LOTTO SCAMMER GIVEN NO BAIL IN US

US prosecutors want suspected J’can scammer held without bond

BISMARCK, North Dakota (AP) — US prosecutors want a Jamaican man who’s accused of masterminding a multimillion-dollar lottery scam to be held without bond pending trial in North Dakota.

Lavrick Willocks, 27, on Friday made his first appearance in US District Court since being arrested in Jamaica two months ago. Assistant US Attorney Clare Hochhalter warned there is no reason for Willocks to stay in the United States if he is released from jail.

“The defendant has no ties here, no means of support. He’s a Jamaican national,” Hochhalter said.

US Magistrate Judge Charles Miller ordered Willocks held pending a detention hearing, which will likely take place next week.

Willocks, who appeared alone in court with hands and feet handcuffed, requested a public defender, saying he has barely $15,000 and no assets. Miller ordered him to fill out a financial affidavit and the judge must now determine whether Willocks qualifies for a court-appointed attorney.

Authorities allege the sophisticated schemes Willocks spearheaded bilked more than 70 mostly elderly Americans out of more than US$5.6 million. When he was arrested in a Kingston hotel on November 5, authorities say they found more than US$10,000 in cash in his room, along with electronics and jewelry.

The lottery scam case began in North Dakota in 2011 when prosecutors say a Harvey woman was defrauded out of US$300,000 after receiving a call from a man who told her she had won US$19 million and a new car, and needed only to pay taxes and fees.

More than a dozen people have been charged in the case. One of Willocks’ co-defendants, Sanjay Williams, was convicted in 2015 and sentenced to 20 years in prison.

13 thoughts on “LOTTO SCAMMER GIVEN NO BAIL IN US

1. Jamaican lickey lickey and showoff mentality is causing all of these scamming. Instead of going to school and get some kind of education. Them just want to floss. So sickening now. Not everybody can be a boss.

1. No dem seh people fi respect people and set limits. Dont say things you will have to swallow, but they both have sexual demons still so dem shame ting almost nonexistent

2. Me tell MET say dem deh already. KD all send dung guddiez fi har since week. KD was that your money or WONDA’S??

3. I don’t feel sorry for “not none” ah dem. People don’t realize that this affects the economy in a negative way!

Wish they would scrape them all up including the ones who reside in the USA!!!

I just don’t understand their mentality. Why don’t you want to work hard for what you want!?!?!?

There is a certain sense of accomplishment you feel when you can see the reward of your hard work. It is not the same when you steal it.

4. Smart guy, go to the US as a small man, fight hard with big lawyers and you’ll lose big time, plus all the money you stole will be paid in lawyer fees, let the US government fund u. Rob them twice lol