The World Health Organization (WHO) is expressing alarm over what it says is the increase in cases of a new strain of gonorrhoea that cannot be treated, driving concerns that last-resort drugs will soon be ineffective.
According to the WHO, data from 77 countries show that antibiotic resistance is making gonorrhoea much harder, and sometimes impossible, to treat.
Gonorrhoea spreads through unprotected vaginal, oral or anal s*x, as well as through the sharing of s*x toys that have not been washed properly or covered with a new condom.
“The bacteria that cause gonorrhoea are particularly smart. Every time we use a new class of antibiotics to treat the infection, the bacteria evolves to resist them,” said Dr Teodora Wi, medical officer for human reproduction at the WHO.
Of concern is the fact that the vast majority of gonorrhoea infections are in poor countries such as Jamaica, where resistance is harder to detect.
“These cases may just be the tip of the iceberg,” Wi added.
Dr Sandra Knight, a s*xually transmitted infection and healthy lifestyle specialist in Jamaica, said she was extremely concerned about the new development, noting that it needs to be taken seriously.
“That is extremely alarming. The fact that it may be the case that we might be unable to treat some strains in a couple years is extremely concerning,” Knight told The Gleaner yesterday.
Unaware of any cases of the superbug strain in Jamaica, she argued that because of inadequate testing, its actual presence was “somewhat difficult to detect”.
… Engage in responsible oral s*x – Knight
The s*xually transmitted disease, gonorrhoea, can infect the genitals, rectum and throat, however, it is the latter that is most concerning to health experts, especially with reports of a new superbug strain in several countries.
Dr Teodora Wi, medical officer for human reproduction at the World Health Organization (WHO), said antibiotics could lead to bacteria in the back of the throat, thereby developing resistance.
“When you use antibiotics to treat infections like a normal sore throat, this mixes with the Neisseria species in your throat, and this results in resistance,” she said.
Introducing the gonorrhoea bacteria into this environment through oral s*x can lead to ‘super-gonorrhoea’, the WHO is arguing.
It is for that reason that Dr Sandra Knight is appealing to persons engaging in oral s*x to do so responsibly.
“Let’s have oral s*x responsibly! People need to remember to wear their dental dams and protect themselves,” urged the s*xually transmitted infection and healthy lifestyle specialist, while admitting that she is an advocate for oral s*x.
Knight warned that Jamaicans who travel frequently, especially those engaging in online dating and hook-ups from partners on dating sites, have to be extremely careful.
The WHO estimates that 78 million people worldwide contract the disease each year, with most cases affecting young men and women under the age of 25.
Good advice. Humans were created to be monogamous, that book of wisdom does tell men to cleave to the wife of their youth. Dis gallis culture and running up and down from pillow to post is what cause deze tings. We a water ppl,a mostly fluids and mushy stuff meck wi up, our bodies are delicate suh wi fi respect dat and treat it right all di time.
Now, di medical ppl fi also warn against drinking out same glass, sipping from same straws and sharing forks and spoons when eating. Also adults sharing these things with children. Even deep kissing should be between committed spouses in a mongamous relationship. Cutlery fi wash in extra hot water at all times. Even ppl who live together can be living separate lives, and ppl nuh necessarily Listerine after going downtown so imagine a friend or relative and you meet up and dem drink out your glass or ask fi a bite off your straw and next ting dat bacteria now on your glass, straw or fork. Protect yourselves and be your own advocate. Nuh meck ppl try fi shame cause you uncomfortable sharing personal thing. I am also going to start limit eating out cause I do not know if some of these places a wash cutlery in real hot water, cause nuff a dem naw stop business when dem equipment broken down.
Dem naw go say that just yet because it would create chaos and paranoia. Remember what happened in the 80s with AIDS. Interesting how each generation has its own STD/STI crisis.
Yes, you right.