Pinky I need some advice. I live in the states so am not too familiar with Jamaican law because it can be bent if you have money and links. They declared a state of emergency in Hanover, Westmoreland and Montego Bay. They saw my cousin on his bike (which is legal) and decided to lock him up to go process him to find out his background, which was weird at the time but it didn’t alarm anyone, but now it’s been a week and they have not charged him with anything. We got him a lawyer and they won’t even allow the lawyer to see him, which is crazy because shouldn’t a lawyer be able to see his client whenever and aren’t they suppose to charge him in order to have him locked up for so long. Like I said before am not sure about the new laws and rules that comes with the state of emergency. I really need some advice because I don’t think what they are doing is right because it goes against a persons right of freedom. Please anyone with any advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you!
During a SOE things are not as by the books as they usually are. The authorities are granted greater power than under normal circumstances. If they have a curfew in effect and your cousin was riding around during the curfew then he has broken the law. Police curfew is not like when your parents put you on curfew and you break it, breaking a curfew in effect during a SOE is a very big deal. The lawyer just have to keep trying.
Maybe him have charges an yuh nuh know.
We got him a lawyer and they won’t even allow the lawyer to see him…
You need to direct your questions to the “Lawyer you got for him”. We are not qualify to give legal advice…..SMFH
Sender! you haven’t mentioned if you and your family can swear on the bible for your cousin’s innocence, as the person mentioned above, violating protcols during a SOE is a serious matter and unless he lives under a rock or in a cave he should be aware of the protcols, and thats the problem with the sub culture of our country, total oblivion or ignorance or the lackadaisical approach to laws will be our descension, besides, you don’t know what the police uncovered during the detainment and processing, not saying he’s guilty of anything without proof if his only crime is violating a SOE, but if he was, you wouldn’t be inclined to say!
Was he riding the bike to work or school? and what time was he on the road, yes i get that people hate police right now and don’t care about laws being set but the law is law if you dont have to cross path with the officers and soldiers please avoid it, causing your family to spend money that they dont have is not the answer.