NBC has fired its leading morning news anchor Matt Lauer over a s*xual harassment allegation, the network’s president for news said in a memo to staff on Wednesday.
“On Monday night, we received a detailed complaint from a colleague about inappropriate s*xual behavior in the workplace by Matt Lauer,” Andrew Lack, the NBC News president, said in the memo.
He said the allegation against Mr. Lauer “represented, after serious review, a clear violation of our company’s standards. As a result, we’ve decided to terminate his employment.”
“While it is the first complaint about his behavior in the over 20 years he’s been at NBC News, we were also presented with reason to believe this may not have been an isolated incident.”
Mr. Lauer’s co-host, Savannah Guthrie, announced the news on “Today” on Wednesday morning. Appearing on the verge of tears, Ms. Guthrie said, “All we can say is we are heartbroken; I’m heartbroken.”
She described Mr. Lauer as “a dear, dear friend,” and said she was “heartbroken for the brave colleague who came forward to tell her story.”
Calling Mr. Lauer’s dismissal part of a national reckoning, she continued, “How do you reconcile your love for someone with the revelation that they have behaved badly?”
Matt Lauer has been terminated from NBC News. On Monday night, we received a detailed complaint from a colleague about inappropriate s*xual behavior in the workplace by Matt Lauer. As a result, we’ve decided to terminate his employment.
The “Today” staff learned the news shortly before going live. Giving the weather report, a visibly shaken Al Roker said, “I’m still trying to process the news.” Soon after announcing the dismissal, Ms. Guthrie gripped the hand of Hoda Kotb, who was rushed in as an emergency substitute host.
The move by NBC represents one of the few examples of a company taking pre-emptive action over s*xual harassment complaints before any allegations had become public.
Mr. Lauer’s dismissal was seized upon by President Trump, who went on to ask in a tweet when executives at NBC and Comcast, the network’s parent company, would “be fired for putting out so much fake news.”
Ok start the criminal proceedings now please n thanks!
What crime was committed??
With sexual harassment most are misdemeanors….unless there is more to up the charge!
We seem so happy that there are white people now in this situation but unlike Cosby “unwanted advances” are not criminal and warrant court proceedings….RELAX :ngakak :ngakak
What white people are good at is that they put their money where there mouth was….thus allowing things to die down until statute of limitation runs out.
Dear Quena,
Cmon hun u ought to know I am in the system because a unno call me Village lawyer lol.U asked what crime was committed then went on to say it could be a misdemeanor as if to suggest it’s not a crime.However I will repeat ..when will criminal proceeding begin..BECAUSE. …
A misdemeanor is considered a crime of low seriousness, and a felony one of high seriousness. A principle of the rationale for the degree of punishment meted out is that the punishment should fit the crime. … All other crimes are considered felonies. Many states also employ the same or a similar distinction.
Wow comment!
Thank you Yardie school di naysayer’s we always have something fi seh (full a shit like hog)
Matt Lauer makes over $20 million a year and he has been making this for some 10-years, do you think he worry his little head over we black people? He doesn’t have to work a next day in his life.
Gloria Alredd soon run een. Give har likkle time. What does race/money have to do with this though? Lets not do that and lose focus.
So because he’s making or was making millions he gets all right to do the f**k he does an get away??? Not ff a unuh bitches will phuck Fu bulla anyways unuh neck money cloud Unuh judgement too much
Mek dem know mi sweet ukkibit …that was definitely insensitive but hopefully di person did a try fi sey sumpn different. .but tonks for setting dem straight on what the focus is really about! !