The verdict is in: Jelani Maraj, the brother of Nicki Minaj, has been found guilty of s*xually assaulting his former stepdaughter. For the hideous crime of raping an 11-year-old girl, he now faces life in prison.
A month-long trial came to a close on Nov. 9, as a jury convicted Jelani Maraj, 38, of predatory s*xual assault against a child and endangering the welfare of a child, according to Newsday. Nicki Minaj‘s brother showed no emotion when the verdict was read out, and remained that way when State Supreme Court Justice Robert McDonald ordered to be held without bail in Nassau County jail in East Meadow. He’s expected back in jail on Dec. 14 for sentencing. He faces up to life in prison.
It’s unbelievable to think how this man was convicted of raping his 11-year-old stepdaughter. The victim’s brother, who was 8 years old at the time of the crimes, testified that he discovered Jelani on top of his sister, according to Uproxx. The brother also claimed that Jelani physically assaulted him, slapping him and threatening the boy to keep what he saw quiet. However, the details could not be kept hidden forever. During the trial, the victim – now 14 years old – discussed how Jelani instructed her on ways to “make anal s*x less painful,” how he called her his “puppet” and that she had “no say” in what he did to her. She also testified that Jelani would get physically abusive if she rejected his advances.
In addition to beating her, the victim said Jelani threatened her by saying she would be taken away from her mother if she told anyone. However, she brought his crimes to light when she spoke to a school counselor in November 2015. Her brother also told what he new to a child protector worker who investigated this terrible, terrible crime.
Throughout the trial, Jelani maintained his innocence, even when the prosecution submitted DNA evidence. The prosecution provided a pair of the victim’s pajamas that contained semen that matched Jelani’s DNA profile. His defense argued that there was ways that stain could have gotten on the child’s clothes, suggesting it was cross contaminated. Jelani’s defense, on the whole, was that his ex had orchestrated these abuse claims as part of an extortion plot. His legal team said that the victim’s mother beat her kids to force them to go along with this plot, and that his ex had told Nicki “if she paid $25 million, the charges would go away.”
Though Jelani’s ex testified that she did beat her kids and drank too much, she denied that she fabricated these abuse claims. The jury clearly believed her and the victims, convicting Jelani of child rape. This will not be the end of this case, as Jelani’s attorney says he believes his client will win on appeal.
Lethal injection.
Tears come to my eyes for what this man do to a innocent child 8 years old . Do you know how many off us women lived wth that experience off someone rob you off your innocent childhood especially someone you trust 🙁 hope you dead in prison!
Kill him.
Omg! this hurt mi to the core… Please kills this b&#ch of a man. I’m speechless!!! God know.. I will be praying for the victims family. God help this baby girl.
While they busy appealing this decision, mom should be busy preparing a civil suit. Hit em in the pockets where it truly hurts.
Excellent!!! Justice for this young girl. Hopefully her and her little brother can have a productive life. More of these man need to be revealed.
Can’t believe this scum would sodomize that poor 11 year old girl .. are u fcking kidding me … my child sister is the same age and it just Mek me wa bawlllll .. like I’m an adult and anal sex is so painfullllll and I truly hate every man weh into that shit they are perverts and cannot be trusted and I can’t believe this fcking despicable piece of shit do this to a freaking child! Mi heart a pain me … they need to kill him give him the fcking chair I haven’t been following this up but each time I look at this man’s picture I feel the energy that he’s a fcking demon! Makes me wonder what was going on in nicki’s home when she was a child because she comes off very unstable!
Smh praying for protection for all children, the blood of Jesus against all evil doers.
Parents please protect your children in every way possible PLEASE it starts with us. That’s why I don’t understand how some women allow different different and certain man around their kids. Mi rather dead before mi Mek a pussihole come fck up me and my kids life.
Tell your brother not to drop the soap dear!
EXACTLY. The very next day afta she tweet and delete that about the dutty bwoy Meekah. But still for all whats popping wheelies compared to sodomy of an innocent baby? May he drop the soap daily. POS!
Vile and evil son of a gun
This is so sad LOL MY SHOOTAS WILL SEE HIM SOON