Palestinian Authority President Mahmoud Abbas on Wednesday said the US withdrew from its role as an interlocutor in the peace process between Israelis and Palestinians, responding to US President Donald Trump’s decisions to recognize Jerusalem as Israel’s capital and relocate the American embassy in Israel to Jerusalem.
“These condemned and unacceptable measures are a deliberate undermining of all efforts exerted to achieve peace and represent a declaration of the United States’s withdrawal from undertaking the role it has played over the past decades in sponsoring the peace process,” Abbas said in speech in a televised speech.
Seriously, mu nuh understand Trump; well, that goes without saying. Per the very UN charter that proclaim the creation of the modern Israeli state–by partitioning what was Palestine–Jerusalem was supposed to be an autonomous reference. Hence, I am baffled by Israel’s claim that Jerusalem is an Israeli city—the capital city at that.
Israel sized Jerusalem during the 1967 war and they have not relinquished control of said Jerusalem ever since. West Jerusalem for the Jews and East Jerusalem for the Palestinians—but the city should remain autonomous.
The media outlets—who are all in the pocket for Isra’el—don’t even bother to speak about the historical context and as such, the masses are mostly blind to what’s really going on. Well in the West that is. In the Arab world and elsewhere, folks know the truth and as such, they are dismayed by Trump’s declaration.
Peace, pease and more talks about peace; however, there is no talk about equal rights and justice. Thanks to Peter Tosh, we are clear as it relates to the semantics at play. Abbas is right, this move by Trump represents a non-starter and I am curious why at this juncture would Trump make such a more. In lieu of peace, this seems more like a preamble for war…
Nuh prophecy. Him guh dung a di middle-east guh stir up things wid dem, see dem hab dung blockade pon Qatar deh, now dis. Den him block off how many countries from getting Visas to the US, some a who nuh hab no history of wrong doings wid di US, but Saudi mysteriously nuh blocked. Den him a instigate pon North Korea, den dem inna friction wid Russia. Di man come fi start shyt everywhere and create turmoil pon di earth under guise of doing what’s right. Nuh ongle God one know how all of this will end. I naw seh him a di anti-Christ, but him maybe very good friends of the anti-Christ and a lay the foundation fi him smoothly come een.
You’ve hit the nail on its head…
Chump is a bloody troublemaker! I bet my life that he has ZERO knowledge of that region and its history.
Jarrod Kushner dirty works this one.
PhantomPhoenix, trust me, you are on point. That man does not care about facts/knowledge…
“Dat Mi Seh” where you at? I thought it was “killary” who was a threat to world peace :travel
jarrod can stir up all he wants, the scandal is soon to burst out from right there :thumbup
what else anybody expect from Trump the racist.
Is this being done intentionally to start wars?I am praying for Africa because I know they are heading there soon.