- by Met
Before I begin let me say; Thank you to our Mr. Wonderful/JMG Writer Extraordinaire for always going above and beyond to help the less fortunate. My aim each month is to help one additional person more than was helped the month before. Your contributions don’t have to be big, there are power in numbers, and if enough of us contributed we can make a difference in these people’s lives.
A young man sitting outside the clinic where he receives his anti-viral drugs, hungry, waiting for a passerby hoping, longing for one who will listen to his plight. He is hungry, has endured years of sexual abuse and was inflicted with H.I.V by a coworker.
Corey begins to tell his story of how he worked for a prominent security company in Kingston and describes himself as one of the best security ever. He says at the time he did not know he was infected with the virus. At age thirteen he was raped continuously at the boys home where he stayed and eventually ran away at age seventeen
Rape seemed to have set the catalyst for what Corey’s life is today; He says in the audio that while on the night shift of his job by an armed security guard who was working with him on that job, raped him. Corey said being young allowed him to accept what live gave him, whether it was ugly or pretty he accepted it in order to survive.
Corey names calls his rapist Richard and said the night that he was raped, they had to go to the radio room and Richard came up behind him. He said Richard held him and when he turned around he showed him his gun, raped him and inflicted him with H.I.V. Nine years later, Richard buys Corey’s silence with a meagre $700-1000 a month. Corey calls Richard his friend and says the rape happened only once and he has put it behind him and now lives with his girlfriend who also has H.I.V.
Corey it’s a tragedy that happen to you. I’m not blaming you, just asking you.why why why why didn’t you go the police then..700-1000 is not enough for silence..and are you parading yourself like a gurl that men tend to target you??.. we all know that Alfa boys home is notorious for such act on young boys..I.can’t remember any that pass thru there and don’t have dinner trama of either force prostitution, or rape .it must be a right of passage in there.. And again it’s was a tragedy that reach you.. But hiv is no longer the 1 killer..you take care of yourself and you’ll out live many that putting there month on you that “yu soon dead”.. You and your girl now just need to make sure not to infect no-one and take the best care of your health..
“..and are you parading yourself like a gurl that men tend to target you??”
THIS STATEMENT IS WHAT’S ALLOWING THE RAPE CULTURE AROUND THE WORLD TO THRIVE.
Had he been a woman, is it okay to be targeted by men and RAPED??!?!?!?!?
SMFH
Corey – You deserve mental and emotional help. You are BRAVE to have moved on and even brave enough to still be in contact with your abuser. I’d suggest STILL going to authorities because Richard may STILL be abusing others. Don’t let your needs blind you about the person RICHARD really is. You and your GF continue to live a healthy life and as Heineken said.. Take care of yourself.
My god…mi speechless
I don’t know what the f**k to sey but BBC. MET HI
Hi
Something must be done about these boys home. Last year one of the boys kept running away because of the same thing. Where are the wardens of this home that this should happen??
I do not understand why the government hasn’t stepped in and got rid of everyone who is a threat in that boys home, just because the boys are there doesn’t mean that they shouldn’t be care for they are human beings and our future, they are their for help and to be cared for not to be abuse by men nor women… If the government knows that there’s a history of abuse they need to really go and look into it and put a stop to it now… Sometimes I wish that God would just get rid of all the bad people in the world so people all over the world can live in peace and harmony and love this is just crazy to me… The children the abuse of innocent children that doesn’t know no better but are being abuse because they can be controlled one way or another… It sickening real talk to know that everyone knows of the abuse but nothing is being done… Sometimes I wonder why are there people in government and what are their true purpose of being there if it is not for the wealth fare of the people…
It sad man but with the homes, there should be someone watching them at all times so how rape a gwaan?? What have they said about it ?? This man is not the first to have ran away from a boys home because a rape ..so that mean seh nothing is being done and we must know why..Since Lisa did make changes the last times we need fi ask Babsy
Rape is real
Sorry youth
Thank you Met and God’s richest blessings to you Shani!The abuse is at crisis proportions in these children’s home and one gets the sense it is systematic. Great suggestion indeed,someone ought to write to Babsy!