MARLEY’S NAME HIJACKED ?

fabian_marley

Late reggae icon’s family orders singer to stop using Bob’s name
‘You’re no Marley’

BY RICHARD JOHNSON Senior staff reporter [email protected]

Saturday, May 31, 2014 15 Comments

Print this page Email A Friend!

MARLEY… I know I am a true Marley

SIX months after submitting his DNA results to the Marley family, singer Fabian Marley says he is yet to get a response.

He told the Jamaica Observer that he took the DNA test after receiving a “cease and desist” order from the family’s attorneys, Michael Hylton & Associates.

The document warned him to refrain from using the Marley name and claiming to be the son of reggae legend Bob Marley, unless he supplied concrete evidence.

Speaking with the Observer, Fabian Marley said the DNA test was carried out at the University of the West Indies (Mona).

“They come back to me acting like they didn’t get my first set of evidence, but I do what I have to do already…. I know I am a true Marley. Whatever is to be must be and the world will see what is fake and what is true,” said the 46-year-old.

But the letter from the law firm further stated that their client has no basis to believe Fabian’s allegations and questions how he would have obtained the superstar’s DNA in order to conduct such a test.

Fabian Marley, who goes by the moniker Gong Kid, says he was born in Trench Town, the inner-city community from which Bob Marley rose to international prominence during the 1970s.

Marley died in May 1981 from cancer at age 36.

The father of numerous children, he died intestate.

Fabian Marley gives his birth date as July 27, 1968. He claims to be the result of a liaison between his mother Raphie Munroe and Bob Marley.

He says all his official documents, including his birth certificate, have the Marley surname.

Fabian Marley is set to release his debut album, Nature’s Valentine, next month. Some of the tracks were mastered at Tuff Gong Studios, owned by the Marley family.

He insists the directives from the Marley family will not derail his plans to promote the project overseas.

Executive producer of the album, George O’Gilvie, informed the Observer that the singer has at least six shows booked for Africa and India later this year.

Marley insists he is not looking for a handout from the Marleys, but rather to continue the work started by his late father.

“I just want them to unite and love people, just like my father. My father legacy is his musical heritage, and that is here for all of us,” he said.

0 thoughts on “MARLEY’S NAME HIJACKED ?

1. It took him all of 46 years to make this revelation? From whom did he receive DNA to make a comparison?

2. It nuh impossible di man seh dem know bout him from before…but if him mada gi ihim di name marley dem cah really stop him from use di name………..and Bob Marley is not a saint so mi can si how him easily could be his child …………………but on the other hand u have a lot crazies in the world …him bun him spliff it too strong and him jus start chat shit

3. Dem know seh Bob marley did a throw him hood left right and centre, so anything posible, dem nuh can compare him DNA with another relative of Bob to confirm whether or not him is a part of the Marley blood line. Rita mi know seh yuh nuh too too waan share d marley fortune eh nuh, but d youtth seh him nuh want nothing him just waan stay tru to him roots, a hope is not you a instigate nothing enuh, cauz if Bob can legally adopt ur daughter and accept her as his, why cant you accept his children no matter d circumstance under which they were born. You knew he had alot of women and still stuck with him, so now accept the products of his mutilple relationships. Couple years back 1 nurse woman did come forward and say Bob fathered her child, and Rita did a gi d woman a fight, a dont know what was d outcome of dat…..

4. Well Bunny Wailer confirm it because all of them use to visit the Granny place so meanwhile dem a get food fi eat Bob a get something else roun a house back lol him have a lot more a pussy bully dat.

5. Well Bunny confirm it he knows a lot because they all mouse together. They use to visit the man mother house an get food etc but Bob was going there for the panty food he has a lot more and he knows them all he wanted a lot thats why he loves the women who do not take birth control because him want to shot the sheriff so the deputy must be like him have no belief in birth control lol.