Sunrise murder suspect accused of disemboweling girlfriend | (Warning: Graphic content)
In a fit of tequila-fueled rage, a Sunrise man is accused of killing and disemboweling his girlfriend because she uttered her ex-husband’s name twice during sex.
In a tequila-fueled rage, a Sunrise man is accused of killing and disemboweling his girlfriend because she uttered her ex-husband’s name twice during sex.
Fidel Lopez called 911 about 3:39 a.m. Sunday and told the operator his girlfriend Maria Nemeth was having trouble breathing and was going to die, according to the arrest report filed in the case.
Sunrise police found Lopez crying for help next to Nemeth’s naked body on the floor of the bathroom with blood and body tissue around the apartment that Nemeth, 31, and Lopez, 24, had shared for about one week in the 1600 block of Northwest 128th Drive, the report stated.
The bathroom door was ripped off its hinges and there was blood and tissue in the bathroom, a bedroom closet, and smeared on walls and doors. There were several holes in the walls and a shattered sliding glass door, police said.
Sunrise Fire-Rescue pronounced Nemeth dead at 4:02 a.m.
Detectives said they found a half empty bottle of 1800 Tequila and cut limes in the kitchen and signs of a physical struggle and foul play.
Two people in a neighboring apartment reported hearing a man’s voice yelling and lots of loud noises that lasted for about two hours, police said.
During questioning Sunday morning Lopez initially told investigators that he and Nemeth had been having rough sex and that she went into the bathroom, vomited and collapsed, the arrest report said.
Further questioning revealed a different story.
Lopez told detectives he became a “monster” when Nemeth called out her ex-husband’s name two times while they were having sex. He said hearing someone else’s name during sex upset and enraged him, investigators said.
Accused in girlfriend’s death
Fidel Lopez (Photos courtesy of the Broward Sheriff’s Office)
Lopez said he left Nemeth in the closet where they were having sex and started breaking things throughout the apartment, smashing the rear sliding glass door and punching holes in the walls, police said.
He went back to the closet where Nemeth was lying unconscious and he started inserting a beer bottle, a flat iron for hair, and both fists inside of her, investigators said.
Lopez said he inserted his arm up to his elbow and ripped out part of her intestines, detectives said.
He carried her into the bathroom and tried to put water on Nemeth’s face, but she did not wake up.
Lopez told police he then washed the blood off his hands in the bathroom sink, went out on the porch to smoke a cigarette and then started to panic.
After further efforts to clean the apartment, Lopez told police he checked on Nemeth in the bathroom, found that she wasn’t breathing and called 911, according to the arrest report.
Lopez was arrested at 2 p.m. Sunday and charged with first-degree murder, records show.
The Florida Department of Law Enforcement shows only one other arrest for disorderly intoxication in 2014 on Lopez’s record.
Met this is the most disgusting thing I’ve ever read in my life. A right ina mi gf complex a Sawgrass she’s breaking the lease. The boy push iron, bottle and him entire hand up to him elbow in the girl.
What a wicked frigger!!
Then the boy guh smoke before him call the cops.
I learn my lesson wid dem Spanish man deh long time ago. Dem frigging sick and sickeningly possessive. One use to stalk me, when mi come home a night time, him sit dung by mi pool and wait fi si a who drop mi home. A pure police mi use to haffi call till the police dem tell mi go buy a gun.
After that, a Spanish man can’t look pon mi and mi nuh disgusted.
My God in heaven…bwaay a wouldah muss dung a Florida, dung deh nuh normal, di things them wah happen dung deh. Poor girl what a creecha..RIP girl.
My stomach strong but this mek it turn. What a evil Fucca! Dem kinda man yah come in all nationalities, never believe it couldn’t happen to you. Some of us women see the signs but either don’t recognise or ignore them. She was just a young girl. Poor thing.
Dem tings yah meck you fraid fi man if you wasn’t before
Florida. Florida. Florida. Fo show yuh how ppl nuh care inna America, two hours hours dem hear the woman a scream for, and nobody nuh call.
God ah come fi him world…smh!
Now yuh can gi somebody like him jail time? Him need fi dead! There is no rehabilitation fi him!
Im sure she see plenty signs from this demon at comment up top bout spanish men dis n dat what about black men? Stop put all ppl in 1 basket demons come in all different color background. After i saw a story on the news about this 3month old baby getting raped by her BLACK stepfather i lost trust in humanity period!!!!!
den yah tell mi sey fi two phuck’n hours dem hear screaming and huh bada huh seh meek dem call police if a even fi disturbing sound coming from next door or house across the road no to bloodclaat wat a world we now live i tell yuh..give him death penalty don’t even waste tax payers money feed him
(Simplicity soon sign in)