SO , PORTIA REALLY GAVE IN..ENGLAND WANTS TO BUILD A PRISON IN JAMAICA WHERE THEY CAN SEND HOME JAMAICANS WHO DID WRONG IN BRITAIN TO JAMAICA…STUPIDLY………..THIS HAS BEEN IN THE MAKING FOR OVER 6 YEARS…BRUCE GOLDING REFUSED THEIR OFFER AND PORTIA COME TEK IT UP….SOON AFTER THIS BRITAIN A GO LEF EVERYTHING PAN THE JAMAICAN GOVERNMENT
“It is absolutely right that foreign criminals who break our laws are properly punished but this shouldn’t be at the expense of the hardworking British taxpayer,” ……….Cameron
did she really think this thing through …..how a person fi commit a crime in one country and serve time for it in a different country when every country gives different penalty for whatever crime is committed,might as well uncle sam tell her he is building one out there too soil any Jamaicans commit any crime he is putting them in his JAILHOUSE on Jamaica grounds.
They didnt even give the public a choice…Whey Jamaica a do wid farrin prisoner??
Pretty soon u hear seh prisoner a reach and no money nah put ina di program
Met evening. Well this is kind of a cringe situation, but it’s really not off the mark.
Jamaica is a common wealth of Great Britain- which means we still tethered to them and a lot of things remain as it was during colonial days. We duplicate their parliamentary system in law and politics and the final say in an appeal takes place there…see where me going?
Independence was orchestrated with some authentic and genuine intentions, but the damn royalist (slave master offsprings and those of the house negros) were involved and wanted to keep tea time. The visa to go to England became an issue because of high negro migration changing the landscape..same as the Syrians changing the face of Europe and that will not continue for too long without some restraint.
Again, cringe moment, but Jamaica and England ties are so great that a simple yes by Portia can seal the deal.
We need a modern, high tech prison…if not for anything else we’ll have that.
That prison will not be for our Jamaican prisoners PP…Britain will ship their prisoners there and that will be for them only..Bruce said no because they wanted to leave the responsibility of the prisoners on Jamaica at some point..Portia could have said no just like him
everyting with a accent going to be Jamaican now and sent straight there .. Portia is a f**king disgrace..
Met (lol) babes reread this whey you write
“.Bruce said no because they wanted to leave the responsibility of the prisoners on Jamaica at some point..Portia could have said no just like him”
THAT RIGHT THERE…is one of the fundamental problems we have. Each time an opposition becomes Prime Minister they come and eradicate whatever good was done by the outgoing party and do the opposite just fi the sake of party colors!
Look at JEEP…it could have stayed whatever the hell acronym it was, but no for the love of party it had to change…all now the JEEP can’t move pass naming stage.
Poor JAMAL tun JFLL when the JAMAL alone is iconic.
Bruce said ‘not in my cabinet’ and portia go wheel in the wardrobe into parliament 😀
Dem is jus a big disgrace..two parties full a idiots without ideas or vision
When did Portia ever think????? Ah boy smh
She did not even mek cameron get a press conference so the press could ask questions she jus choose big prison deal jus so…public had no say in anything
Portia is such a fuxxing dodo bird Britain claims that Jcans are the 3rd largest in terms of prisoners so my question wide open BATTYOLE Portia did the other 2 countries build prisons too is who n where DI hell did Portia come from bomboclattttttttt star this meck mi cuss a badwud did she stop to thinkabout the financial strain that this will bring not to mention the crime rate when these prisoners who 60% I bet will not be reformed no sahhhhhhh this too much kmft
Bruce tun it dung why she pick it up? Build up people hopes bout Cameron a come jamaica and never said what he was coming for…the man come no press dem nuh invite but him give big speech bout dem a go give jamaica money fi house prisoner fi dem….what a big disrespect to the people of jamaica
Boy a better them build the prison put them than deport them to become pest. But met fb inbox quick quick
Oh boy
As if we don’t have enough criminals dealing wid aready. So mi really haffi guh retire inna strange man land..wtf.
Interesting dat no public consultations were done and this was not addressed in parliament. Jamaica have infrastructure to rehabilitate criminals? Dem done hear seh 25% a Henglan ppl mental, suh is weh dem gwine do wid all dem mental criminals weh caan be rehabilitated? Is wah Henglan been hoping for fi ages, memba dem did a give ppl 5000 pounds fi get out dem country
Mi seh di old house soon tumble dung pan di whole a dem…If dem do di crime a farrin mek dem do dem rass time same place…so jamaica haffi go do wha now jus hold dem in a cell there?????????? Jamaica has a prison system that isnt working for it so this farrin prison is to do what? Portia hear bout the 25 million and a run it dung …Yet she cant say what factory or what economy she waa grow in jamaica…I hate dem u si
When other countries a look some worthwhile trade is prison wi a guh eena..if I laugh tideh. Weh di factories and focus pon science and technology which a drive di globe now. You got 9 yr olds in India and China weh Microsoft certified, what about our youths don’t their brains deserve an opportunity sed way? Instead a looking pon lifelong upliftment opportunities is prison wi a guh eena. Dis quest fi foreign exchange at any and all costs, dem nuh see how barrel culture destroy di family structure and create social evils with unmotivated and unprogressive individuals who just siddung a wait fi di mtcn numba fi run to WU instead of having meaningful industry to support themselves.
I hope I am proven wrong, I hope this is a great step in advancement for the nation and mi just being myopic and negative and all will work out wonderfully in the end…sigh.
Prison whey we nah go benefit from holding…it is a complicated venture and entails more than the prison holding…so portia essentially a sign over some rights of jamaicans to britain whereas dem sure ina britain prison system enough fi jus hold prisoners they send without even investigating the case etc……….cause dat would be another set a money to pay fi erect those services..portia cant put nothing in place fi increase production..but she a mek space fi prison
Den cameron deligate that they not be questioned by the jamaican media..so we a dead dog den…dem fi jus come and we nuh fi ask nuttin
The empire just going back to the old blueprints…colonial style. Jamaica and Australia were prison colonies 😀
PP
yes but australia can afford it..people live better a australia dan ja…they wanted to pay per prisoner to bruce…now dem offer di big lump sum..portia rush it…knowing fully damn well her investment minister never know what to invest in whey day wid di us 4m…so this money whey she a rush fi collect will benefit jamaica nothing..
PP memba people in australia live better dan people in britain
Met… Me can’t find me chrgr. Amorning me shouldvfind it and engage…thus topic is good.
:thumbup
@MET..Then is how many Jamaican born criminals inna Britain to warrant building a prison :nerd. Do you have numbers? What types of crimes are we talking about here?? Anyway this to me is a win win situation. As long as Jamaicans profit from building this prison and running it…Im all for it. I have a hard time believing that Portia signed off on this if something wasnt promised in return to benefit the country. :hoax2 Be honest, when you hear about Jamaicans on the news who are charged with certain offenses, we feel disgraced and we all say send dem back right???? Well perfect solution both countries benefit… I wish Canada would build a prison way up inna the Arctic and ship the criminals up there mek the polar bears and one hour of daylight rehabilitate them.
Marie ,Bruce refused it because it was not a win win..I dont think Britain has it in contract that they will fund the system forever and ever…the debt will be left on Jamaica after some time…Mek dem do dem time where dem do dem crime …I think Bruce also told them he wanted them to have a reform program for them and they did not give dem dat…nuff a dem criminals whey dem a go waa send him a people whey live a britain all dem life and used to fi dem way and fi dem system..Jamaica shouldnt have taken up that responsibility ..Also it would be fair to give them a trial when they are turned over to Jamaica to see if dem really deserving a di time di british dem seh dem fi spend…portia feel good bout di 25m and that a go melt like butter against the sun because fi erect that prison alone will be the 25m…what is jamaica going to profit from that?
25million pounds is not enough to fund no prison system. If dem did a go give that per year then oh yes but dem run come a advertise bout 25mil like that a real money
Marie hi Britain will fund 40% of this venture n right now I’m penning a letter to any powers that be IMF, World Bank anybody please pray tell where will the next rawse 60 come from????
Mi seh Portia is like a destruction to di country
This come like a obeah a must duppy dem set pon poor Ja alll the water a dry up inna di land of wood n water don’t even mention di wood smh
Yes and a since PNP a rule and a rule drought tek set pan Jamaica cause dem party full a bay abominable people. Portia skin ketch a fire fi di 25 million like some greedy teef whey jus tek whey dem si and nuh know di whole a di bottom rotten out. No plans for production but dem a plan fi bring down di country one more time
Public Private Partnership. American government barley own its prisons…the GEO group P3 prisons internationally.
OK got it…thanks for clarifying…
Now MET & Tawchuet why Jamaicans…There is a large representation of Africans (Nigerians) and people from other parts of the Caribbean living in the UK. Do Jamaicans commit the most crimes there or were other countries asked to do the same but declined???
MET 25 million is not enough?? Would that not depend on the amount of offenders..ex 500 vs. 5000. That would impact building size, correctional officers, etc. I cant agree that Jamaica is on the losing end until I know how many offenders we talking bout.
Just my thoughts..im gonna search for this article because I need more facts and yes MET 25 million a year would be great but that would defeat the purpose for Cameron.
Marie di 25 million is only to erect the building………….
Jamaica is the weak fence not that we commit the most crime…why dem nuh carry di argument dem to india and nigeria? because we lickey lickey man
When dem did propose di ting to bruce they wanted to give like 37,000 pounds each prisoner…I think then, the JLP asked also for reform programs in the deal and the funds for the programs………they didnt want to do it so bruce said no..Cameron come wid money fi di building..portia sign to it and he said he dont even want the jamaican media question him…what dat tell u marie?
Marie, remember that Nigeria is far from poor…dem just damn thief and have the people a suffer. Slave catcher descendants run Nigeria like a personal bank-kleptocratic society and Jamaica is also govern by some kleptomaniacs.
You are right @met 25million is just to build the prison. What will happen after that money dry out when prison finish build
I spoke about this in 2009 because I had some inside info about what they were trying to do so I knew Bruce rejected and I thought that would be the end…Portia is one a the worst things happen to jamaica trust me
She mek it look like di man a come Jamaica fi talk bout repatriation money and drop this one bam pan everybody..Who going to feed dem and pay workers fi run di prison?
I dont know if its the air across the pond but everybody that i know from England head nuh too right so now as if jamaica dont have enough burden to carry alone them come with this
Why wasn’t this proposed to the public? What kind of prisoners will Jamaica house? Ah couldnt no deportee because England send home people fast …so a di hardcore prisoners dem Jamaica mus tek up when dem cannot even build a spare toilet fi mek prisoner sh*t ina dung a GP?
Maybe Portia is gonna let England build the prison, release the wealthy criminals that they send, and use the prison for the poor ones and criminals who never let the island. Releasing the wealthy prisoners coming from England would be a great idea, it would allow their swift return to England or migration to other countries.
Chronixx si di real waste man yah
Di real waste woman u mean…cause how can portia allow britain to dump their prisoners on jamaica for free???????? is not jamaica send dem go a britain go do no crime so why we fi pay?
Something smell fishy, Portia a secure her future. Dat is a few easy million in her pocket dis remind me of scamming. England sister P scamming unuh
Obama give money to schools whey day…and memba clan clarthy cudden find bench…….now portia a rush offa dis 25 million pounds fi do what??the prison supposed to done mussy 2020..so i guess it fi find work fi jamaicans fi 6 years and when di prison up we bruck ten more time
Britain owe jamaica billions for what they took from us during slavery suh dem nuh supposed to complain bout we a cost dem a dime.
THAT A TRUEEEEEE MET!!!
David Cameron yesterday rejected calls for the UK to pay reparations or apologise for the slave trade.
At the start of the Prime Minister’s tour of the Caribbean, his officials said he was focused on the future instead of things that happened ‘when he wasn’t even born’.
Portia Simpson Miller, his Jamaican counterpart, has called for talks on the question of reparations. Mike Henry, an MP on the island, said: ‘If it is not on the agenda, I will not attend any functions involving the visiting prime minister.
‘In the case of Mr Cameron, in particular, it is even more sensitive as history has revealed that his ancestors actually owned slaves in the Caribbean centuries ago.’
But a senior UK official said successive governments had felt reparations were the wrong approach. He added: ‘The PM’s point would be he wants to focus on the future.’
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3254053/Britain-spend-25million-building-prison-Jamaica.html#ixzz3nBWOGMqn
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook
And Portia really welcome him a jamaiaca
All this is to deny Jamaicans the right to a fair hearing of any immigration claim made after their sentence has ended. This is the biggest infringement of our civil liberties and Cameron and his cronies must be sniggering at how stupid Poorsha is! I seriously believe that we have a mad woman running the island and she needs to go before she sell the island back into slavery completely. Michael muss a tun in a him grave. Smh kmt.
ayeeeeeeeeeeeeee
They say the system a cost dem 400m pounds per year why dem cant build di prison and give jamaica ten million a year den? A fool we fool so?
https://www.rt.com/uk/149761-jamaicanprisoners-uk-overcrowding/
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2614279/Poland-tops-league-foreign-inmates-UK-jails-ahead-Ireland-Jamaica.html
Yuh know what just come to mi mind..This prison will make it easier to send home many Jamaicans..Before dem might did have a little chance..watch how di prison a go full in no time…
Dem seh is 1000 jamaican prisoners in uk…not many…what is the urgency to send them to jamaica when there are other countries with many more prisoners in their prisons than jamaicans? jus watch how much jamaican a go reach home now
I’m here trying to recognize the type of government Ja is ran by is it socialist dictatorship what is it was a vote past in parliament was this in the works n debated n voted on cause Hod know this no spell no sense how does this mad woman just decide yes to this no questions asked the Ja ppl fi run dutty Cameron outta dem country too bout no questions the Indians n Africans live n steal n perch on the British economy like no bodies business so how come 1000 or so prisoners become a big problem??????
@Tawchuet my family just said the same thing to me. He said there should ave been some vote or call a national referendum and mek the ppl decide..he said nothing bout this is democratic….smh
Portia down right out of order
Marie my dear im puzzled very puzzled this one left me in a state of disbelief smh ahhh boy
How does this work in ja,does Parliament had to vote on this or the PM can veto anything and make a decision by herself….
The jai will only host Jamaican prisoners’
in all reality they are giving the country (Jamaica) a break!!! most illegal immigrants that are in jail in countries like England U.S.A and Canada for similar crimes that they are referring to only serve a small portion of their sentence like 40% and deported to the authorities in there country of citizen, and there country house them in there jail for a small period of time and release them…… most Jamaica have to serve there mandatory sentence, because Jamaican prison cannot offer such programs because of their conditions and limits… so our Jamaican end up serving longer sentences in foreign countries because of this instead of being placed in a program in Jamaican and then released…..
I had 2 friends that got arrested on the same drug case, one Jamaican and the other from England, they both received 7 years federal sentence… the one that was a citizen of London got deported to his country jail and released with 5 years, while the Jamaican citizen did not have that option and had to complete the 7 years before being deported to Jamaica because of the prison conditions in the country….
Jamaican needs a new prison anyway!!! come on you guys have seen the conditions!!!! Why not have another country foot 40% of the bill and provide other funding… all while assisting our own people that are locked away in other countries prisons, and also help the other Jamaicans in prison in a more modern facility..
They will not have prisoner from other countries…..
the facility Is said to hold 1500 people, and England have 600 Jamaicans in there facility now ready to send… we will have room for 500 more from our country prison system.
win`Win to me….
Well said. It is interesting how someone like yourself can make an intelligent post, without the inherent political bias being displayed by Met, Tawklies, Phoenix and the other Labourite airheads.
most illegal immigrants that are in jail in countries like England U.S.A and Canada for similar crimes that they are referring to only serve a small portion of their sentence like 40% and deported to the authorities in there country of citizen
Excellent point. The head of the Clansman gang was given a rather light sentence in Florida, despite the more than three illegal re-entry into the USA. There should have been a minimum 10-year prison term. The other issue is a large number of these hardcore criminals in UK Prison system are wanted criminals here in Jamaica.
What it all boils down to is, if Jamaicans were not committing serious offenses in the UK, we would not be having this discussion. Stop being criminals in the UK and there is no need for any prison being financed by the UK Government or Jamaicans being deported from the UK (or any foreign country for that matter).
Last week, the Met and her Crew were focussed on Lisa Hanna and when that failed miserably, the Crew is now focused on Portia Simpson-Miller. What the fools fail to realize, is, when we as Jamaicans hold the blade and the UK government holds the handle…we are in no position to negotiate. They can find ways to release these prisoners on us prematurely and there is nothing we can do about it. They can also slow the process of Visa allocation, cut back on crime fighting grants, etc.
Go nyam a hard boil egg shell..nobody dont have no time fi read no book whey YUH write
Typical foolish comment from foo-fool Met. You can never debate issues on its merit. Yuh end up looking silly with respect to the Lisa Hanna campaigned that you raged last week and the same results will occur with your new efforts, using Hon. Portia Simpson-Miller as the new target.
I have nothing to debate with YOU..dont get it twisted…u said I have tried to frustrate u, that is because u are not welcome here
How can 1000 Jamaican prisoners cost £400 million? That would mean it costing 400, 000 per prisoner? Cameron need to have a word with G4S an a leave out Jamaica. Unless the EU a pay Dem half a mil fi one a dem own and Dem need the space, this makes no damn sense! I can’t understand how a government who would have a host of objections to building another prison in their own country can just go and build one in another. Unnu sure him nuh show har him big gun? Or could it be that this is britains way of ‘buying’ the election results knowing fully well tha Poorsha will use this money to buy guns/votes? The plot thickens
no dem cost 44million yearly but dem fi 1000 so dem can give jamaica 10m out a dat yearly…
All who believe that there will be ‘space’ left for our prisoners having a laugh! The British government will just find new ways to criminalise Jamaicans as the have been doing for years to ensure that the prison is full to capacity as part of the ‘deal’ with the designated ‘contractor’ politics is a business, I scratch your back you kiss my ass,
I think it is a good thing as the Island needs a bigger and more modern facility to put these murderers and child molesters etc. away. A prison where there will be an emphasis on education, to try and rehabilitate those who are illiterate or to introduce modern technology to those who might not have had the means to access it before and would like to learn, that when they are released from prison, they might be more equip to gain meaningful employment which might deter them from reoffending.
It should also have a separate section for young adult and minors as they are less likely to be corrupted by the harden grey back criminals who has considerable influence if exposed to them, hence which might give them a better chance of reentering society with a different outlook on life.
Jamaica also needs to hire proper correctional officers instead of using the ordinary police force to man these institution.
From what I have read, this prison will also accommodate Jamaican prisoners who are serving time in UK prisons who has been given more that a 4 years sentence, they will be deported there to do the time. It is said that this will be cheaper for the UK government as at present it cost over 25000. per year to for each prisoner to be held in prison.
This proposal is not unique to Jamaica, there are countries who also send UK citizens prisoners back to the UK to do their sentence. Just recently, in one of the South American countries, two young girls from UK were caught trying to smuggle narcotics out of the country, they were sentenced there, however, there were ongoing negotiation for them to do their sentence in the UK, not sure what happened there.
Overall in my opinion, Jamaica needed a bigger and better prison system long time, as those that are presently in use are not adequate in regards to sleeping , bathrooms, and food preparation facilities etc. Incarcerating a convicted prisoner is punishment for the crime committed, however, a person is suppose to have the basic right to certain Human Rights which includes dignity, something which again Jamaica’s penal system is lacking.
The facility will only be for prisoners from britain…around 900- 100 prisoners… first 600 and then another 300
Dis ooman is a f**king idiot or wah smh mi shame fi tell ppl ah mi homeland. How the raase that aguh help betta dem duh the time n tek the money to provide job for them. . dis raase potcova head ooman yah kmbct
job? these criminals look like they wanted to work?
This shows the poor negotiating skills of Portia….saying yes to a prison to hold max of 1500 foreign prisoners that will take effect in 2020… Then share 30 million pounds among 7 different Caribbean island for an aid grant….no details shared about the fine prints of this deal…press locked out of asking questions, Portia refusing to give more insights…. So far from the guardians and bbc websites it states they have 300 jeans eligible for it…which countries are the other criminals coming from? Will there be rehab? What happens after they serve their sentences? Who pays for the maintenance? Who pays the other 60% need for the completion of the prison! right now is only 40% Britain giving?
Why not instead broker a deal for a university, a more modern hospital, a trade center?
Jamaican people fi tek to the streets fi dis yere
It don’t directly involve orange and green, Garrisons, JCF and the price a chicken back and rice…so dem nah go protest.
Today the Japanese pm comes to ja, let us see what other deal Lucretia has brokered….or if she will reveal it….he too will not be taking questions from the Jcan press…
Smh…democracy at work in a sovereign nation….welcome to jamrock…
PORSHA CAN’T EVEN CONSTRUCT A PROPE SENTENCE. EXPECT MANY MORE “win win situations” in the future when har loyal comrade them vote har back in.
Congrats Porsha in the next 10 yrs Jamaica and Haiti will be economically identical. See ppl start pick up rotten egg from the dump already.The amount of resources this blessed country have and our leaders can’t seem to do anything but distroy them.
Now, we need not be naïve, there is no way Britain is going to do something for nothing. The British voter will not be bothered whether a Jamaican is taking up space in a British prison, they will be more concerned with where the funds have been found to fund the building of a new prison in Jamaica.
This business is a modern twist on the slavery concept. Jamaica could probably do with new schools that would educate the youth that would in turn remove the need for criminal behaviour. Have they given £25m for that? No. £25m for new prison so the youth can aspire to get to the UK, and commit crime but can come home to do the time… Really!
and 5 million fi reform dem…i never seen nobody as dumb as portia
I guess you have looked in the mirror lately? :nerd
Cameron is giving 25mil using the rationale that they have 600 jamaicans in prison 300 of which would be sent to this prison. The prison will have a capacity of 1500. England are slick. This is a ploy to circumvent the legal challenge to the immigration process and go round the Human Rights Act. SO 300 will come, that is a huge reduction in the legal spend fighting their claims to remain in the UK after release. Then for the ones who go into prison after the prison is built they will be sentenced and shipped out so they wont even see back British soil to even make any claim for right to remain.
Watch and see how the arrest and conviction rates on Jamaicans will go up following this shambles being erected. It’s selective repatriation with minimal financial implications. You can barely get a visa to go to England so why would Portia think that they would deal with things fairly.
When they are ready they think everyone is a Jamaican, so how many people from other Islands will end up here. This is like opening the door to a burglar and telling him the doors open but don’t take nothing valuable. once the doors open the boundaries will get pushed and Jamaica will quickly be on it’s belly as it’s already on its knees due to one thing or another.
Portia has lost her mind!!!!!!!!! This is a travesty! May god help Jamaica.
Exactly @KMT. And to add to the fact that released prisoners who may have a legitimate claim to remain in the UK will be prevented from doing so by this new system, what about the appeals process granted to convicts? Where and how will this be dealt with?
The Tories won the two last elections on a wave of racism and nationalism. By sending home the estimated 900 Convicts and the others who will inevitably follow, The U.K. Government will be able to reduce its non-EU migrant population to offset the numbers of migrants fleeing war zones, set to be granted humanitarian asylum. Jamaicans living legally in Britain are already being victimised by unfair policies such as having to work and pay taxes but barred from claiming any benefits for at least ten years, having to pay NHS surcharge on a service that technically remains free to all at the point of service, given short term residency visas to people and their children who have lived there for years just so they could charge them more for renewing their residency every 2 1/2 years instead of every 5 years as is widely practiced throughout the EU. We are Tyurd of it!
As to having to do as Britain says; they are no longer the only players on the court. There are bound to be other wealthy countries willing to grant us aid albeit at a price, an astute head of state would not necessarily jump at the first offer.
How about building a hospital instead for the scores of very ill people deported from prisons with life threatening illnesses? Did you know that Britain routinely denies residency to foreign nationals living in Britain with complicated illnesses on the grounds that they are costing the NHS too much!? Jamaica does not have the resources to provide a basic level of health service to its citizens, so how will they go about assessing and providing for the medical needs of ill prisoners. I want some a dem Sue unnu fi every penny of that bribe taken when things go wrong.
But as I said, this prison furour might just be a smoke screen to obfuscate a more insidious plot For the UK to sway the results of the upcoming election in favour of the foo foo gal Poorsha so he can negotiate far more concessions later that will no doubt appease the racist nationalists who have kept them in power for the last two terms.
A modern time now. There are more Jamaicans living abroad than on the island and we know a thing or two about the ‘System’. Governments are not elected, they are installed and elections are not won, they are bought.
The pig and the drancrow, what unlikely bed fellows..not really, both are scavengers…