- by Met
Hey there. This is for anyone who’s ever felt like calling it quits. I’m not a born native of Jamaica but I’ve been living here since mi yiy deh a mi a knee. This is really the only home I know. However I left the island and went back to my birth place for sometime, upon returning my family didn’t get much good guidance on where to start when it came to my permanency here their main focus was me being re enrolled into school. Being that we were late to start with certain things, SCHOOL really was the only thing I could do.For the past few years Iv been in and out of different schools and institutions not just passing thru the system but actually PASSING. At this point I have my few subjects, I’m a certified business assistant and administrative assistant (yes they somewhat differ 🤷🏾♀️). I’m a certified practical nurse with city and guilds at that AND I’m a certified pharmaceutical assistant.Imagine being grown and incapable of being independent NOT that you don’t want to but because the law won’t allow it. The entire process is LONG, tedious and VERY expensive. I’m not sharing this because I’m bored, I’m merely venting about the strains I’m going thru just to be able to call this tiny beauty my permanent home. Iv met a lot of people who try to detour me saying things like Jamaica ain’t worth it this ain’t BIG America why do you gotta thru all that maybe you should just go back to SouthAmerica, (tbh Iv said those things to myself a few times) lol I get the anguish but like I mentioned before Jamaica is home to me and I believe that anyone can live a great life here.Iv also met people who are beyond furious calling bullshit saying I CAN work here it’s not that serious 🗣Yes maybe so but am I to work inferior jobs for the rest of my life hoping everyday that I’m not outted? This may NOT be BIG America but EVERYTHING has the possibility of occurring, so YES they WOULD DEPORT 😅me within reason. Yes some people ARE running from the island, some natives don’t care much to be here BUT then there are people like myself who are trying HARD just to be able to live here, build a home here and maybe even a family. It’s not all done yet but with fingers crossed I’d like to say I’m almost there. I’m human so I do hurt about my situation but if I refuse to give up, why should you 💁🏾♀️stay safe everyone 💜
Sender! unless you live under a rock,if my memory serves me correctly, there was an announced amnesty for people informally living/present in the country by the then security minister robert montique about 2 years or so ago! I’m not even living in Jamaica and I know! what I do not know is whether its a “blanketed” amnesty or not, and if not what would be the criteria, you gave hint that you are educated so I would want to think that would be a plus to start, and if you are from guyana or venezuela I wouldn’t worry about it too much! guyana by diplomacy and venezuela by the humanitarian situation, unless you have a criminal record!
Look here come tek yuh deport an gwan back a yuh country an bring di Chinese dem wid yuh please miss.
Dirty soul …can u manage getting deported from where every the hell you’re living ???? God you just a big dark hole. So disgusting.
Yuh nuh mention what yuh want. Jamaica naaa deport yuh.
Ramjam has written, so follow up on that suggestion. Also seek some legal assistance, perhaps there is a legal clinic offering free services to ppl. Call up the citizenship immigration services office and get some information over the phone, you don’t have to give any information about yourself to seek some general information. Worse come to worse you can marry a Jamaican and take off from there. I am sure there are lots of dudes out there who would be happy to help you for a small fee or even free. Seek and ye shall find.
try open a business yah
My sister you are in a situation that thousands of Jamaicans have been in and are currently going through, I empathise with you and pray god makes a way for you.
Through your employment and qualifications you may qualify for legal working status that leads to citizenship.
Be careful of scam lawyers. Try to also network find other foreigners who live there and ask them how they got straight, what lawyers they used and the process .
You are trained and also a nurse you say, I don’t see why you cannot get work permit status to start.
You can probably claim amnesty and hardship as much as South America is unstable . You can strengthen this argument by saying ALL of your family ties are in Jamaica and is the only home you know.
Get your family to be more serious about helping you sort this out. If all else fails, find a WORKING. Kind, ambitious NOT wutless/ worthless Jamaican man to marry you.