Lindsay, said that previously, travellers could leave firearms at the Sangster International Airport in Montego Bay and the Norman Manley International Airport in Kingston for safekeeping.
However, due to security reasons, and limited storage space, Superintendent Lindsay advises that this option is no longer available.
“We are encouraging persons to make arrangements prior to the date of travel for storage of their weapons,” she said.
She cautioned gun owners against the practice of leaving weapons at home for long periods, as criminals can break into their homes and steal the weapons.
Superintendent Lindsay informs that licensed firearm holders are required to store guns at their local police station for a time not exceeding three weeks. Gun owners can also store weapons at the FLA for a nominal fee.
The cost for storage is $300.00 per month for hand guns and $500.00 for shotguns.
“If they (gun owners) will be travelling for long periods, we recommend that they make arrangements with the Firearms Licensing Authority (FLA), because they have provisions in place for persons to leave their weapons for safekeeping,” she said
Persons in breach of the regulations can be found guilty of an offence, and on summary conviction before a Resident Magistrate can be liable to a fine not exceeding $200,000 and imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months.