ONE HOUR AFTER DEXTER’S KILLER WAS ARRESTED HIM GUH BAIL HIM

WITHIN an hour of being arrested and charged for possession of an offensive weapon on August 29, Romario Brown was bailed by fashion designer Dexter Pottinger — the man he is now accused of killing.

Brown’s arrest on August 29 came almost a month after he was granted bail for a murder he is accused of committing in 2016.

Three days later, he was arrested in connection with Pottinger’s death and subsequently charged with murder.

A police source yesterday confirmed that Brown, a tattoo and make-up artist of Rocky Valley, Stony Hill in St Andrew, was walking along Hermitage Road at approximately 10:45 pm on August 29 when he was stopped and searched. The source, who spoke to the Jamaica Observer on condition of anonymity, said an offensive weapon was taken from his backpack. He was subsequently arrested and charged.

According to the source, Brown was granted station bail in the sum of $10,000. At approximately 11:40 pm, Brown was bailed by Pottinger, the police said.

He was slated to appear in the Kingston and St Andrew Parish Court on September 19 for that offence.

On July 31, Brown was granted bail in the Home Circuit Court on a charge of murder, after he was arrested following the death of Alexia Bepatt on April 8, 2016, another police source told the Observer. He was scheduled to reappear in court on October 4 in relation to that murder.

Sponsored Links
17 Actors You Didn’t Know Were Gay – No. 8 Will Shock Women
OyDad
Mom Finds Odd-Looking Baby Abandoned On The Lawn. 1 Year Later, He Looks So Different
Scribol
Brown was also accused of stealing a laptop belonging to the dead woman’s boyfriend and was charged with larceny from the dwelling.

It is alleged that Brown went to visit the woman and both were engaged in adult activities when an argument developed.

It is further alleged that during the argument, Brown kicked the woman off the bed and squeezed her throat.

Bepatt was later found partially naked, lying unconscious at her home in Mona, St Andrew. She was rushed to the University Hospital of the West Indies where she was pronounced dead.

Last week Thursday, Pottinger’s decomposing body was found at his home at Yarico Place, Kingston 20 about 5:20 pm. His missing 2017 Honda CR-V motor vehicle was found in Stony Hill later that evening, the police reported.

Brown was taken into police custody last week Friday and was subsequently charged.

On Wednesday when the Observer tried to confirm that Brown was the same person who had been charged with Bepatt’s murder last year, members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force admitted that they were not aware that he was out on bail for that murder when he was granted bail for possession of an offensive weapon.

But yesterday, attorneys Michelle Thomas and Christopher Townsend told the Observer that it was not impossible for a person who commits an offence while on bond to be offered bail. Townsend, while noting that it can be difficult to obtain bail, said the decision is based on the judge’s discretion.A

39 thoughts on “ONE HOUR AFTER DEXTER’S KILLER WAS ARRESTED HIM GUH BAIL HIM

1. I heard from a source that dexta didnt know the guy. A perry ask him to bail the fellow. Thats when he first met him. Dnt know how truth it be. But a guess gays know gays business

2. I understand that judges can use their discretion to grant bail but if you look at what our Bail act says…the alleged killer should have never been granted because he doesn’t qualify for bail!!

Section 4 – 1e of the Bail Act states otherwise

This is the section
    4 Circumstances in which bail may be denied

(1) Where the offence or one of the offences in relation to which the defendant is charged or convicted is punishable with imprisonment, bail may be denied to that defendant in the following circumstances-

(a) the Court, a Justice of the Peace or police officer is satisfied that there are substantial grounds for believing that the defendant, if released on bail would-

(i) fail to surrender to custody;

(ii) commit an offence while on bail; or

(iii) interfere with witnesses or otherwise obstruct the course of justice, whether in relation to himself or any other person;

(b) the defendant is in custody in pursuance of the sentence of a Court or any authority acting under the Defence Act;

(c) the Court is satisfied that it has not been practicable to obtain sufficient information for the purpose of taking the decisions required by this section for want of time since the institution of the proceedings against the defendant;

(d) the defendant, having been released on bail in or in connection with the proceedings for the offence, is arrested in pursuance of section 14 (absconding by person released on bail);

(e) the defendant is charged with an offence alleged to have been committed while he was released on bail;

(f) the defendant’s case is adjourned for inquiries or a report and it appears to the Court that it would be impracticable to complete the inquiries or make the report without keeping the defendant in custody.

1. He really did not qualify. I happen to know of the first murder (strange coincidence) he strangled that girl during sex, a chick he met on fb. Was also accused of strangling a bed ridden man but was caught in the act and run out of the community. He Was and still is a danger to the public and should not have been granted bail at all.

3. A wah kina shit yuh drop inna youth :ngakak :nerd shit literally! Youth bail him killer star. Mi woulda kill him back doe cause yuh kill mi an den mi memba seh mi bail yuh… dat piss me off mi a come back fi yuh.

4. I hate to be harsh but I feel no sympathy for either victim. The young miss was doing adult activities with the man who had stolen her boyfriend’s laptop. Its sleeping with the enemy personified.

Secondly, Dexter whether he knew the victim or not should have NOT bailed him at the request of Perry or anyone for that matter. Dexter out of the goodness of his heart bailed the guy and whether by invitation or not, invited the guy to his home. The fact that lube, used condoms etc were found in the home at the time suggest that there was some form of sexual activity going on. It has nothing to do with his sexuality, but when you enable a murder and you end up being murdered reminds me of the Jamaica saying, same knife stick sheep stick goat also teef from teef God laugh. There is a consequence for our actions and I hope this elucidates the point, nuh mix up wid murders and sometimes you just have to say no to some requests from your friends.

5. Real, yu nuh easy a tall. Dexter nuh know bwoy fram Adams if the story being told is true but dey dey a f**k out di bwoy. Anyways, big up Dexter cause yu sey safe sex. Dexter friends dem mussi tink it look good pan him fi sey him nuh know di bwoy. What a way dat even gun fire wi can hear outta Perry. A hope Irma pass thru an purge the land.

6. Which judge granted him bail now? kMT come on man. He should have been psychologically evaluated as well. Our justice system is non existent. A so mi know say a the government lock up Kartel.

1. YES, AND DEM SOON BRING HIM OUT FEH COME TURN HOMOSEXUALITY ENNA STYLE, LIKE BLEACHING AND TATTOOS. Just watch!!! DEM AGGO TUN HIM ENNA ONE WOMAN. He’s gonna go right into politics and fight for gay rights and freedom. And his ugly nasty worker dutty Stinkin spice is climbing the ladder, so he’s scoring nuff release points. When he’s released all hell ah guh buss luse. Deh batty man dem ah guh get equal rights and justice and Merka police ah guh dung cum run deh place.

7. I would really like to know what pushed the guy to kill Dexter considering that he had another murder case plus Dexter was the one that bailed him. Well liad an teef walk one way suh mi nuh expect di teefing bwoy fi talk di chute. However he must be a beast to at the tender age of 22 commit two murders, none being self defense. Dexter bailed him and him sed one kill Dexter.

Nuh baddy caan tell Anthony or Winford fi buss a quick interview wid Perry cause mi waan hear from the horse’s or rather fish’s mouth wey really a gwan.

8. Footah a call up him name an him can draw fi Management fi put out statement bout fi desist fram calling him name. Now it stink a yawd an abroad sey a him beg Dexter bail di bwal an him quiet lakka lamb. Honestly mi wudda love him talk how him paths get fi cross wid diss murderer. Dat is why some a dem feel suh powerful sey nuh baddy caan chat to dem cause dem know who an who dem have inna dem corner. Right about now a life has been lost, one headed to prison and another’s reputation is severely under attack.

Dem sey he who is without sin cast di first stone an mi know my file nuh 100 suh mi naah pressure di ting, but good God man, how yu inna yu right mind, put up yu fren fi bail murderer. Dexter shouldnt bail di nastiness, maybe him wudda still be alive. Dexter tu me was a sacrifice fi di greater good. Cause if dah youte dey di stay a road much longer, mi feel him wuda kill nuff people cause him likkle an wicked.

9. So he gets arrested and calls Perry. Perry calls Dexter, Dexter bails him and ends up in his battam within an hour? HE DID NOT KNOW HIM? They are all money making gays living in Jamaica, they knew each other. Maybe he gets off from killing people during sex. There could even more victims no one knows about. It’s time we start valuing people that are murdered, this way those accused can be viewed as morally currupt and get help or at the least people can be protected from them. Cherishing criminals makes no one accountable or safe.

10. This case is too tangled for jamaicas police to handle, they need FBI’s help on this. It is important to know exactly what happened and if there are other victims

11. Him murder a woman and was released on bail. him murder a battyman now and that’s it for him. statement dem a send out is dat battyman life more valuable than women. sad state di country in.

12. Hear weh mi a se …unu really cannot say Jamaica justice system is flawed because murderers get bailed in North America everyday … now the woman was found strangled she was ha big an affair … it is either her boyfriend or this man that killed her ..so there is reasonable doubt there.. maybe his argument is that she died during intercourse and strangulation was a part of it …. now for dexter the young man was not known to him … how can he then have sex with a man he does not know ??? Then ppl are saying they guy is gay for pay … bailing him has nothing to do with getting pAid for the act ,,dexta mus know the code as well .. I feel that this guy was possibly drugged and woke up and realized that something went on .. gay or not and flipped all the way out and killed him …even if he is gay hecorobavly did not want to be used like this ….. and it look like the selector had a valid reason

13. Real, the cameras at the young Miss apartment showed the killer leaving her apartment, that’s why he was named as a suspect. Therefore there is no reasonable doubt. The camera was the all the evidence that was needed. Dont you think they would have questioned the boyfreind. I feel sorry for that boyfriend, its bad to be cheated on but to know that your spouse cheated with someone who wronged you then ends up dead/ #Pay back #Karma. That girl possibly could have told the killer things the boyfriend was saying about him. Yu si why yu caan trust a soul.

The young man wasnt known to him, yet he bailed him and the youth ends up at him house. Dexter’s friends are saying that Dexter doesnt know him, but how sure are we. Dexter could have known him ‘unda di quiet’ (no pun intended). If Dexter didnt know the guy and bailed him, then invited him to his house, that makes Dexter super stupid are super horny. You cant embrace fire in your bossom then not expect to be burned.

Dexter either went behind Quiet Perry’s back and started seeing the guy or off the bat told the guy that he bailed him and would like an ounce of flesh. Whatever the reason, some manipulation is apparent. Oh what a tangled web we weave when others we try to deceive. The neighbour wasnt alarmed at screams for murder as one the guy might have beaten up Dexter before and Dexter was screaming or they were into some hardcore sex and Dexter was screaming. At this point all we can do is speculate, but the truth might never surface, unless somebody pich the Baker Boy an him come back an talk. Him a di only one wey mi wudda believe.

1. SAME SUHHHH!!! :selamat :2thumbup you made some valid points, they line up along the lines of what I was thinking. He may have known him, he bailed him in less than an hour. I really want the Baker to come talk. :pertamax :pertamax is weh him deh? :bingung:

14. How Tanya Stephens nuh run in wid har stale rape story a look some milage. Hahahahah! Tanya naah defend Perry like how shi di ups an defend Etana and Ishawna.

15. He stole, the boyfriend’s laptop after he strangled the woman and left her for dead, his claim was that she was alive and crying when he left the house, the judge said then why didnt he get help for her than instead of stealing from her and that is why she never granted him bail the 1st time. The woman had a condition where she would sometimes pass out and that was what his lawyer used to argue her case saying that that was what probably killed her but the judge wasnt buying it because the autopsy proved the died from manual strangulation. That is why im shocked he that he got out anyway. He is a raging murderer and I really dont feel sorry for Dexter or Perry at this point, dem love too much man KMT.

16. The bail was for a minor occurence people. Why uno nuh read and analyze before uno type. The murder case in 2016 apparently some things was missing from the case so he was offered bail. A lot of times even with evidence people afraid to go to court. However dexta bail him for another matter, it was not for the murder case. Uno go call perry, he is a devil after him beg dexta fi bail the youth him gone in a silence, watch how smaddy a go nyam perry food. People a support perry when a perry mek dexta go bail him killer, so again mi wonder if people truly sad say dexta dead, because if people were sad n them mean it, more persons would be calling on QPerry to come make a statement, i hope dexta family mek sure police question Qperry n if perry fi get charge, dem charge him, dont care if him a high color uptown browning. This is why i now believe top men really take up those nasty gully creatures in the night. Now mi see why all peter king dead worst dan dog n john crow. The boy whey kill all brian williamson if uno evea see him, the boy look like a lamb, very quiet and mannerable like wow, if uno drive up a hope pastures, him dey near paddinton terrace and him use to sell gleaner and always telling u good morning, have a wonderful day, that newspaper vendor have manners fi kill, and see big man like brian go get killed by him.

17. Dis batteyman obeah strong. You Arrested for murder get bailed and arrested for weapon. If you out on murder charge;they should be some stipulations and restrictions on leaving your home amd checkins at the police station ? The weapon charge should be an automatic revoke of the first bail.

18. …..Dat mi sey dem fi question Perry. Foota love chat but unno si wey him sey mek sense. Quiet Perry get quiet, hahahaha.

What a good ting sey mi cool offa di f**king ting cause trust mi, yu caan trust nuh a dem man again. Thugs a leggo di batty all overthe place. Both uptown an down man dem a batty man.

19. Smaddy say Perry gone to Amerika lol dwl, put all fun n joke aside, is people like QPerry allow murders to walk free because dem in the background a help bad men, nuh wonder people cuss the justice system, but a nuh the system is the problem. Its the people in jamaica that has little power n influence but use it the wrong way a mess up the system. I hope quite perry will be seriously questioned.

20. now dont jump on me BUT

suppose the killer was perry fren and CONVINCE perry seh him neva kill the girl – convince him convince him

sometimes we have family members and friends who lie to wi face bad and we believe them – so maybe perry did really believe him fren never kill the girl

so maybe when the demon got hold for the weapon and call perry – perry nah nuh money – call Dex cause Dex have it and beg him fi bail him fren

and just like u have some loose gyal – you have loose man

so Perry might have said that if you bail him you might can tek a peice to

cause how else could a man Dexter dont know that him bail end up at him yard them time a night ??

and i dont think is rape Dexter rape him cause there was time and consideration to put on condom and use lube etc etc

so maybe after or during the act the demon yute start feel a way

we dont know what was said

yute might have felt threatened, disrespected or something for him to fly up in sucha rage and murder Dexter

i am in no way shape or form taking up for the murderer

just painting another view of how it went down

and now perry knowing seh a him link Dex with this bwoy must be feeling like shit now , guilt probably a ride him – i would never want to be in his shoes – just imagine feeling responsible for your good friends death

RIP Dexter

that demon must get public stoning , haning , tortured

2 deaths at 22 – demon !

21. A Diff Me, all your points are valid except Quiet Perry not knowing the boy murdered the girl. Irrespective of what the boy said, he put his hands on her and left her ‘crying’. He showed signs of being a monster and QP still let his friend bailed him. No one would want to be in Perry’s shoes right now. I think he will never get over this one.

1. thank you

yes you are right

Perry shouldve had better judgement and Dexter worse

unless Dexter was not privy to the previous murder charge

maybe Perry didnt tell him all that – and just asked Dex to bail out his friend

and Dexter not knowing this persons murderous past stupidily invited his own murderer into his home

so sad

thats why i can sorry for you from afar

in these time you cant risk getting involved in other peoples drama

good always end up suffering for the bad

RIP Dexter

22. Not to linger the point but I am assuming that both Dex and QP knew of this boy’s crimes. How did he even get acquainted to QP in the first place. Secondly just one hour in jail and he secured bail. No sah! QP neva di have fi beg and beseech Dex, den. Cause by time QP get the call, link Dex and have di bwoy out inna one hour. I member when I lived in Jamaica juss fi get a JP sign a document took well over one hour. Guh tax office fi any business ova a hour. Guh any bank all when inna dey look empty, more dan a hour. Guh NHT guh pay yu mortgage, more dan a hour and dem youte yah leff jail less dan a hour an a nuh Andrew Holiness or di X6 driver pickney. A now mi well waan si him picture.

1. true

i want to see a picture of this demon and get more of his back story

the fact he was released on bail on the 1st murder charge is suspicious to me

then when he was picked up on the weapon charge and being on bail for murder, he was once again offered and released on bail

seems as if this demon have some links/strings in the police / court system

MET and metters can someone provide his picture or instagram or facebook

23. Met a yu len Dex yu bicycle mek him reach station suh quick. Suh widdin di hour, not even traffic did ketch him fi mek him get chu suh quick. Mi nuh know bout suh effectiveness dung a yawd. One hour Met? No sah, Jamaica gone a lead wid efficiency.