DIS A DI TITLE PAN FADER-Meet Shenseea, the real-life dancehall hero who goes hard for her family
“I’m a really rough child. I grew up like that. I didn’t grow up like a princess,” says Shenseea, speaking from her home in Kingston. “And I don’t mind at all, because I love the person who I am today. It’s more real.”
Since earning herself a prime position on the playlists of Jamaica’s dancehalls with last year’s Loodi, Shenseea’s unfiltered confidence quickly set her apart from the crowd — she’s since jumped on tracks with artists ranging from Yxng Bane to Sean Paul. Now, in a new episode of Foundation, a mini-doc series from FADER and Alpha Industries, we see that behind Shenseea’s down-to-earth realness lies a distinct determination to succeed, born from the example set by her mother and her community. It’s a example she now sets for her own son.
ADVERTISEMENT
“My mom wasn’t around me the majority of the time growing up. She did a lot of living jobs. But she set some standards in me that I will never forget,” says Shenseea, expressing a theme that remains consistent as the film cuts between leafy Kingston streets, studio sessions, and an oceanside family dinner. “Being the fact that I’m self employed, I always have to go really really hard because I always thinking of my son.”
“I have to get out there and provide, because if I don’t do it, ain’t nobody else going to do it.”
Watch the full documentary above,
because a shenseea alone grow ruff, had hard life, neva had a mom around, bla bla blahhhhhh can she stay in 2017, dem need fi stop live a lie & gwan like she trending, a romiesh pickney & she nothing more than a glorified promo girl who fkk di boss to get ahead, really tired of her now. The only reason she reach so far ina di ting is because she a blow romiesh hood & ppl frighten fi her bad color!! her ads & voice is irritating
Yuh waan puuuuurge. Bitter!!!
I saw the headline and just rolled my eyes. How is she Dancehall’s hero when every dancehall artiste is her hero?? She has about a dozen collaborations piggy backing off other artistes who have already made a name for themselves.
“dancehall hero”… nope. She’s a hero in her own ways but dancehall hero isn’t one. Then again Romiech knows how to play this game. Certain fans are definitely going to run in on that title and Shensea will be the hot topic once again..
i dont know y 95% of women hate on her. Maybe a cause she in the spotlight or romeich a spend pan her. Ladies, find a man that will spend on your career not clothes and shoes.
For the new year i challenge the 95% to find some constructive to do.
:2thumbup
dem only run in pan either successful, good looking, progressing women and then worse if the woman has all of that and more. Men around social media said until women learn to unite, especially black women, they will never rise above underneath society foot bottom. People hate on what they don’t have or are. A nuh Shenseea fault, run in on her team and management. She did call her self the hero or was it the write/direction of the video kmt?!?!?! Do your thing babygirl, your son’s opinion is all that matters at the end of the day.
I like her very much .she is her own hero 9:15 why so bitter ??? Why u NEVA blow the boss ???drink bleach and play inna traffic we woman are our worse enemy tearing down each other
Shensea be winning though!!
WE love you and you’re an inspiration to many of us.Tek the good with the bad mi Love cuz yuh NAH can stop ppl from talking dem minds n feelings. :angel :peluk :supermaho
Never heard her talk about her dad. Wonder if she was conceived from one of those live in jobs.
Nuff nuff celebrities nuh talk bout dem Dad….in fact nuff a we never know the goings or comings of wi puppa cuz papa was a rolling Stone! !
All we have to do is push through n strive to mek it inspite of our daddy issues. .AND THAT’S WHAT SHENSEA IS DOING WHICH IS ANOTHER REASON I ADMIRE HER.Bless up anon.
Bro. is the Hero thing that’s being questioned. Spice! OUI! dem a allude to something Ooo. Cause me wan fi know too, what makes this girl a “HERO” of dancehall.
Ladies get you a man like Romeish who have so much confidence in you and willing to move mountains for you. Some a unnu just jealous unnu wish unnu would have a man like him.
I like her :maafaganwati
A muss @#$%^&*+*&^%$#@ joke dis. It nuh real????? Hold on deh mi ova pinkwall yah now fi really real??? Talk 2 mi deh…. which hawd life? Kmrct mi nuh believe dis. Mi seh if a neva fi who a push har an di money wey a spend pan har…….
I honestly thought she was uptown. Now mi know that she grew up like majority of Jamaican I don’t have a problem with her image. She might be a heir for the younger girls in her community but definitely not my hero. Her management team is definitely doing all the right things as far as getting her exposure. I would love to see her go as far a a Rihanna and I think she is build for the business. I’m cheering for you Shennsea, please don’t disappoint me!
BAD MIND, BADMIND BADMIND, BADMIND BAD MIND ITS WHY WE CANT GET ANYTHING DONE AMONG WESELVES
Badmind bout wha? Question pose and not one rass ansa no gi!
What made this girl get labeled as a damn hero? Wha badmind bout dat?! She saved a life? Cause a dat me know HERO to be.
Her team is the one who is making people not like her, I thought they were there to make sure that the artiste is always seen in a good light. I want to see her make her mark but mi tyad a har already and she nuh reach nowhere yet.
How can they make her be seen in a good light with all the hate from her own people? No matter what unno ago see weh unno want because unno a wicked SIMPLE SMFH
I like her, I really do. Beautiful Mom too. I admire her ability to not respond to propoganga and follow up negativity. Keep focused girl; it no matter how yu start is how yu finish. So if she was a promo girl, slept with the boss as you say warmchocolatetea she’s making use of that opportunity.
And that’s all that matters! Damn hater,badmind ago kill nuff a dem. They hate on everyone how can anyone strive in a society filled with hate? Every artists is hated on, first spice(apparently she always look dirty…..) Saw was too vulgar…now this girl for her complexion smh
You can’t get upliftment out of constant negativity and its all coming from these WOMEN. You can’t succeed if you bitter towards each other for no apparent reason. My God “let the girl live”
I’ve never actually listened to her before but I wish her all the best and hope she’ll be really successful
A ongle one thing mi waah chat to ar bout. Inna d tune loodi shi say ar “pussy tight fi a likkle browning” wah mi waah know u see, is it that likkle brownings or brownings an a whole pussy nuh normally tight? Is that what you saying mi luv? Mi dis a ask so mi know how fi address the browning dem lol.
For real, we as Jamaicans need need to stop hating on our own for no reason, no wonder the crime rate is so darn high, we are the core cause of this, when spew out this hatred, our children pick it up, they learn to hate, then they kill ppl for no apparent reasons, do stop and wonder why? It’s us same one that does the damage, because the hateful words towards other people that comes from our mouths. Leave the girl alone and let her live, tired now of the tear down mouth murdering ppl, get a life, and mek other ppl strive.
love Shen Shen
Sender your message backfire. you dont see is pure love the girl getting. chocolate shit drop a sleep bitch
Dis likkle gal gave no talent and anybody wey a big her up deaf.