NO BAIL FOR MARSHA GAY

NO BAIL FOR BEAUTY QUEEN ON DRUG CHARGES
MARSHAGAY
Marsha Gay Reynolds, the Jamaica-born Jet Blue Airways flight attendant who has been jailed for drug trafficking in the United States, has been ordered locked up until her trial in late November.

Reynolds, runner-up in the Miss Jamaica World pageant in 2008, was initially scheduled to appear in court today.

However, the Central District of California Court, following a request by both parties, ruled that the trial be put off until November 29. The trial is to last three days.

Reynolds is charged with intent to distribute cocaine. If she is convicted of the narcotics trafficking offence, Reynolds would face a statutory maximum penalty of life in federal prison and a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years.

She was arrested after she attempted to smuggle nearly 70 pounds of cocaine – worth an estimated US$3 million (J$367m) – through Los Angeles International Airport on March 18.

The flight attendant, who was flagged for a random security screening, reportedly ditched her high heels and ran barefoot down an upward-moving escalator. The authorities said she ran out of the terminal and crossed the county to New York.

Reynolds has been held in custody, without bond, since her arrest.

According to court documents obtained by THE STAR, “The government has produced discovery to the defense, including video surveillance pertinent to the charge.”

The documents said that in light of the video and other material produced by the government to be used against Reynolds, her lawyers said that additional time is needed to “confer with the defendant, conduct and complete an independent investigation of the case” and conduct additional research before going to trial.

16 thoughts on “NO BAIL FOR MARSHA GAY

1. Marsha you make me happy for my 13 a dollars hour job cause it’s honest living and i am free as bird . May the lord give you strength to hold up and peace to accept your mistake .

2. Was it worth it Marsha? Just so you can get a little bread to hype in designer wares? Really, was it worth it? You who have a better start in life than most Jamaican girls – pretty beauty queen, athlete, nurse in training, graduate and having a job ???? People like you I just cannot feel sorry for. Women younger than you are selling chewing gum and cheese stix in markets up and down the island to feed their kids. I hope your very stiff sentence will send out a deterrent to other wotliss criminals looking for quick money. Silly girl.

1. Real talk Gabriella, she was doing pretty well and had a good start. No excuse she have. Is GREED mek she deh weh she deh

3. Another case of having the High life syndrome where you give up your freedom for name brands. Good luck young lady, better YOU than ME. I LOVE MY 9-5 and staying in my lane.

4. November is a ways away, the lock up is not a bad thing, it will count as time served to reduce her sentence. Three day trial, hmmmm.

5. Maybe the reason for no bail is for her own protection. I’m sure she will cooperate with the Feds to lessen her time. I doubt this girl is going to trial and will cop a plea deal and tell all she knows. Her co-conspirators know that and if she get bails, she will be killed. They were moving a large quantity of stuff through JetBlue, so these were big players and dangerous.

6. I do not 1, but 2 jobs (1 full-time and 1 part-time) just to take care of all of my financial obligations, and put away something for the rainy days and retirement. I like your comment a lot Gabriella, et al. No need to participate in any drug activities young Ladies. Big up to all the women dem wid dem decent jobs! Nuff respect to all a oonu!!!!!!

7. yesss big players in this, carful of who approach you when you in certain jobs, she was priceless to someone. she was in a vital spot her jobs gave her priviledges untold, only child for the mother, its said the mother not too well

8. Gabrielle ur right .a lot of women Mek man trick dem n use dem .when dem lock up facing the time ,then gone wid another girl .she had a job beautiful girl educated .mi could understand if she was suffering n a try a little ting fi help har kids n better her life .Big mistake n look how much she had on her .She u call king pin .She was one brave girl

Leave a Reply to anonymous Cancel reply