The US Department of Justice on Wednesday announced that a woman was sentenced in Miami, Florida for her role in a Jamaica-based fraudulent lottery scheme.
Cassandra Althea Palmer, 33, of Broward County, Florida, was sentenced to serve 24 months in prison and three years of supervised release.
The court scheduled a hearing on May 3 to determine the amount of restitution that Palmer will pay to the victim.
As part of her guilty plea, she acknowledged that from February to April 2014, she was a member of a conspiracy that defrauded a Maryland resident.
The victim was contacted by an individual in Jamaica and told that she had won a multi-million lottery prize, and that in order to collect her lottery prize, she first had to pay taxes and fees.
The money was paid and Palmer and a friend kept some and wire transferred the rest to her Jamaican co-conspirator.
Yu play wid fire, and yu get burn. Go do yu time Cassandra.
This must be the stupidest sentencing in histrie!!!How can 2yrs be any deterrence to scamming? ?You get to live a high roller life n stash away $millions of $millions! !What a sweet deal! !
I’m telling you right now if it wasn’t for setting example fi mi pickney n my own personal belief/integrity. ..I would try my luck scamming too.Are u kidding me…n mi nuh must get ketch n if I do mi ongle get a 2yrs vacation without pay at a small confined abode??
Yardie I don’t believe you, you would really defraud people of them things? Nope! not the Yardie I know and love. I agree that the punishment does not fit the time yes but..
Dearest how yuh like ur coffee…u know better than that. ..mi nah dweet
Trust n believe 2 years inna any jail n a record bas