Police hold three robbers in Cherry Garden
The scene at Upper Carmel Avenue in Cherry Garden, St Andrew where three men tried a house and tried to rob the homeowners. (Photo: Lionel Rookwood)
Three men who tried to rob a family at their Upper Carmel Avenue home in Cherry Garden yesterday surrendered to the police and are now in custody being questioned to determine if they were acting on instructions.
A resident told the Jamaica Observer that about 3:45 pm neighbours heard the robbers — one of whom was armed with a gun, the others with knives — shouting their demand for money at the householders.
The neighbours called private security firm KingAlarm, which in turn alerted the police. Both responded and the police cordoned off the street.
One resident of a neighbouring community told the Sunday Observer that while the robbers were inside the house, a member of the family who was not at home at the time drove up, but was alerted by neighbours.
People at the scene said they heard the police saying that one of the thieves is from Spanish Town, another is from a downtown Kingston community, while it was not clear where the other lives.
Police at the scene declined to speak. However information reaching the Sunday Observer was that the cops took the men to their homes to search for evidence of criminal connections.
Some onlookers expressed fear. “There is no safety anywhere,” one said.
“People are scared,” said another resident. “The place is lonely so they (robbers) watch the houses, so we have to set up cameras and keep dogs.”
Another resident said that on New Year’s Day there was a robbery on Carmel Avenue. “So this is the second time this month,” he said.
The incident left the homeowners shaken. They declined to speak with the Sunday Observer.
Glad it start reach dem now. Long time di middle class a suffer through dem ting ya but it wasn’t an issue cause uptown never a feel it. Now dat dem a feel it, maybe the powers dat be will try n fix things.
Unnuh ever raasclaat hear bout a poor man house a get rob and robbers get caught and police mek dem carry dem go dem yard n a search. Di shit dem likkle hurry come up pussyole frighten slave mentality police ya do fi uptown ppl is crazy. Mi tell ppl all di time say when police treat every crime with the same priority, Jamaica ago better.
Bun yuh and yuh evil heart!!! Mi cah wish wrong pon nobody, yuh nuh know how dem come fi have things cudda hard working people to!! Yuh sound bitter nuh raas
Youre evil! Why would you wish bad for anybody rich, middle class, poor. This is what needs to be stamped out in Janaica….”Bad mind”an “red eye”. You are just as bad as the thieves, only a pitty you cant be locked up for some speech.
Bullshit! No human have the right to invade another human’s place of safety just to steal what they’ve earned…classist mentally you have is the same as some of the higher echelon.
And the police is no f**king “hurry come” male or female. 98%of them will and have given their f**king lives for ALL of Jamaica!
Me tell you people that to make Jamaica better we have to eradicate the country of evil people…your views make you a candidate for such an eradication.
@Pro u sound like an ignorant uneducated dutty dog u mother should have swallowed u
Pro are supporting thieves, every thief should dead glad the authorities we quick to apprehend them. They should have been taken out in body bags . F…king set of crooks.
No matter where your from, if we don’t look out of each other crime won’t stop. Is not because us uptown mek them ketch the thieves, is because their neighbors were vigilant and call the athortity. #No safe place for criminals!
Applause and blessings in order for the neighbors and the security firm for responding timely… and including the police.
:maafaganwati :maafaganwati :maafaganwati :peluk
Pro you know what you saying. I live in Kgn 8 and called the police before because my neighbor was being robbed. It took them 45mins to get there. The prejudice is real
What prejudice? Mek you never find out if they were busy at another scence, short staff or having a problem due to dispatch? How often unnu call them and turn mute when dem come? Like it or not police have fi assest risk coming to tribal zones…reality is a bitch like me self yah.
Mi nuh care wha none a unnuh a say. Unnuh nuh know wha di middle and lower class a go thru. When u come from a poor to middle class community and u get robbed police nuh even f**kin move. When dem hear uptown ppl call dem, dem run go pon scene like SWAT team n try dem best fi solve di crime. It may have come out as somewhat tasteless but unnuh ignore the part where mi say police should treat every crime with the same priority tho. Dem nah f**kin do dat which is why Jamaica is in the state that it is. If more uptown ppl start get attacked den the police ago dig dung the ghetto dem more fi find di criminal dem and it ago result inna a safer streets for everyone.
@Pro is what happen is ur boyfriend a thief why u glad? The only waybu eat is if someone rob and kill ppl. U need to go and die some where
Pro you is an ignorant raas! Wid dem mentality deh you will suffer forever a bad mind people tings, Police nuh bizness wid nuh body Uptown or Downtown. People like you nuh deserve fi deh a Jamaica, you and the tief dem is the same, bad mind!!! Fire pon yuh raas, evil ol’ dog!!!