you daughter understand that we were Christianized in 1492 and now understand the connection to her african roots via her history that extends pass slavery.
Dear Mother, I grew up in the church from I was 11 till a teenager, being raised in the church does not make a person a Christian, the person have to choose that for themselves.
When we are young all we have is what our parents/guardian expose us to. You buy our clothing, tell us what to do and most times where to go.
To many young people church is boring and a drab, as it only consists of church in the morning, church in the evening, prayer meeting, choir meeting, board meeting, conventions, missionary work, helping the poor, cleaning the church, always focusing on the needs of others while many members needs are not met and they languish right there in front of their church members faces.
Many see the hypocrisy in the church and turn away and say they feel more closer to God by themselves and not exposed to the undercover predators inside.
Now that your daughter is exposed to other information, she made a decision that church is not for her, she has a right to her decision, as now she is going to have to compare what you taught her versus what she is experiencing in the wider world around her.
You did your best Mother ,remember you cannot make up your daughter’s mind for her, just continuing praying for her to make good decisions for her own life from here on.
11 was too young to be baptized. No 11 yr old knows the magnitude of the commitment that baptism comes with, while it looks inspiring on the outside it is far too much to put on a child who hasn’t even gone through puberty yet. If Christians look to Christ as their prophet and messenger then look at the age that Christ was baptized at, and the age that John was when he started baptizing ppl. Baptism should come after mental, emotional and spiritual maturity.
Through my years of living and watching lifetimes I have found that most ppl who were raised steeped in the church are ill equipped to handle secular life. Many lack street smarts and are very naïve and gullible so when they depart from the security of the Christian fellowship they often suffer in some different ways. You daughter does not know this because she does not have the life experience yet, so if she step away from what she has known for so long I hope she has the fortitude to push through what is ahead of her. Approach her in love, and speak to her in love letting her know you will always be there to catch her and leave it at that. Keep praying for her protection, wisdom and discernment as she goes to explore that which she knows not of. It is hard to see as a parent, but her free will is hers to use as she sees fit, even if the end is painful and bitter. Be guided in love and let love shine through in these testing times.
Don’t blame education, education at the tertiary level is all about exploring critical thinking. If we were to objectively and critically explore the Bible there would be many things that would leave us to question many things. I am not a traditional Christian, I am a pantheist and New Though Christian so my approach to the Bible is different from traditional believers. At the end of the day you are just a mother who loves your daughter and want the best possible life for her, and that is what all good mothers hope for their children. Don’t let worldly ideologies cause friction between you and your child, pure love transcends all things.
that D is magical
Ie look like demon or obeah uppa mona… Miss ask Christ den nuh n pray fi har… Or ask yuh daughter harself n see wah she seh nuh.
you daughter understand that we were Christianized in 1492 and now understand the connection to her african roots via her history that extends pass slavery.
Sometimes “education” let people view the world in a different light mama…she probably did a listen to Muta.
Muta is the best.
Dear Mother, I grew up in the church from I was 11 till a teenager, being raised in the church does not make a person a Christian, the person have to choose that for themselves.
When we are young all we have is what our parents/guardian expose us to. You buy our clothing, tell us what to do and most times where to go.
To many young people church is boring and a drab, as it only consists of church in the morning, church in the evening, prayer meeting, choir meeting, board meeting, conventions, missionary work, helping the poor, cleaning the church, always focusing on the needs of others while many members needs are not met and they languish right there in front of their church members faces.
Many see the hypocrisy in the church and turn away and say they feel more closer to God by themselves and not exposed to the undercover predators inside.
Now that your daughter is exposed to other information, she made a decision that church is not for her, she has a right to her decision, as now she is going to have to compare what you taught her versus what she is experiencing in the wider world around her.
You did your best Mother ,remember you cannot make up your daughter’s mind for her, just continuing praying for her to make good decisions for her own life from here on.
11 was too young to be baptized. No 11 yr old knows the magnitude of the commitment that baptism comes with, while it looks inspiring on the outside it is far too much to put on a child who hasn’t even gone through puberty yet. If Christians look to Christ as their prophet and messenger then look at the age that Christ was baptized at, and the age that John was when he started baptizing ppl. Baptism should come after mental, emotional and spiritual maturity.
Through my years of living and watching lifetimes I have found that most ppl who were raised steeped in the church are ill equipped to handle secular life. Many lack street smarts and are very naïve and gullible so when they depart from the security of the Christian fellowship they often suffer in some different ways. You daughter does not know this because she does not have the life experience yet, so if she step away from what she has known for so long I hope she has the fortitude to push through what is ahead of her. Approach her in love, and speak to her in love letting her know you will always be there to catch her and leave it at that. Keep praying for her protection, wisdom and discernment as she goes to explore that which she knows not of. It is hard to see as a parent, but her free will is hers to use as she sees fit, even if the end is painful and bitter. Be guided in love and let love shine through in these testing times.
Don’t blame education, education at the tertiary level is all about exploring critical thinking. If we were to objectively and critically explore the Bible there would be many things that would leave us to question many things. I am not a traditional Christian, I am a pantheist and New Though Christian so my approach to the Bible is different from traditional believers. At the end of the day you are just a mother who loves your daughter and want the best possible life for her, and that is what all good mothers hope for their children. Don’t let worldly ideologies cause friction between you and your child, pure love transcends all things.